VellfireS 4th Gear January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 Recently , my dad decided it was time for a upgrade and decided to sell his Estima.. After viewing a few models like Sharan , Galaxy , Viano and Vellfire , he finally decided on the Vellfire 3.5 ... Hence , he sold the Estima 2.4 at the mileage of 127,000km ... It is a 2006 black colour one.. And now , see this.. This is my dad's exact Estima.. http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...947&DL=2315 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shox87 4th Gear January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 (edited) Another case of mileage tweaking. Sian How much u sold the car for? Wonder how much is the mark up Edited January 14, 2012 by Shox87 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear January 14, 2012 Author Share January 14, 2012 Another case of mileage tweaking. Sian How much u sold the car for? Wonder how much is the mark up yeah man.. damn pissed off.. sold for nearly 70... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 73573. lols Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shox87 4th Gear January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 Sold for 70k? Knn. Change of hands only profit of close to 12k before neg. No matter they r making loads man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zze121 3rd Gear January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 Buy direct from owner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear January 14, 2012 Author Share January 14, 2012 73573. lols haha.. that's why bro.. It was a damn 127,000++ when my dad handed over the keys.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 OT a bit. Just realised the OMV for Estima tends to have a huge range. Some as low as 20+k, while some as high as 40+k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MX5NC2 1st Gear January 14, 2012 Share January 14, 2012 Remember this? "Lawyer A P Thirumurthy had said in the previous TNP report that tampering with odometers is not a criminal offence unless it can be proven that a particular dealer had done so to deceive buyers." I would just report them to the LTA. Car is up for sale, so a buyer must be involved at some stage. Like many other dealers, they're CHEATS. But then again, where is the consumer protection law in SG??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear January 15, 2012 Author Share January 15, 2012 Remember this? "Lawyer A P Thirumurthy had said in the previous TNP report that tampering with odometers is not a criminal offence unless it can be proven that a particular dealer had done so to deceive buyers." I would just report them to the LTA. Car is up for sale, so a buyer must be involved at some stage. Like many other dealers, they're CHEATS. But then again, where is the consumer protection law in SG??? No matter what, I still think it's like cheating them.. To earn more.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 (edited) someone can start a website for sellers to post scanned copy of the mileage shown on the last vicom inspection cert (vicom should start providing the figure on every cert), or workshop's record etc etc. Buyers can just visit the website to check. used car dealers wont be happy with such a website. but who cares if they are unhappy or not..... if dealers have no intention to cheat, they dont have to worry about such a website. i guess such dealers sooner or later will find a way to overcome the 'little inconvenience' the website causes their business Edited January 15, 2012 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear January 15, 2012 Author Share January 15, 2012 someone can start a website for sellers to post scanned copy of the mileage shown on the last vicom inspection cert (vicom should start providing the figure on every cert), or workshop's record etc etc. Buyers can just visit the website to check. used car dealers wont be happy with such a website. but who cares if they are unhappy or not..... if dealers have no intention to cheat, they dont have to worry about such a website. i guess such dealers sooner or later will find a way to overcome the 'little inconvenience' the website causes their business hmmm.. bro.. not bad.. good point you have there.. It will really deter them from cheating innocent people.. I support this cause Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 hmmm.. bro.. not bad.. good point you have there.. It will really deter them from cheating innocent people.. I support this cause guaranteed this website will not have car dealers putting advertisement..... doubt MCF owners' dare allow a thread for such a purpose.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keenblade Clutched January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 If anything it'll have to be community based... like remember that website with the handphone IMEI database? It was only after an independent group sets it up that the police later took over. Probably can set up a database with vehicle number + chassis number, last recorded mileage and scanned cert of that mileage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 Recently , my dad decided it was time for a upgrade and decided to sell his Estima.. After viewing a few models like Sharan , Galaxy , Viano and Vellfire , he finally decided on the Vellfire 3.5 ... Hence , he sold the Estima 2.4 at the mileage of 127,000km ... It is a 2006 black colour one.. And now , see this.. This is my dad's exact Estima.. http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...947&DL=2315 Mileage clocking lor... My mechanic told me that this has already been ongoing for quite a long time, but becoming even more prevalent due to the bouyant 2nd hand car market over the last two years. His workshop does some touch-up repair works for several used car dealers, and when some cars come back for further rectification, the total mileage reduce liao. Apparently the digital mileage displays of cars nowadays make it easier for the mileage to be adjusted through the ECU.. or so my mechanic tells me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auraaura Neutral Newbie January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 Good job shall juz call CASE 2morow to report tis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 Good job shall juz call CASE 2morow to report tis. they have no power over your case Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear January 15, 2012 Share January 15, 2012 someone can start a website for sellers to post scanned copy of the mileage shown on the last vicom inspection cert (vicom should start providing the figure on every cert), or workshop's record etc etc. Buyers can just visit the website to check. used car dealers wont be happy with such a website. but who cares if they are unhappy or not..... if dealers have no intention to cheat, they dont have to worry about such a website. i guess such dealers sooner or later will find a way to overcome the 'little inconvenience' the website causes their business Your suggestion is actually a pretty good one. Only trouble is when the seller himself is doing the clocking. My mechanic told me he has come across such incidents as well, though not very prevalent yet. So in such instances, the car dealer becomes the sucker. Potential loopholes with inclusion of inspection certs will be cars less than 3 years old, which do not require inspection. For 3-10 yo cars, the last vicom cert could be 2 yrs ago as these vehicles only get inspected in alternate years. Nevertheless, if such a website comes up, i think will definitely be a good thing. The more deceit we can reduce from the used car industry, the better. The biggest obstacle to such a website could be the car owners themselves as it may affect their high mileage cars' resale/trade in value. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...