KARTer 2nd Gear February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 Will be expelled if use Tab cos the principal doesn't know how to use. maybe pricipal like to help female students to fix/install their pads?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwee 5th Gear February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 Lucky I was born early . Able to enjoy what a kid should enjoy in childhood . Sad for today's kids. . Being taught all tougher questions at a younger age and input today's technology to them . . I still dun understand what's the rush of getting a young kid to be able to answer what used to be a much higher level questions and the input of today's technology to them.. Sad.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrolexB 1st Gear February 2, 2012 Author Share February 2, 2012 the current principal very funny. heard from my sister that he always threaten students to go find other schools if they don't like his systems. I heard the similar remarks. I think he was P of JJC before posted to RV. JJC students also not shiok with him. Such people still well-liked by MOE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 I heard the similar remarks. I think he was P of JJC before posted to RV. JJC students also not shiok with him. Such people still well-liked by MOE eh....i alst time jjc one. 1991-1992. whose the principle we are talking about? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 donesnt seem to have discount for ipad leh sry, just trying to help cos i remembered last time got generous disc recd for purchasing iMac thru this option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 sry, just trying to help cos i remembered last time got generous disc recd for purchasing iMac thru this option. Bro, please dont say that. you got post very good already lor! at least those wanna buy imacs got lobang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 I heard a colleague complain that his son's school also recommend iPad. but not compulsory. The funny thing is, you need to buy the iPad from the school that will pre-install the Texbook Software for $700. You are not allow to use your own iPad and the software is only exclusive to the School iPad - I guess they donwan the Software to leak out as illegal Copies for other schools.. Since it is not compulsory, you can don't use the School iPad but the Teachers will be using it to teach. Frankly, it looks like MOE is really decentralising and loosening their grip on education methods and give the schools more Bandwidth to experiment. Remember this year 2012, and see if there is a BOOM in Intelligent Adults in 10 years time or a bunch of Nerds... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrolexB 1st Gear February 2, 2012 Author Share February 2, 2012 eh....i alst time jjc one. 1991-1992. whose the principle we are talking about? I 88-89 batch ! not our times lah ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 I 88-89 batch ! not our times lah ! your time was it Govin? last time everybody very bad call him Govin beat mouse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 Lucky I was born early . Able to enjoy what a kid should enjoy in childhood . Sad for today's kids. . Being taught all tougher questions at a younger age and input today's technology to them . . I still dun understand what's the rush of getting a young kid to be able to answer what used to be a much higher level questions and the input of today's technology to them.. Sad.. Err..actually I envy the kids today. Wish I can be born way later. Instead of heavy text books, I can now carry an ipad. Instead of looking for coin phones, I got my own mobile phone. Instead of waiting for dirty busses, I now can use MRT Instead of wating till adulthood to be able to afford a seat on an airplane, kids todays are taking planes like busses. What so bad about today's kids? I seriously do not see the value of catching spider and running around in the kampung. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 I heard the similar remarks. I think he was P of JJC before posted to RV. JJC students also not shiok with him. Such people still well-liked by MOE Don't know if he was from JJC. I do know he has been quite a prick. The last I heard before this iPad issue was that he wanted to sift out underperforming students from RV so as not to affect the school's ranking. Anyway, the MOE Inspector-General or something, is the one who governs the principals, but I think RV is autonomous/independent? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 Err..actually I envy the kids today. Wish I can be born way later. Instead of heavy text books, I can now carry an ipad. Instead of looking for coin phones, I got my own mobile phone. Instead of waiting for dirty busses, I now can use MRT Instead of wating till adulthood to be able to afford a seat on an airplane, kids todays are taking planes like busses. What so bad about today's kids? I seriously do not see the value of catching spider and running around in the kampung. Heavy text books - I only brought my walkman to school, my bag inside got clothes to make it puffy. Dirty buses - One of the culprits and also, crowded buses also means close proximity to chio bus. Children reaping benefits now is because of what our parents have sown in the past, it is not of the present. Values of catching spiders and running around in kampungs are not the surface factors but the holistic developments that encompasses doing these things - from psycho-motor development (act of catching, eye-hand coordination) to gross motor development (running, jumping, climbing, physical motor activities), one also is enabled to develop his social skills, develop an enterprising nature (catch spiders - sell spiders) and more often than not, are able to think on their feet, out of the box since their environment have nurtured them to be so. If you look at the kids now, the most outstanding development skill that most of them lack is social skills. Give them an iPad, they'll be stuck behind that iPad for days on end, cutting down on developing social skills like empathy, altruism, even the plain act of sharing. Technology should enable, not disable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kinte Neutral Newbie February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 Saw a report in Wanbao last night that River Valley High make it compulsary for all students to get Ipad, as they will be teaching thru Ipad. Heard the principal very firm, even say if don't buy, go other school lor. Anyone got more news ? I support and applause! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwee 5th Gear February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 Well said... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 I heard a colleague complain that his son's school also recommend iPad. but not compulsory. The funny thing is, you need to buy the iPad from the school that will pre-install the Texbook Software for $700. You are not allow to use your own iPad and the software is only exclusive to the School iPad - I guess they donwan the Software to leak out as illegal Copies for other schools.. Since it is not compulsory, you can don't use the School iPad but the Teachers will be using it to teach. Frankly, it looks like MOE is really decentralising and loosening their grip on education methods and give the schools more Bandwidth to experiment. Remember this year 2012, and see if there is a BOOM in Intelligent Adults in 10 years time or a bunch of Nerds... I believe the i-pad the student using should be "special" version exclusive to the school. Maybe the student cannot use the i-pad to go facebook etc during their lesson?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 for 1 selfish ambitious, everyone must abide so that he can look good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JJ_JJ Clutched February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 I heard the similar remarks. I think he was P of JJC before posted to RV. JJC students also not shiok with him. Such people still well-liked by MOE If this is true ...... it sounds like some serious conspiracy up here. Can PM Lee appoint an independent comittee to investigate on the Untouchables ( MOE and that principal) Phew .....sad man, while students are dealing with the immense pressures from school works; their parents seem not to be spared too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 2, 2012 Share February 2, 2012 (edited) i would support the school if: 1. school pay for the ipad but charge student licensee of say $100 per year (imagine the cost saving on the text book every year), reduce the weigh in the school bag. 2. No other apps installed except for what the school require for teaching. Since it is the school property, the student are not allowed to install other apps (they property won't be able to). 3. Also support iOS as it is quite a user friendly device (we are not asking the student to hack it and 'upgrade' the device for other purposes!). 4. Home work and assessment are done on ipad and submit via school network, hence no wifi or 3G access on the ipad if the student use it at home. But there will be ton of update dictionary and references preload in the ipad for student to do research. 5. Last but not least dun talk about the student will be addicted to the device, if the device is program base on the above conditions, it is just another 'interesting' but still a 'book', hence they rather play with their own ipad (which majority of the people already have). Edited February 2, 2012 by Jman888 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...