RV force students get Ipad.

MrolexB

last time army need real maps and use real maths to calculate artillery trajectory

now ipad maps and angry birds

last time play atari, nitendo, pa go li,heavy text books

now ipad txtbook, ipad games

10 years time, no ipad, or apple network tio hacked, Spore die!

Nowadays use of IT in teaching is an important KPI for schools, which will determine the P's appraisal.

It doesn't matter what they learn using iPad, it doesn't matter if they benefit. Just get it. On paper, 100% iPad ownership, 100% use of iPad for whatever lessons (PE maybe?), the P already win other schools, the superintendant gives him good ranking, he can rise up and go HQ, which is the wish of most Ps.

If iPad is so necessary and WONDERful why students go to school to be taught by teachers? Might as well close down all the schools and save the costs, just buy iPads.

The more they rely on technology, the more they get hooked on iPad and whatnots, the more useless they become.

Saw a report in Wanbao last night that River Valley High make it compulsary for all students to get Ipad, as they will be teaching thru Ipad.

Heard the principal very firm, even say if don't buy, go other school lor.

Anyone got more news ?

for 1 selfish ambitious, everyone must abide so that he can look good.

+1 [mad] [mad]

what I dun understand is most of the parents can buy iPad for the kids to play but nit allow the school to use it for teaching?

it can replace books and assessment books, and perhaps online discussion and submission of homework, no more sorry I forget to bring!

can always leave textbook in school wat :ph34r:

until now, I am still puzzle why the barrage of unfriendly comments being thrown at the principal. Every principal has his own vision for the school and that's why they are given some freedom to decide what is best for the school. So, each school has its own charactor and produces students with diversity. Taking them in totality, Singapore will become a more vibrant society and attractive to investors globally.

Kids of very young age are already exposed to electronics gadgets like Ipad. So, what the RV principal does is the adopt it broadly. What's wrong with that?

There will be section of society that may not be able to afford Ipad. So long as school has assistance scheme in place such as pay by installment or T-loan from computer labs, I think on the part of school, they had already done more than enough.

The world is moving. Country is progressing. We cannot stop our progress just because a small group of citizen is struggling to catch up. Instead, we should be pressing on with helps and support schemes for people struggling to catch up.

In schools, there is financial aid scheme (FAS) available to all in need. Free uniform and shoes, free textbooks, free school fee, free transport, free recess break. All the schools ask for from the receipents are to please come to school everyday, study hard, submit your home work promptly, behave well in school etc. But most of the receipents are not even doing half of what is expected of them And you see their parents carrying latest iphone, smoke a few packs of cigerattes a day, can't hold on to a proper day job and their kids are under FAS. KPKB no money for kids education needs. What you want me to say????

I heard from my vendor 2 weeks ago as his kid in rv

Overall its more exp than outside

Infact he in IT too lol

Bro of course more expensive lah...

got Textbook Software inside...

Dude, are you serious? Already the primary school kids are showing off the iPhones in school. it has already become iHave and i-have-not. a young mother was interviewed in ST explaining why she could not afford and did buy a iPhone for her pri sch kid. what more an iPad? The electronic toys are beginning to have a deepening effect on the materialism that already exists. within the industry, we call this group the "Materialists", and target them with beautiful ads.

Yes you are right that each school principal has a right to choose whatever initiative, so why must it be an iPad? imo, the parents have a right to speak up and challenge him. does anyone know that SG has a company called Karuma selling Play Base tablets for only $300? see link below. so why is it that parents have to fork out $2.2 mil for a restricted OS tablet that he thinks is good - has other options been explored?

http://www.play-base.com/info.asp?id=168 - this is a 7" 1.2Ghz android tablet developed by a SG company which provides local support.

Granted there will always be parents who will be black sheep and spend money on other priorities in life, but why burden them further? I would have been greatly impressed if principals make an effort to contact initiatives such as One Laptop Per Child - http://laptop.org/en/ , rather than trying to get hold of the latest gadgetry, for whatever agenda that may already been speculated in this thread.

Edited by Gz0707

Dude, are you serious? Already the primary school kids are showing off the iPhones in school. it has already become iHave and i-have-not. a young mother was interviewed in ST explaining why she could not afford and did buy a iPhone for her pri sch kid. what more an iPad? The electronic toys are beginning to have a deepening effect on the materialism that already exists. within the industry, we call this group the "Materialists", and target them with beautiful ads.

Yes you are right that each school principal has a right to choose whatever initiative, so why must it be an iPad? imo, the parents have a right to speak up and challenge him. does anyone know that SG has a company called Karuma selling Play Base tablets for only $300? see link below. so why is it that parents have to fork out $2.2 mil for a restricted OS tablet that he thinks is good - has other options been explored?

http://www.play-base.com/info.asp?id=168 - this is a 7" 1.2Ghz android tablet developed by a SG company which provides local support.

Granted there will always be parents who will be black sheep and spend money on other priorities in life, but why burden them further? I would have been greatly impressed if principals make an effort to contact initiatives such as One Laptop Per Child - http://laptop.org/en/ , rather than trying to get hold of the latest gadgetry, for whatever agenda that may already been speculated in this thread.

whoa!!!! check this out!!!! Shouting match!!!!

Parents vs School

http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news...se_of_iPad.html

Parents_question_use_of_iPad-topImage.jpg

u can see from the article that the RVH principal is pressured to follow in the steps of CGS which did this a while ago. though the CGS parents had reservations, they were not as vocal. I know someone who was schooling, the dad is now earning 1.8k per mth - how to afford?

"Both CGS and Nan Chiau Primary are part of the Future Schools project, which is funded by the Ministry of Education, the National Research Foundation, Infocomm Development Authority and industry partners.

River Valley High School is not one of these schools, although it has been reported that the ministry plans to select up to seven more Future Schools by 2015.

Edited by Gz0707

Writing skills will become an ancient art form. Those were the days where I had to copy notes from the chalkboard as my teacher taught us.

Now everything is tap or type. Not sure if the future kids will know how to write their names!!! [laugh]

so those who can write well and legibly will do well in exams. unless there are online exams now? haha. i keep stressing to my nieces and nephews, that being a keyboard warrior is useless. you need to write well and i mean physically writing the words out. cause in the end, in exams it is what you write and how you write that matter.

During a crisis like major ponding, energy cut-off, or war, ... iPad will not really help, still must write on paper or wall. [shakehead]

Dun pray pray, our SAF also used ipad to fight.

until now, I am still puzzle why the barrage of unfriendly comments being thrown at the principal. Every principal has his own vision for the school and that's why they are given some freedom to decide what is best for the school. So, each school has its own charactor and produces students with diversity. Taking them in totality, Singapore will become a more vibrant society and attractive to investors globally.

Kids of very young age are already exposed to electronics gadgets like Ipad. So, what the RV principal does is the adopt it broadly. What's wrong with that?

There will be section of society that may not be able to afford Ipad. So long as school has assistance scheme in place such as pay by installment or T-loan from computer labs, I think on the part of school, they had already done more than enough.

The world is moving. Country is progressing. We cannot stop our progress just because a small group of citizen is struggling to catch up. Instead, we should be pressing on with helps and support schemes for people struggling to catch up.

In schools, there is financial aid scheme (FAS) available to all in need. Free uniform and shoes, free textbooks, free school fee, free transport, free recess break. All the schools ask for from the receipents are to please come to school everyday, study hard, submit your home work promptly, behave well in school etc. But most of the receipents are not even doing half of what is expected of them And you see their parents carrying latest iphone, smoke a few packs of cigerattes a day, can't hold on to a proper day job and their kids are under FAS. KPKB no money for kids education needs. What you want me to say????

Using point and poke Ipads is catching up with technology? No wonder when compared to Finland and other advanced nations, Singapore education produces robots. Please, get the students go under the hood, hands-on, break some things and fix back. Not theory-great, practically useless which school curriculum here emphasises to the hilt! That's also why ten year series are sold out every year. You are not qualified to even parrot. Forcing students to buy advanced technology but end up under utilising them is common in Sg schools. Worst, when problems arise such as school's F up servers can't coping with the traffic, the fking principals and administrators will push the buck to the parents.

Don't talk thru your A**hole if you know nuts about the problems!

the current principal very funny. heard from my sister that he always threaten students to go find other schools if they don't like his systems.

nao hiah leh, so guai lan?