Kspchew 2nd Gear February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 Looks like VW has many problems?! But still many people buy VW? Its face value, most Singaporeans think that buying a VW is atas. In Europe, its just like an ordinary B&B car and its worst here in Shanghai, VW are commonly used as taxi. That's the power of branding. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 (edited) Welcome to the truth about Expectations vs Reality. What do you expect? Just ask yourself how in the world are they able to replace defective seats in half a day? Even if they indent the owner will have to wait for weeks or even months. If the customer die die do not sign for the car, it will be sitting there for nothing and there's nothing anyone can do. At most the AD feekback to the production line and say the QC is not doing their job. Yes, ppl will say it's wrong to do this to other customers but how else are you going to get new seats out of nowhere in such short notice? Nobody can be sure if other ADs do the same, it's just that they are not caught, ignorance is bliss. But from this experience we all know...we can confirm about the rumours on VW interior quality. Never put too much expectations into something that's mass produced. Even a hand built RR will also have problems when bought new(think hotel tycoon). On the other hand looking at what ppl are paying for their cars in sgp it is no wonder ppl react this way. End of the day it's the fault of those who make car buying so unnecessarily expensive. Edited February 15, 2012 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 Actually I go to china last year. Yes be there is like regular brand,but all the vw sold are like 2 to 3 gen away. Anyway, I don't see what is the big hooha about that. It common manufacturing process where U will reuse spare parts if item are not really consider scrap. Its part of the idea of going green. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 Its face value, most Singaporeans think that buying a VW is atas. In Europe, its just like an ordinary B&B car and its worst here in Shanghai, VW are commonly used as taxi. That's the power of branding. I think the VW in china is made in china itself. But the VW which sold here is not from china, right?! That's why people will think buying VW in s'pore is atas?! Sometimes not only VW, even honda cars some people will also consider them as atas in s'pore, i also dont know why?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 Dunno how the SE going to explain to customer? Err we're going green, so like that lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 Dunno how the SE going to explain to customer? Err we're going green, so like that lor I think its a good reason. But we Singaporean want everything new. So will bang on table and say. I don't care contract say new car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 A matter of fact is that most car parts from authorised dealers are fixed locally. Not only VW. The leather on the seats are fitted locally as well. This is to drive cost down so that they can have higher profit margins. A real new car is a car where everything is fitted from country of origin. I am empathise what you encountered but this is a reality except that most evidences are 'destroyed' before seeing daylight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 Copied & Paste for those who are not registered in VAG forum... Default My Brand New VW is NOT new. This thread is about the unprofessional behavior of VCS. The workshop or service department in particular. I have just collected my car on Monday: 12th Feb. This morning(14th) I went to put items into my car's driver rear pocket. I FOUND: 2 CNY cards belonging to SOMEONE ELSE. No one else got into the back of my car and NO ONE would put items into the back. I called my SE up to see if the items were placed by her. She said NO there wasn't anything from her. She requested me to open the 2 PINK letters which i did and I found that it belongs to someone in this forum. I have gotten in touch with this person and from our discussion it has been established that(I shall call him person AAA) AAA had rejected his previous car's seats as they were faulty in some way. He left the car with the workshop for half day and then came back. It is not confirmed that VCS has changed both front and back but definitely the only explanation is that the workshop people who changed it out but shall we say, weren't careful enough to 'remove incriminating evidence'. Thus the CNY cards. Conclusion: VCS changed out AAA's seats due to some fault. To replace the seats, they took MINE. If it weren't for the cards(Thanks to AAA), I would have been hoodwinked into accepting a new car that wasn't. I am NOT going to accept a car that is NOT 100% new. I paid for a new car, I shall get one. If it means writing in to the media or to Germany, I'm going to raise hell for them. Any of you going down to VCS tomorrow seeing a guy shouting around 1-2pm plus, that's going to be me. Not in a good mood obviously. How many of our cars have had parts swapped out? How many parts in my car have been changed that I have yet to detect? We trust a brand. We buy a NEW car. Obviously Disgraceful. I don't even know what's new and what's not in my car now. Scary, should release this to the media and let them run the story. At least can wake up these so called premium ADs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 A matter of fact is that most car parts from authorised dealers are fixed locally. Not only VW. The leather on the seats are fitted locally as well. This is to drive cost down so that they can have higher profit margins. A real new car is a car where everything is fitted from country of origin. I am empathise what you encountered but this is a reality except that most evidences are 'destroyed' before seeing daylight. sadly this is part of the process called Globalising.. heard that its different from skoda though.. maybe their order per quantity too low so they fitted everything in factory. That might be the reason why their car sell so high cost?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 sadly this is part of the process called Globalising.. heard that its different from skoda though.. maybe their order per quantity too low so they fitted everything in factory. That might be the reason why their car sell so high cost?? "factory" could mean some shady workshop in Singapore too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 sadly this is part of the process called Globalising.. heard that its different from skoda though.. maybe their order per quantity too low so they fitted everything in factory. That might be the reason why their car sell so high cost?? The car OMV can shed some lights on the actual car price. We will not know if it is true or not. They could have gone to a VW supplier to get the same things fixed. A Superb 1.8L OMV is only 33k (+/-) but selling at 130k thereabout. After COE ($18k) and taxes, they still make a good 60k in 2009. It is a very high margin even in Beemer's standard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 act if the same thing happens to me, i dun thk i would go as ballastic as the TS. like what he says abt creating a scene ard 1-2pm in the main showroom bla bla. wil b quite over rite... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 (edited) The car OMV can shed some lights on the actual car price. We will not know if it is true or not. They could have gone to a VW supplier to get the same things fixed. A Superb 1.8L OMV is only 33k (+/-) but selling at 130k thereabout. After COE ($18k) and taxes, they still make a good 60k in 2009. It is a very high margin even in Beemer's standard. 33K *2.2(tax) + 18K = 72.6+18 = 92.6K 130-92.6K = 39.4K Margine consider the number of car they sell is low.. their margine is tight, Edited February 15, 2012 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 sadly this is part of the process called Globalising.. heard that its different from skoda though.. maybe their order per quantity too low so they fitted everything in factory. That might be the reason why their car sell so high cost?? the main reason is omv. if factory fitted, it goes into omv and becomes 2.3X in total costs vs locally fitted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 the main reason is omv. if factory fitted, it goes into omv and becomes 2.3X in total costs vs locally fitted. that is what i mean. btw i thought its 2.2x and not 2.3x?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 Welcome to the truth about Expectations vs Reality. What do you expect? Just ask yourself how in the world are they able to replace defective seats in half a day? Even if they indent the owner will have to wait for weeks or even months. If the customer die die do not sign for the car, it will be sitting there for nothing and there's nothing anyone can do. At most the AD feekback to the production line and say the QC is not doing their job. Yes, ppl will say it's wrong to do this to other customers but how else are you going to get new seats out of nowhere in such short notice? Nobody can be sure if other ADs do the same, it's just that they are not caught, ignorance is bliss. But from this experience we all know...we can confirm about the rumours on VW interior quality. Never put too much expectations into something that's mass produced. Even a hand built RR will also have problems when bought new(think hotel tycoon). On the other hand looking at what ppl are paying for their cars in sgp it is no wonder ppl react this way. End of the day it's the fault of those who make car buying so unnecessarily expensive. u poke very subtle leh. ppl die alrdy also dun koe why Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krieger 5th Gear February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 honda fuel line issue, toyota rack issue even more serious and pple still buy them what. end of day, it's how you see the problem. but vw must do something to address all these isues if they are to sustain their so called upmarket branding. Looks like VW has many problems?! But still many people buy VW? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odessus Clutched February 15, 2012 Share February 15, 2012 Simple solution. Take another new car and replace the seats for him. Hopefully this time there are no evidence of change. Hehehe... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...