ALL consolidated SMRT/NEL/KT.. simisai BREAKDOWNS here!

New_Atlantis

Those who missed flights due to this gaffe...can claim from Desmond Quack and Cow?

they better cab down to airport pronto... no chance to even wish to get something...

Even for "stars" ... i think they will be very very hard-pressed to resolve the "deep-seated cultural issues" thingy. Dsta never have this cultural issue [laugh]

I believe they also want to solve the train and track problem for the benefit of all communiters and bring singapore transport system back to world class standard.

By the way, after reading the news article on the train breakdown. I think there must be some link on many train breakdown. They took too long to tackle the issue without finding the root cause of the breakdown. Now I believe they are only maybe halfway finding the root cause. One of them is maintenance aspect which now DSTA engineers coming to rescue. The other aspect maybe culture issue, maybe the new train issue, maybe other issues.

Hope beside the maintenance part, DSTA also able to sense the culture problem and then also highlight what is the problem and report to ceo or ministry directly no need to go though managerial level as they themselves may also have issues. This will then be able to tackle things more effectively.

I think smrt ceo should go speak to these 5 DSTA engineers directly and tell them that don't be afraid, any major problems they found and or if noticed not relating to maintenance issue like culture issue or other things report to him directly. Smrt ceo will then have a bigger picture on how serious the problem and tackle from there. They have 6 months, so during these period sure will have a lot of interesting things to uncover.

I hope smrt and ministers are reading this post. I been posing many things and keep saying root cause of the problem have not been found yet. Looks like I am still right. If not how come train and track fault still keep breakdown and not linked to signaling project?

Edited by Yewheng

I just noticed something..

post-14834-0-47930200-1510338174_thumb.png

Downtown line has been up quite sometime already. But the lcd screen on the mrt disruption is still not showing downtown line at all.

I know it's minor issue. However one must consider that it's all these minor issues that adds up to become a bigger issue. They could not even get small things right, how can they take bigger things.

This lcd screen had been like this very long time and no smrt staff or managers or the person in charge of updating the screen etc noticed it? Or they simply noticed it but did not bother to highlight and update it?

There are few things I could think of is..

1. It's not my problem, I only in charge of the control station.

2. Don't want report La, later report kanna scolding for making them do more work.

3. Eh, better don't report, later I tio aim/ tio marked.

4. Eh., this one report to who are? Report to supervisor, supervisor also dont know report to who and end up say ai ya forget it so minor things and I also don't know report to who Sia.

So this small things can already uncover many little things that can be improved like reporting things that need to be changed or updated but don't know who to report to or do smrt have a channel for people to highlight loopholes anonymously that all managers don't know who. And thus those who report will not be tio marked.

Edited by Yewheng

I just noticed something..

attachicon.gifScreenshot_20171111-022230.png

Downtown line has been up quite sometime already. But the lcd screen on the mrt disruption is still not showing downtown line at all.

I know it's minor issue. However one must consider that it's all these minor issues that adds up to become a bigger issue. They could not even get small things right, how can they take bigger things.

This lcd screen had been like this very long time and no smrt staff or managers or the person in charge of updating the screen etc noticed it? Or they simply noticed it but did not bother to highlight and update it?

There are few things I could think of is..

1. It's not my problem, I only in charge of the control station.

2. Don't want report La, later report kanna scolding for making them do more work.

3. Eh, better don't report, later I tio aim/ tio marked.

4. Eh., this one report to who are? Report to supervisor, supervisor also dont know report to who and end up say ai ya forget it so minor things and I also don't know report to who Sia.

So this small things can already uncover many little things that can be improved like reporting things that need to be changed or updated but don't know who to report to or do smrt have a channel for people to highlight loopholes anonymously that all managers don't know who. And thus those who report will not be tio marked.

All your assumptions above is not true.

The only reason is simple and straightforward: because DTL, NEL and SKPGLRT is not operated by SMRT, but SBST.

They do not have to show the status of the lines of their rivals.

Sounds silly but this is how things works.

Unless that display panel belongs to LTA, then can fault LTA on this issue. 

Rooks like quite dua zhong

No Revenue Service on the Entire EW Line...cos Shut Down liao [dead]

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/smrt-stops-train-services-on-part-of-east-west-line-after-2-9396200

It's really serious, as bad as the incident in NSL in 2011.

And they have just changed to concrete sleepers for EWL.  [thumbsdown]

Edited by DACH

All your assumptions above is not true.

The only reason is simple and straightforward: because DTL, NEL and SKPGLRT is not operated by SMRT, but SBST.

They do not have to show the status of the lines of their rivals.

Sounds silly but this is how things works.

Unless that display panel belongs to LTA, then can fault LTA on this issue.

It's really serious, as bad as the incident in NSL in 2011.

And they have just changed to concrete sleepers for EWL. [thumbsdown]

OH no wonder.. Erm then why can't smrt and sbs transit work together? They are connecting people for mrt. Who cares whether is it smrt or sbs transit train? Like that what you mentioned, there are still long way to go for smrt and sbs transit to work together to provide seemless travel experience. Sigh..

Yes they are rivals, but certain critical components and also travel experience that involved both lines, they need to work together leh. Cannot be eh brother, you smrt and I sbs transit, why should I share the train breakdown incident to you at the instance so that you could update the lcd panel screen immediately? Like that not correct leh.

They are providing service to traveller's, they are not banks, not insurance companies, not manufacturing companies etc leh.

Edited by Yewheng

OH no wonder.. Erm then why can't smrt and sbs transit work together? They are connecting people for mrt. Who cares whether is it smrt or sbs transit train? Like that what you mentioned, there are still long way to go for smrt and sbs transit to work together to provide seemless travel experience. Sigh..

Don't be too naive to think that the two companies will work together, since they are business rivals.

SMRT once wants to be so different in their buses that they continued using the inefficient bendy buses that takes up too much space in bus facilities and did not improve service standards with more buses and services, simply because they want to be different from SBST in using double deckers. Such irrational decisions costs decade of poor bus services to the commuters, until LTA comes in, takes over all the bus assets and standardise the fleet to single and double deckers for all operators, then bus services under SMRT starts to improve.

You want them work together? Either they merge in one entity or LTA again controls the whole rail system using the tender process (which I believe may happen soon).

Why don't they put a permanent message to say there will always be constant breakdown till 2020, meanwhile just live with it..

this is a good suggestion haha...

SMRT is a comedy. Hope you all enjoyed the show. [laugh]

New plot for an episode of a Thomas the train cartoon show.

My daughter will love it.

New plot for an episode of a Thomas the train cartoon show.

My daughter will love it.

Wrong....correct title should be "Thomas and friends". Hahaha sub plot...the adventure begin on the tiny island named jingapore. Hahaha

My son has ton of Thomas collections in his play room. Hahaha garage to track to motorised Thomas.

Edited by Kopites

we would not know how much is true or not unless SMRT clarifies officially... but i do agree with what the external consultant said. without a full shutdown for a period of time, it will be difficult to pinpoint the root problems... since it is impossible for SMRT to stop for even a day, they can only fight fire as and when it happens...

however once the 2030 MRT lines are completed, LTA and SMRT can consider to have extended investigative shutdowns due to the redundancy... but also depends on SG population by 2030 and capacity of the new lines...