Joseph22 Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 He is a Doctor lah. A professional too. That's why he is in the parliament. You want unprofessional doctors over here at mcf we have 3 Oh... Sorry remember wrong I heard is khaw ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 hmm.. I don't know if a reporting can be considered as fair when editors tried sensationalizing news with those words like "secret". This is like what tabloids papers usually do to gain readership... I agree... I think they should have said.... "Double plus unpublic" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Oh... Sorry remember wrong I heard is khaw Fret not. Desmond Kuek will soon join Khaw in parli. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 It is sad to know that all efforts had been used to concoct an amazing conspiracy theory... but I have ONLY ONE WORD - COMPLACENCY I was hoping to see more constructive debate... debates on conspiracy I see but not on complacency... It is a FAILURE OF QC from all parties because everyone ASSUMED everything is OK. From Town Council assuming LIFT is FINE without regular checks to SMRT underestimating the effect of overloading to Banks cutting cost on SECURITY ASSUMING SINGAPORE IS SAFE... LOW CRIME DOESN'T MEAN NO CRIME. Ok OT liao, back to the damaged trains. If we could have a NEW CAR checklist, I think LTA's / SMRT's smart a** should be able to think of a NEW TRAIN checklist. If they don't then it is a mistake, they should just admit and move on... Make sure the handover / takeover is done properly. Period. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 What would then be the objective of this foreign media ? You already pointed out that Elephant in the room - Politics. I mentioned this before, it isn't about Singapore, but HK's domestic politics. Why I said that ? Fact#1 - HK own MTR is buying trains for at over HK$6 billion contract for 93 new trains from the same Japanese-Chinese company based in China. Fact#2 - FactWire is a newly established online "independent" new media only a year ago. It started out after the pro-democracy Umbrella protests and riots over the last few years in the territory. https://viewhk.wordpress.com/2016/02/12/factwire-founder-ng-hiu-tung-and-hkfps-tom-grundy-on-hks-changing-media-landscape/ Does this change the facts? Those same facts that have now been confirmed by Singapore government spokespeople? Why are you trying to divert attention by attacking the messenger? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 hmm.. I don't know if a reporting can be considered as fair when editors tried sensationalizing news with those words like "secret". This is like what tabloids papers usually do to gain readership... In Singapore, if nvr announce to ppl, it means ppl no need to know. In HK, if nvr announce to ppl, it is a secret. U must understand the cultural difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Oh my. What a day. Pro-establishment member complaining that the press is being unfair. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 What would then be the objective of this foreign media ? You already pointed out that Elephant in the room - Politics. I mentioned this before, it isn't about Singapore, but HK's domestic politics. Why I said that ? Fact#1 - HK own MTR is buying trains for at over HK$6 billion contract for 93 new trains from the same Japanese-Chinese company based in China. Fact#2 - FactWire is a newly established online "independent" new media only a year ago. It started out after the pro-democracy Umbrella protests and riots over the last few years in the territory. https://viewhk.wordpress.com/2016/02/12/factwire-founder-ng-hiu-tung-and-hkfps-tom-grundy-on-hks-changing-media-landscape/ U forgot to mention that HK govt knows about the hairline crack a year ago but HK MTR still buys from the same contractor. Maybe you can also tell us about the pc of article on TaiShan nuclear power plant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 (edited) U forgot to mention that HK govt knows about the hairline crack a year ago but HK MTR still buys from the same contractor. Maybe you can also tell us about the pc of article on TaiShan nuclear power plant. Their article is so much higher standard then ASS,TOC.tRE...... But seriously... The nuclear plant one they LL... Because even if they belong to UK now and China want to build there... They can't do anything too. Oh my. What a day. Pro-establishment member complaining that the press is being unfair. No leh... I didnt complain...(since people view me as more of pro-establishment Edited July 8, 2016 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Their article is so much higher standard then ASS,TOC.tRE...... But seriously... The nuclear plant one they LL... Because even if they belong to UK now and China want to build there... They can't do anything too. No leh... I didnt complain... I don't think it is about location of the power plant. There are some dome that is supposed to be build in France. In the end, it is build in China. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 (edited) I don't think it is about location of the power plant. There are some dome that is supposed to be build in France. In the end, it is build in China.Cheaper mah... But yeah I will be stress if malaysia Build the dome in JB or even malacca. Edited July 8, 2016 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 It is sad to know that all efforts had been used to concoct an amazing conspiracy theory... but I have ONLY ONE WORD - COMPLACENCY I was hoping to see more constructive debate... debates on conspiracy I see but not on complacency... It is a FAILURE OF QC from all parties because everyone ASSUMED everything is OK. From Town Council assuming LIFT is FINE without regular checks to SMRT underestimating the effect of overloading to Banks cutting cost on SECURITY ASSUMING SINGAPORE IS SAFE... LOW CRIME DOESN'T MEAN NO CRIME. Ok OT liao, back to the damaged trains. If we could have a NEW CAR checklist, I think LTA's / SMRT's smart a** should be able to think of a NEW TRAIN checklist. If they don't then it is a mistake, they should just admit and move on... Make sure the handover / takeover is done properly. Period. Handover / takeover checklist? Have, our government have, when taking over TC from opposition ward. Err, ok I am not very sure for handling over part... What this whole MRT saga eked me is the extreme downplay of safety concerns deriving from the defective bolster (and maybe some other components not declared by LTA / SMRT). As seen from press releases article by LTA, this bolster is a critical component linking the train body to the wheel, and it is not to hard to imagine what will happen when it give way. I vividly remember an incident that occurred to my friend. He was forced to scrap his coming to 9 year old S-Class when the inspection centre claimed that there is a hairline crack on the platform. Appeals were made to LTA but to no avail as the officer insisted that such hairline crack may result in serious road accident and injuries once the "bone" give way. Ok, sounds plausible and so my friend bite the bullet and scrap his car (and loose quite a lot cos the car was bought for <5 months). 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Oh my. What a day. Pro-establishment member complaining that the press is being unfair. Ownself comrpain owneself 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 The police shooting in the US is a godsend. . Kio tio gu lan. Perfect diversion, prepare for full coverage of it, ministers will line up to talk racial harmony, prevent outsiders dividing society, more security, singapore system number one etc etc etc. . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 Asking for transparency from this govt is more difficult than robbing a full licence bank in Singapore. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 It's confirmed! LTA is addicted to cracks 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alheych 6th Gear July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 (edited) What would then be the objective of this foreign media ? You already pointed out that Elephant in the room - Politics. I mentioned this before, it isn't about Singapore, but HK's domestic politics. Why I said that ? Fact#1 - HK own MTR is buying trains for at over HK$6 billion contract for 93 new trains from the same Japanese-Chinese company based in China. Fact#2 - FactWire is a newly established online "independent" new media only a year ago. It started out after the pro-democracy Umbrella protests and riots over the last few years in the territory. https://viewhk.wordpress.com/2016/02/12/factwire-founder-ng-hiu-tung-and-hkfps-tom-grundy-on-hks-changing-media-landscape/ Hai... what I have been trying very hard to say is this: the foreign media can have their objective to stir extreme right wing sentiments against China, for all I care. If the defects (an acknowledged fact) hasn't happened and the shipping back of the trains hasn't happened, secretly or not secretly, no one will be able to make a story out of it. My contention is that since it has happened, why hasn't LTA told the public? This question will have nothing to do with foreign politics. Does this change the facts? Those same facts that have now been confirmed by Singapore government spokespeople? Why are you trying to divert attention by attacking the messenger? My point exactly... this doesn't change the facts. Assuming there IS foreign intervention, does that mean therefore we cannot question LTA? Edited July 8, 2016 by Alheych 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged July 8, 2016 Share July 8, 2016 hmm.. I don't know if a reporting can be considered as fair when editors tried sensationalizing news with those words like "secret". This is like what tabloids papers usually do to gain readership... instead of resorting to argumentum ad hominem, why are you not considering the facts of the situation, including LTA's official response to the news? It seems to me that the HKG report is fairer than your focus on their use of the term "secret" and their motives. Ad hominem (Latin for "to the man" or "to the person"[1]), short for argumentum ad hominem, is a logical fallacy in which an argument is rebutted by attacking the character, motive, or other attribute of the person making the argument, or persons associated with the argument, rather than attacking the substance of the argument itself. oh. Just as a tabloid (or any news agency) is trying to gain readership, are you trying to clock posts or troll other forumers? bye for now. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...