Picanto - floating?

Rncw

hello all picanto owners, my sister got one picanto 1.1 auto i think, she complaint that going at 85km/h the car feels like floating, other than changing to larger rims and wider tyres, any other remedies?

i think its 13 or 14 inches rims....

thanks in advance for all inputs!

Get a fat boyfriend.

hallo...people old lady liao lah...husband and kids got own car liao <_<

change new shocks

shocks? will affect meh...i haven't seen the car yet....let me try out and see

2nd-hand picanto?

maybe alignment off liao?

Can check her steering got vibrate? Check wheel balancing or tyre wear even?

2 types if floating feeling, is it up and down or sideways?

up and down can do the following:

spoiler

bodykit

lower springs

harder shocks

sideways:

wider tyres (very effective!!)

Edited by MrFlax

My father is driving a Picanto, for the car size and weight. I feel that it is very stable even travel at 100km/h sometimes when I drive it.

1st Check the alignment.

Think like what you mention, changing tyre and rim is a good solution if she wants the comfort. Maybe 15" rims and couple with a 195/50/15 tyre or 195/55/15 for more comfort provided can clear fender.

Don't go too large a rim cost you won't want to tax the 1.1L engine too much,

For lowering spring and coilover, she will lose the comfort. so not very advisable.

There's a thread on Picanto speeding and weaving in and out of traffic, steady poon pipi that upset one wowo driver.

So, cannot be so floaty one lah.

1st Check the alignment.

Think like what you mention, changing tyre and rim is a good solution if she wants the comfort. Maybe 15" rims and couple with a 195/50/15 tyre or 195/55/15 for more comfort provided can clear fender.

Don't go too large a rim cost you won't want to tax the 1.1L engine too much,

For lowering spring and coilover, she will lose the comfort. so not very advisable.

Car is too light, tyres may not grip with such wide tyres. Contrary to popular believe, it's better to stick to stock size rather than upsize.

Edited by Kangadrool

hello all picanto owners, my sister got one picanto 1.1 auto i think, she complaint that going at 85km/h the car feels like floating, other than changing to larger rims and wider tyres, any other remedies?

i think its 13 or 14 inches rims....

thanks in advance for all inputs!

someone had already mention it is make of korean tin can.. better ask her to change car..

Install a front lower spoiler will solve the issue.

The floating feeling is due to the bottom pressurized air lifting the car upwards.

This phenomen was prevalent in many 80's car.

The first thought on my mind is Picanto floating in bedok reservoir...

"floating" can be caused from wheel alignment, bad condition &/or too much/little air pressure of the tires, super worn out shocks/springs, driver...

2 types if floating feeling, is it up and down or sideways?

up and down can do the following:

spoiler

bodykit

lower springs

harder shocks

sideways:

wider tyres (very effective!!)

TS avatar represent what type of floating?

post-61679-1330648516_thumb.png