Vulcann 6th Gear March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 My guess is the fellow has been charged wrongly & paid someone's bill instead. Must make a point to note the pump number you pump your petrol from & confirm this before making payment at the counter. The most unlikely cause would be his fuel tank has a leak... In any case let's see what the dealer & petrol company response will be respectively. From STOMP: http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...es_of_fuel.html Petrol kiosk bills driver for two extra litres of fuel STOMPer Don felt he was overcharged by a petrol kiosk in Bedok on Monday (Mar 12). According to the STOMPer, his car can only take in 45 litres of fuel but he was billed for over 47 litres of fuel. The STOMPer wrote: "I went to pump petrol into my Volkswagen polo 1.2 TSI and got a rude shock when the bill came up to $110! "Never have I had such an expensive petrol bill before. "As the receipt shows, 47.62 litres was pumped into my car, which only has a 45-litre tank. "Furthermore, my digital fuel meter gauge still showed about a quarter tank left when I was at the petrol station. "I am definitely bringing this up with ESSO and Volkswagen." ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sirjimmy 1st Gear March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 Reminded me of some years back, pump at ESSO in bukit batok area also similar thing. No fuel come out but got charged $2.20 for 1.something literes of petrol. Go counter ask, den they say," yeah, the station spoiled, no petrol come out, pls pay $2.20." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 I have this experience too.. my full tank is 42l.. but i pump 46l..confim the pump is really 46l.. after that my full tank milage can go until 700km ++.. normally full tank mileage is 590km funny sia.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 i always tell the attendant to pump the exact amount i want, easier to check that way and less likely to overspill when the attendant try to squeeze in more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 (edited) i think the fuel tank capacity listed in the manual is a conservative amount which does not take into consideration the reserve fuel. but hor, just read the details. the difference too big to be reserve tank. maybe faulty fuel indicator or pay wrong pump number. Edited March 15, 2012 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 if the driver pump the fuel himself, then why question ESSO? mostly likely he get a better answer if he ask VW. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 http://www.cracked.com/article_19571_8-gad...-every-day.html Pretty much like that. And I can tell you, Scirocco 1.4L, first 1/4 tank can travel ~450KM. Next quarter around 200KM. Very good. But topping up is a chore. Takes ~10 minutes to pump till almost over flow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 http://www.cracked.com/article_19571_8-gad...-every-day.html Pretty much like that. And I can tell you, Scirocco 1.4L, first 1/4 tank can travel ~450KM. Next quarter around 200KM. Very good. But topping up is a chore. Takes ~10 minutes to pump till almost over flow. Do you mean that the Scirocco 1.4L fuel tank very big and deep?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 You know ,Vulcann...rational ppl would appreciate more if you don't repeat inaccurate news and paste it into this forum and spread such nonsense..as though Gospel truth How does the jack axx know that his tank can take 45 litres and no more?.. Did the idiot use a Volumetric tank...test his tank ...take exact measure of his car storage capacity...make temp correction for it and even note that no more of it can be stored..? just 2 or so mere litres can be filled up in reserve, piping etc or the funnel that leads to the fuel entry.. For your infor...petrol stations are subjected to Weights and Measure check...for the volume that they gauged as what is displayed ...so they will likely be not wrong .. Lastly...don't post anything refereed from STOMP if possible.. If low life and low class ppl use that media to spread nonsense..you being more rational.. Should not follow..lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 got reserve tank right.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 Do you mean that the Scirocco 1.4L fuel tank very big and deep?! Super big and super deep! It's very very nice since I go to JB often... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 ok la vulcann posted car related stuff in car forum. but my issue more w e stomper, this kind of daiji also stomp. shouldnt he (or she) be settling it on the spot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 (edited) I have this experience too.. my full tank is 42l.. but i pump 46l..confim the pump is really 46l.. after that my full tank milage can go until 700km ++.. normally full tank mileage is 590km funny sia.. Normally full tank refers to when the pump stops by itself by the 1st click, and the extra space inside is the buffer space. Anything more than that should not be counted inside full tank. Just like a lot people will pump fuel to the maximum till it's brim before exit JB customs. So maybe your that particular pump sensor got some problem and actually fill up the buffer space and that's why there is extra 4L comes about. (correct me if I am wrong ) Thus I see nothing wrong with the bill that has been charge for over 2.62L on car tank specifications. It's could be that the driver let the pump attendent do the fueling and usually the pump attendent will continue pump in fuel after the 1st click. If the fuel is near empty, I am not suprise to see that happens. Edited March 15, 2012 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 ok la vulcann posted car related stuff in car forum. but my issue more w e stomper, this kind of daiji also stomp. shouldnt he (or she) be settling it on the spot? Yeah, I was thinking that too. Simi daiji also want to stomp. Blargh. It's like the scum of internet congregates at stomp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 extra 2-3L is normal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbadguy 1st Gear March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 Well the max amount is declared my the manufacture. It could hold more it could hold less, No one knows how they test it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singaporeclubau Neutral Newbie March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 sure have spare capacity one la.. also include the delivery pipe from tank to engine etc that one can take a few litres too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 15, 2012 Share March 15, 2012 This whole damn episode of this shows the STomper...obviously a Sinkie... Will readily point fingers as to who HAD LIKELY CHEATED him/her but will keep quiet if his Master were to screw him left and right ...to make him pay more without good reasons. No wonder if one were to walk around...this type of ppl mentioned are seen all over the whole darn place... Wonder what would happen if this same farkeR of a sTOMPER WERE TO GET screwed big time with a whopper of a bill when he goes to a high class restaurant.. Likely would STOMP again.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...