Gaolow 4th Gear March 21, 2012 Share March 21, 2012 Anyone know where to find Information on how much ur agent bid for ur COE? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 21, 2012 Share March 21, 2012 actually such a minister is already very good most of the time we get responses like this not enough flats? statistically compared against 2005, we now have 1.xx ratio of flats vs population which indicates we have improved bus mrt too crowded? compared against japan our situation is already very good, stop complaining too many cars on the road? compared against country XXX our COE quota is working fine, we plan on increasing ERP and road tax to encourage the use of public transport This is how our minister manage sillypore! They like to compare to countries even worst than us, how come they dont compare country better than us? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I_RIDE_DEEP 2nd Gear March 21, 2012 Share March 21, 2012 Bro, you'd only need to live in Oz for 6 mths to a year, before you realize that you are a 2nd class citizen. Locals there may (initially) sometimes treat you like they do the PRCs, on opening liners ... cod they cannot tell the difference. Then there are the other migrants, Eastern Europeans, Indians, Pakis, who think they are one up on you. Then of course there are the Chinanese and Indochinese, who see you as their direct competitors - they also treat ang moh tua kee there too! It's a real mad house down there. For a vacation, its a great open country, but not when you work & live there! Glass ceiling is very real. Tks bro. I vacationed there for 2 weeks and thought I wanted to migrate there. At the back of my mind, I did fear living/working there will be a different ball game. So it seems like it is the case. Sigh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear March 21, 2012 Share March 21, 2012 Why spend your hard earn money on COE when a BMW Z4 cost 60k (approx 90k SGD) in the States? Sigh....the COE now can buy two of my B&B car with spare money to go for a comfortable Europe holiday... Please do not compared our little red dot to America ...... Overthere, a car is a need ..... and over here, a car is a want. Owning a car is a want and there is alway the public transport .... even in the early morning, one can still book a taxi. Buying a car is about affordability and if a new buyer is prepared to pay 82k for a new COE ..... be it .... it is his/her choice. I am not prepared to pay 82 k for a piece of paper but there are others out there that can afford and are prepared to pay the high price. The problem is not with COE but with the willingness of people to want to buy a car despite the COE ..... it is about supply and demand. A F30 328i selling at 220k, AD still have decent margin with the 82k COE, at the end it is the consumer that is paying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear March 21, 2012 Share March 21, 2012 If expensive cars sells when COE are high. Shouldn't Lexus be having a good sales too? Don't see much of the new GS300 on the road at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear March 21, 2012 Share March 21, 2012 Surprising leh, in the past every round of COE sure see ppl come into this thread and tell us they got their COE. How come today tiam tiam...anyone got their 82K COE today? I want to congrats u for being a proud owner of a new car with record 82K COE tag. Come share with us how u feel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear March 21, 2012 Share March 21, 2012 If expensive cars sells when COE are high. Shouldn't Lexus be having a good sales too? Don't see much of the new GS300 on the road at all. For equivalent size / engine power, people might as well get a Merc, BMW, or Audi. Do some comparison shopping and you will realize. The cheapest Lexus CT200H is $183K. Many good German alternatives in that price bracket. Besides ... not many in SG will buy hybrid (now) due to known battery issues and lifespan! Neither are they keen on "luxury" hatchbacks. The next step up is IS250 at $211K for the cheaper version. Again, there are good German alternatives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Efbeeeye Neutral Newbie March 21, 2012 Share March 21, 2012 If expensive cars sells when COE are high. Shouldn't Lexus be having a good sales too? Don't see much of the new GS300 on the road at all. Continental Luxury vs Japanese Efficiency...Lexus is nothing more than a re-badged, over-engineered Toyota. I'm sorry but Asians still do not know the true meaning of luxury. The choice is pretty straight forward. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TrumpCard Neutral Newbie March 21, 2012 Share March 21, 2012 Sillyporeans really have nothing better to do than complain. If you're so clever, why didn't you run for public office? Do something positive intead of just opening your mouths and moaning about this expensive, that expensive. To be honest, jobs that are taken up by "Foreign Talents", how many of you smart mouths want to take up? ANY Sillyporeans want to be Bus Captains? or Cleaners? or Cooks? Would you really provide better service at a restaurant knowing that your customers are a bunch of complain kings? Any of you guys willing to work long hours or shifts? I work in the IT industry and I can tell you that Singaporeans are the most spoiled bunch of employees there. When asked to put in some overtime, they start complaining about not having work-life balance etc. etc. The foreign talents never complain and they're paid less as well. Honestly, if you really don't like it that much, move out....if you think that the policies suck, join the opposition. Put your money where your mouth is, otherwise, stop whining. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnut Clutched March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 Surprising leh, in the past every round of COE sure see ppl come into this thread and tell us they got their COE. How come today tiam tiam...anyone got their 82K COE today? I want to congrats u for being a proud owner of a new car with record 82K COE tag. Come share with us how u feel. Those who can afford a COE at this price won't have time to talk c*ck on an internet forum?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 (edited) For equivalent size / engine power, people might as well get a Merc, BMW, or Audi. Do some comparison shopping and you will realize. The cheapest Lexus CT200H is $183K. Many good German alternatives in that price bracket. Besides ... not many in SG will buy hybrid (now) due to known battery issues and lifespan! Neither are they keen on "luxury" hatchbacks. The next step up is IS250 at $211K for the cheaper version. Again, there are good German alternatives. My bro was looking at the CT200H, C180K. I told him the perception of CT200H is benchmarked against the BMW 1 series and Audi A1 etc. The CT200H base model is going for $150K+ last week, he miss out on the $150K+ C180K offer a month back, think Cnc garner alot of orders and refused to grant more discount from their $177k list price. In the end, my bro signed last Sat during Volvo 85yrs anniversary roadshow for a Volvo S60 T4 for $155K for his first car in Singapore, collecting car next week. Edited March 22, 2012 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 Sillyporeans really have nothing better to do than complain. If you're so clever, why didn't you run for public office? Do something positive intead of just opening your mouths and moaning about this expensive, that expensive. To be honest, jobs that are taken up by "Foreign Talents", how many of you smart mouths want to take up? ANY Sillyporeans want to be Bus Captains? or Cleaners? or Cooks? Would you really provide better service at a restaurant knowing that your customers are a bunch of complain kings? Any of you guys willing to work long hours or shifts? I work in the IT industry and I can tell you that Singaporeans are the most spoiled bunch of employees there. When asked to put in some overtime, they start complaining about not having work-life balance etc. etc. The foreign talents never complain and they're paid less as well. Honestly, if you really don't like it that much, move out....if you think that the policies suck, join the opposition. Put your money where your mouth is, otherwise, stop whining. I lol'd. it shouldn't be a welfare state but a bit more for the ones really down on luck would be better. I know I know... I give a short shrift to people who complain about long hours as well and I constantly tell people how good they have here compared to many more "developed" countries. I think just like NS, it must be made mandatory for people to work 2 years outside of Singapore. That should put things into perspective. At least this will strengthen discussions. That aside... some sections of the populace do have genuine financial issues. Me? My only concern is the terrible traffic on the roads Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 My bro was looking at the CT200H, C180K. I told him the perception of CT200H is benchmarked against the BMW 1 series and Audi A1 etc. The CT200H base model is going for $150K+ last week, he miss out on the $150K+ C180K offer a month back, think Cnc garner alot of orders and refused to grant more discount from their $177k list price. In the end, my bro signed last Sat during Volvo 85yrs anniversary roadshow for a Volvo S60 T4 for $155K for his first car in Singapore, collecting car next week. Yup, the Merc C180K sold by C&C at $150K-net in Feb was a market killer. People were flocking down to their showroom to plonk their booking deposits like crazy! My wife looked at the CT200H, but I advised her against it. Electric power steering, CVT g/b, issues on battery longevity and high replacement cost of batteries. Now how bad can it get? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnixer 3rd Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 soon we can have a car Coe equivalent to a 2rm hdb huat huat huat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ENG61043 Neutral Newbie March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 soon we can have a car Coe equivalent to a 2rm hdb huat huat huat. We used to have a car priced to a 3 RM or 4 RM HDB before in those early 90s days before right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 (edited) Yup, the Merc C180K sold by C&C at $150K-net in Feb was a market killer. People were flocking down to their showroom to plonk their booking deposits like crazy! My wife looked at the CT200H, but I advised her against it. Electric power steering, CVT g/b, issues on battery longevity and high replacement cost of batteries. Now how bad can it get? But the perception of a Volvo seem not as good compare to a Merc. But I console my bro that he's getting his S60 which is benchmarked to the 5 series and E-class though at the lower rank on a puny 1.6T 180 hp engine Edited March 22, 2012 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TrumpCard Neutral Newbie March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 Anyone know where to find Information on how much ur agent bid for ur COE? By asking your agent? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TrumpCard Neutral Newbie March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 (edited) Everyone seems to blame the Government for the rise in COE prices. Has it ever occured to you guys that this is Economics at work? Supply & Demand... For a country that's supposedly full of well-educated people, those that pound their chests here on the internet sure appear to be the dumbest of the lot. If nobody WANTs or claims that they NEED, prices will drop. It's as simple as that. Oh and FYI, I just signed up here because I secured my second CAT A COE @ $56501. Yes I feel the pinch but I can afford it and I want it, so I'm not COMPLAINING about it. Edited March 22, 2012 by TrumpCard ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...