Neutralsg 5th Gear April 6, 2012 Share April 6, 2012 Just now while driving home, it poured suddenly and the car in front of me quickly turned on his hazard lights and drove normally. If you have this habit too, please do not do this. Like the name implies, hazard lights are meant for signaling potential hazard or stoppages of vehicles. Its only rain not a hazard. I thought this was an old thread which started on Feb 3, 2009 on "PROPER USE" of hazard lights-from authorities and the web. My post no. 238 in the said thread received no further response from those who insisted on turning on their hazard lights in heavy rain. Why??? I would like to think it is obvious, in that misusing hazard lights during heavy rain when visibility is poor, simply shows the lack of understanding in the proper use of hazard lights. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 7, 2012 Share April 7, 2012 I thought this was an old thread which started on Feb 3, 2009 on "PROPER USE" of hazard lights-from authorities and the web. My post no. 238 in the said thread received no further response from those who insisted on turning on their hazard lights in heavy rain. Why??? I would like to think it is obvious, in that misusing hazard lights during heavy rain when visibility is poor, simply shows the lack of understanding in the proper use of hazard lights. I agree. Switching on headlights and tailights would be more than sufficient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 7, 2012 Share April 7, 2012 The right thing to do is just switch on ur headlights lor. During really poor visibility u might wanna consider switching on the front and rear fog lights. Tat should be the right way And I concur with you on this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 7, 2012 Share April 7, 2012 actually usually ppl do it when the visability level is so bad that we cannot even see the lanes we are on... so the hazard lights could become a guide to avoid or keep in lane. Super heavy rain can be a hazard IMO. the tail lights themselves are on both sides of the car. It is enough for us to know where are the extremes. If really cannot see, it is also dangerous to follow the car infront simply based on his lights! he kuku you also kuku. Switch on your fog lights and drive slowly. If still cant, i would find a safe spot to stop my car. Done before once.. rain so heavy that i really couldnt see sh!t. Just have to park until rain subsided. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 7, 2012 Share April 7, 2012 When visibility is low & u switch on hazard light, will driver behind be able to determine whether u r stationary or slow moving? thats where the problem lies. You use your hazards lights based on your assessment of what is dangerous, and how it should be used. Another driver has another approach or theory. So say you have to be stationary and thus your hazards are on, but if the whole blardy road, ppl switched on their hazard lights while driving, u may just get reared still. Why must it be sooooooooooo complicated ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched April 7, 2012 Share April 7, 2012 You are those kind of think too highly of yourself by traveling at a faster speed in the rain and crashed causing major jam on expressway. You know why Spore when rain expressway sure got accident n jam? Because got you this kind of people thinking you are 烈火战车/战魂。but in the end become 冤魂。 Actually, this is not the main cause. Below are the reasons of accident during bad weather: 1. Drivers here, some have big ego and too self-centered, dare not go fast on 1st lane in bad weather also do not allow others to do so, thus causing aggressive driving by others. 2. No signalling therefore others cannot react in time in bad weather of poor visibility. 3. No common sense to on headlights to increase visibility. 4. Use of hazard lights that confuse other road users. 5. Lastly, last minute queue cutting drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 7, 2012 Share April 7, 2012 (edited) thats where the problem lies. You use your hazards lights based on your assessment of what is dangerous, and how it should be used. Another driver has another approach or theory. So say you have to be stationary and thus your hazards are on, but if the whole blardy road, ppl switched on their hazard lights while driving, u may just get reared still. Why must it be sooooooooooo complicated ah? In my opinion, this is just found in uniquely Singapore. I had driven in other countries, US, China, Europe, MY (many years back) etc. Even when their weather conditions are more hazardous than ours and visibility is so bad, drivers there just switched on headlights/tailights and/or foggies and slowed down in their driving. I have yet to see one using hazard lights during those years of staying and driving overseas. And over here in Singapore, I will be extremely careful when I started seeing one or more in front of me as I will not be able to comprehend his or her intention. Edited April 7, 2012 by Yuan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged April 7, 2012 Share April 7, 2012 In my opinion, this is just found in uniquely Singapore. I had driven in other countries, US, China, Europe, MY (many years back) etc. Even when their weather conditions are more hazardous than ours and visibility is so bad, drivers there just switched on headlights/tailights and/or foggies and slowed down in their driving. I have yet to see one using hazard lights during those years of staying and driving overseas. And over here in Singapore, I will be extremely careful when I started seeing one or more in front of me as I will not be able to comprehend his or her intention. Singapore expressway exit all so near.. unlike other countries major expressway all quite a distance.. and when met with bad weather most likely those driver will not need to lane change. But compared to Singapore expressway, it will become very confusing as driver will need to lane change to exit of expressway so imagine every few hundreds metre and every now and than got drivers want to lane change. If ON hazard light, who will know whether the driver want to change lane ?? This could be very dangerous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 8, 2012 Share April 8, 2012 thats where the problem lies. You use your hazards lights based on your assessment of what is dangerous, and how it should be used. Another driver has another approach or theory. So say you have to be stationary and thus your hazards are on, but if the whole blardy road, ppl switched on their hazard lights while driving, u may just get reared still. Why must it be sooooooooooo complicated ah? Please tell AlanZ. Not me. I don't misuse it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 the tail lights themselves are on both sides of the car. It is enough for us to know where are the extremes. If really cannot see, it is also dangerous to follow the car infront simply based on his lights! he kuku you also kuku. Switch on your fog lights and drive slowly. If still cant, i would find a safe spot to stop my car. Done before once.. rain so heavy that i really couldnt see sh!t. Just have to park until rain subsided. What if you are on the middle of the Eway? my point is that if the rain is simply too heavy (then it is also a hazard and nothing is wrong with the hazard light on) this will help... i guess you may not have encountered truly heavy downpour in the morning at around 6 am... and u r stuck at a point of no return... In my heart, i truly wished to stop my car but the traffic and weather doesnt allow it... anyway its just a personal opinion... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 I thought this was an old thread which started on Feb 3, 2009 on "PROPER USE" of hazard lights-from authorities and the web. My post no. 238 in the said thread received no further response from those who insisted on turning on their hazard lights in heavy rain. Why??? I would like to think it is obvious, in that misusing hazard lights during heavy rain when visibility is poor, simply shows the lack of understanding in the proper use of hazard lights. our laws also states no speeding.... Overtaking only from the right.... no driving on bus lanes.... no road hogging.... but not everyone follow right? Does it mean speeding is due to the driver shows the lack of understanding in the proper use of accelerator? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 What if you are on the middle of the Eway? my point is that if the rain is simply too heavy (then it is also a hazard and nothing is wrong with the hazard light on) this will help... i guess you may not have encountered truly heavy downpour in the morning at around 6 am... and u r stuck at a point of no return... In my heart, i truly wished to stop my car but the traffic and weather doesnt allow it... anyway its just a personal opinion... After hazard light is switch on, when u need to filter left, are you able to do so? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 After hazard light is switch on, when u need to filter left, are you able to do so? Cant.... ya i get your point... i only ever did that once... because the weather was truly a hazard... and i do agree that if it was still slightly more visable, the hazard light should not be used unless u r stationary... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 Signal right on right most lane ai mai when the visibility is bad?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 (edited) our laws also states no speeding.... Overtaking only from the right.... no driving on bus lanes.... no road hogging.... but not everyone follow right? Does it mean speeding is due to the driver shows the lack of understanding in the proper use of accelerator? Your question is baffling as I do not see its correlation with the hazardous lights issue. If one wishes to continue with a mistake regardless how much one is taught, I can only 'borrow' LSS's quote "I DUNNO WHAT TO SAY". Drivers who insist on driving with their bad habits and silly ways will just have to drive with the perils that come with it. Woe betide them that caused innocent ones to suffer as a result of their inconsideration and irresponsible driving attitude. Drive safe! Edited April 9, 2012 by Neutralsg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 What if you are on the middle of the Eway? my point is that if the rain is simply too heavy (then it is also a hazard and nothing is wrong with the hazard light on) this will help... i guess you may not have encountered truly heavy downpour in the morning at around 6 am... and u r stuck at a point of no return... In my heart, i truly wished to stop my car but the traffic and weather doesnt allow it... anyway its just a personal opinion... My advise is for you to drive only on "non raining" day cos you are a danger to all the other road users when you are driving on a raining day.... A little of your common sense, how do you signal your intention to filter if you have your hazard lights switched on. I also dun understand, you are doing the wrong thing thing and yet you want to justify your wrong action. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 Cant.... ya i get your point... i only ever did that once... because the weather was truly a hazard... and i do agree that if it was still slightly more visable, the hazard light should not be used unless u r stationary... Switch on your lights. It will increase your visibility. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 What if you are on the middle of the Eway? my point is that if the rain is simply too heavy (then it is also a hazard and nothing is wrong with the hazard light on) this will help... i guess you may not have encountered truly heavy downpour in the morning at around 6 am... and u r stuck at a point of no return... In my heart, i truly wished to stop my car but the traffic and weather doesnt allow it... anyway its just a personal opinion... 1. how to want to let others know that you are going to turn left or right and when are you going to do so when you on the hazard light? you are creating additional hazard to other driver during this poor visibility. It is not able you, it is the drivers behind you dont know how to react when this hazard (you) suddenly going to change lane. 2. you also create hazard to the drivers from other lane, especially beside you. are they going to accelerate? going to slow down? you are creating confusion to others drivers. The problem is not about you. it is about ppl around you. you are the hazard yourself when you turn on hazard light. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...