JimmyMcG1978 Neutral Newbie March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 investments, loans etc..so many ways. And you can't say drive luxury car means stay expensive place, i know a guy who drives a Merc SLK who live in two room. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 There are also business men who make over 10M a year but dont stay in town and drive japanese cars only. Cars is never a measure of wealth Neither is false humility of table wiping Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Author Share March 29, 2012 That is where you could be WRONG.. There are Porschee driver ... who stay in a .. HDBeee..and park at a .. MSCP.. Opps...there I go again.. belittle...the little ppl called Sinkies ..again... Anyway.. to TS..being a peasant.. Stop being RED eye lah.. If you're NOT born for it.. wait for it in you next reincarnation back here then! My eyes do turn red sometimes when i see others enjoying these cars.... but what to do, even if i work 24hr 365 days a year, still cant make enough money for such a car... this was what i felt. but after calculating, 18k seems what i need a month to own one, will take note of this figure and use it in my next life... this life too late to hit 18k a month Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Author Share March 29, 2012 investments, loans etc..so many ways. And you can't say drive luxury car means stay expensive place, i know a guy who drives a Merc SLK who live in two room. and some people drive SLK, Z4 etc then one day something snaps, they go live in IMH, not even a two room.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dermocyma Neutral Newbie March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 There are also business men who make over 10M a year but dont stay in town and drive japanese cars only. Cars is never a measure of wealth Neither is false humility of table wiping [thumbsup] [thumbsup] [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 (edited) you all out of sync with the market liao la ... not long ago, i heard that if one salary is cut to $1.1M, his/her living standard will be affected how much you figure these people earn per month? $18K or even $36K per month is a joke to them hor especially to maintain their living standard i am not talking about minister hor because $1.1M would be a challenge to "attract" these people to join politic (not i say one) btw, sentosa cove unit break record sold at $39M ... $18K per month can buy? Edited March 29, 2012 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 Its not so much the availability than the cost. If car can loan 100% for 20 years, but loan i/r 20% you dare to take? bro of cos talking in today's context... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 My eyes do turn red sometimes when i see others enjoying these cars.... but what to do, even if i work 24hr 365 days a year, still cant make enough money for such a car... this was what i felt. but after calculating, 18k seems what i need a month to own one, will take note of this figure and use it in my next life... this life too late to hit 18k a month bro which car u bio-ing? i can sense u r very itchy somewhere Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Author Share March 29, 2012 bro which car u bio-ing? i can sense u r very itchy somewhere truth is i have been and am still very statisfied with what i am driving.... too expensive to change car, even to very very ordinary B&B car..... until COE drops (dont know when, or ever?), maybe i should thank LTA for COE scheme, it really stops me from bio-ing any car..... but, if i hit 4D, maybe a small roadster.... something like the old Honda Beat but newer version if Honda releases it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Author Share March 29, 2012 you all out of sync with the market liao la ... not long ago, i heard that if one salary is cut to $1.1M, his/her living standard will be affected how much you figure these people earn per month? $18K or even $36K per month is a joke to them hor especially to maintain their living standard i am not talking about minister hor because $1.1M would be a challenge to "attract" these people to join politic (not i say one) btw, sentosa cove unit break record sold at $39M ... $18K per month can buy? i think there are two worlds in sgp, one where all the high eanrers live, the other where all the rest live, the latter will be happy to earn a small fraction of what the former earn... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 Not all income has to be declared......if u are self employed..u earn 100k/ mth but u can just say u earn 10k......so thats why they stay in hdb...to be in line with what they declared....but iras seldom check on what car they drive....more so if they paid in full and buy 2nd hand....there are cases but i cant share in details... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 Agreed! My ex-ex-boss is really rich but very humble + gentle, always has a smile on his face, he collects expensive paintings, and super high end condos in NYC, London etc... but normal dressing, own few Bentley, Rolls, top Jag, unfortunately he does not fancy super cars although the bros all have a few of such...... He style is very cheena, but speaks queens English if he feels like it..... That guy is a different level of rich leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 There are also business men who make over 10M a year but dont stay in town and drive japanese cars only. Cars is never a measure of wealth Neither is false humility of table wiping fully agree, false humility of table wiping is definitely no measure of wealth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 30, 2012 Author Share March 30, 2012 That guy is a different level of rich leh these people have problem finding ways to spend their money to slow down the growth of their wealth..... cannot call RICH anymore, there must be a 'higher' name for it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 Is the worth of person measured by the amount of money they earn or have? Actually its not hard to have a fully paid 911. All you have to do is have bought a 5 room flat 10 years ago from HDB in choice location. As a result you would have made 400-500k. Can pay for your car in full, just need to earn 5k for running cost. Is there any purpose in knowing people's salary? Like to make yourself miserable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 30, 2012 Author Share March 30, 2012 Is the worth of person measured by the amount of money they earn or have? Actually its not hard to have a fully paid 911. All you have to do is have bought a 5 room flat 10 years ago from HDB in choice location. As a result you would have made 400-500k. Can pay for your car in full, just need to earn 5k for running cost. Is there any purpose in knowing people's salary? Like to make yourself miserable? It's become "acceptable" nowadays to measure a personal's worth by what he owns, at least many people see it this way. Our society looks up to those who "have" more than paying any attention to those who "don't have" but who help others in need, eg social workers / volunteers. How offen we read in newspapers mentions of these helpers compared with reports on people who "have"?? Anyway, this thread is meant as a "curiosity" thread to see in order to enjoy such pricey cars, what minimum income a person must earn, not so much a thread to make ourselves miserable. Of course a discussion on this could naturally attract posts which sound "miserable". As they said, this is cant be helped..... :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 Neither is false humility of table wiping fully agree, false humility of table wiping is definitely no measure of wealth. i concur Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 Is the worth of person measured by the amount of money they earn or have? Actually its not hard to have a fully paid 911. All you have to do is have bought a 5 room flat 10 years ago from HDB in choice location. As a result you would have made 400-500k. Can pay for your car in full, just need to earn 5k for running cost. Is there any purpose in knowing people's salary? Like to make yourself miserable? Its not. But Singaporeans at large will never get over that. I fall in and out of it i must admit. So the best thing is to make sure that you own finances are secured and not spend beyond means. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...