Joseph22 Turbocharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 generally it's oxidation of the steel bars inside concrete that leads to gaps n leaking. you confirm?? if so, you better move fast ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 most likely your waterproofing had worn off. i am also having problems with the top unit , water is dripping from the ceiling. now i had also called the HDB to check with the top unit on their waterproofing. usually the bottom do renovation does not include hacking of ceiling, the dripping will become obvious after a new coat of paint is added. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 Had the same issue, only I'm the flat below. My neighbor upstairs had water seeping into my flat's toilet below, this was happening for sometime, HDB came and check and said it wasn't spalling concrete, finally last year when I wanted to do a complete reno of the two toilets, had HDB come in again to take a look and they agreed it was really spalling concrete after all. Both, up and down had to pay 50% of the cost, neighbor upstairs had their toilet flooring hacked out and redone by a HDB approved contractor, all done now. No such thing as no need pay, below do reno will not effect the ceiling one. I wasn't happy as well, having to pay, then again, I don't have a choice do I? Take it as paying far lesser for a toilet floor changeover. anyone kenah this scenario before ? my downstairs neighbor sold his flat abotu 2 months back and the new occupants just moved in. prior to moving in, the new occupants did some renovation works. last week, after the officially moved in for 3 weeks, a HDB officer came to my house and told us that the flat downstairs is complaining that water from our unit is leaking into their toilets from the ceilings !! the officer even told us she was given a VIDEO of the water seeping through the ceiling !! now the HDB officer "offer" us to settle the leaking issue based on the standard HDB absorb 50% and the two owners (upstairs and downstairs) split the balance 50% half/half. I managed to get in touch with the previous occupant and asked them if they ever had any leakage issues when they were staying there and they told me that for the past 20 years, no issue at all !! now the new occupant move in and did renovation works, the ceiling start to leak ?? I am saying that their renovation contractor did a lousy job and caused the ceiling to be compromised and now we, on the upper floor have to pay for their incompetency !! anyone encounter this and did not pay for the rectifications ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 The water proofing is a membrane the placed above the concrete floor below the tiles. The membrane is supposed to be water proof on its own. The concrete floor slab if well constructed would also be water proof. Unless during the renovation your neighbour hacked the floor slab and punctured through your waterproofing ( the concrete slab is at least 100mm thick) its unlikely that the renovation caused it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 Had the same issue, only I'm the flat below. My neighbor upstairs had water seeping into my flat's toilet below, this was happening for sometime, HDB came and check and said it wasn't spalling concrete, finally last year when I wanted to do a complete reno of the two toilets, had HDB come in again to take a look and they agreed it was really spalling concrete after all. Both, up and down had to pay 50% of the cost, neighbor upstairs had their toilet flooring hacked out and redone by a HDB approved contractor, all done now. No such thing as no need pay, below do reno will not effect the ceiling one. I wasn't happy as well, having to pay, then again, I don't have a choice do I? Take it as paying far lesser for a toilet floor changeover. hmm... my parents one didnt pay leh.. maybe it was within one year of the renovation bah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 The water proofing comes with a 10 year warranty from handover to HDB. And spalling concrete is caused by corrosion of the rebar. Once it rusts it expands, causing the cobcrete to spall. Should not happen to flats less than 20 yrs because HDB started galvanising rebars in toilets 20 years ago. With the galvanised toilet rebars, the toilets may now leek without spalling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 The water proofing comes with a 10 year warranty from handover to HDB. And spalling concrete is caused by corrosion of the rebar. Once it rusts it expands, causing the cobcrete to spall. Should not happen to flats less than 20 yrs because HDB started galvanising rebars in toilets 20 years ago. With the galvanised toilet rebars, the toilets may now leek without spalling look like this is the key. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 wah !! so zhun ar ?? Qian hor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 hmm... my parents one didnt pay leh.. maybe it was within one year of the renovation bah. New flats no need, older flats need to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 water sipping down is likelihoon the waterproofing work is giving way after certain years..common unless it is major like dripping non stop. Normally happened in old falt with at least 15 years... New flat can only see moist patch..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...