Atec1267 1st Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Get this Louis guy to pm me, I give him a $1800 ( with overtime can be around $2000 ) job anytime, but must be willing to do shift work. I also looking for people, min 1800. Also must do shift, but most of the time free. with OT and Tips most likely will earn 2500 and above. Most of my worker are BTC (bo tat chek ) uncle. But they are willing to work for it. BTW my partimer earn 8 an hour, some more given a car to drive home...steady bo Dude ...don't be lazy ...work for it. cannot self pity, when i came back from over sea, no one hire me too, i also lan lan start from below, i got 2 kids, a house and a car to support, i accept a job with 1700 starting pay, also can survive until now. off course my wife also working and help to support too.So not true that you are single or married and cannot survive with such low pay. My neighbor a policeman with 5 kids and wife not working also can survive. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ilovemoney Neutral Newbie June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 This doesn't just ring of truth, it peals it out like church bells on Sunday morn. Many Singaporeans don't seem to be able to feel good about themselves unless it involves making others feel worse about themselves. It's hardly a trait unique to Sg, but it's so damn common here that it almost typifies the population. The thing I hate most about Singapore is the soul-crushing schadenfreude. It's why pathetic trolling "news" sites like STOMP still thrive. It's why mediawhore bitches like Xiaxue still turn a quick buck. And it's why we remain a 3rd world country in mentality. Well said, seems many derive satisifaction from bashing and criticizing others rather than looking into the mirror. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ilovemoney Neutral Newbie June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 I also looking for people, min 1800. Also must do shift, but most of the time free. with OT and Tips most likely will earn 2500 and above. Most of my worker are BTC (bo tat chek ) uncle. But they are willing to work for it. BTW my partimer earn 8 an hour, some more given a car to drive home...steady bo Dude ...don't be lazy ...work for it. cannot self pity, when i came back from over sea, no one hire me too, i also lan lan start from below, i got 2 kids, a house and a car to support, i accept a job with 1700 starting pay, also can survive until now. off course my wife also working and help to support too.So not true that you are single or married and cannot survive with such low pay. My neighbor a policeman with 5 kids and wife not working also can survive. No need la, be a property agent like me, I sell one property earn 15K already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerealkiller 1st Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 seriously i don't know whether to believe or not to believe...everyday on the road..there's more and more BMW and Mercs!!! People are rushing to buy condo!!! and when you look at the driver, they are FT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio2005A Turbocharged June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Either you have serious attitude problem which prevent employers from hiring you or you are simply bloody lazy to look for a proper job and hope that one day your phone will ring and some a-----e will hire you for 5k per month for doing nothing. Please even while holding a lowly NTC-2 in precision machining during my apprentice days, i manage to hook a part time tool and die machinist job for $9/hr in 1999. I did part time door to door PC repairing during my poly days, lugging 20- 30kg PCs while taking the bus and MRT, servicing customers from Jurong to Pasir Ris and managed to put myself through my 3yrs of poly education with zero support from my parents, earning 1.5- 1.8k per month in 02 through 04. I also did double job as a cabling technician as well as a broadband technician on weekends immediately after getting my diploma. I'm now in my mid 30s and is still slogging in the IT sales line though i do not need to worry so much about that month end pay packet unlike my teenager years. Till now i have not had an opportunity to get a degree due to my earlier financial difficulties and now family commitments. There are a lot of opportunities in Spore if you are willing to work hard and keep on learning. Good education alone will not help you if you are lazy So telling me that no one will hire you even you have an engineering degree from NTU is pure b-------t, unless you tell me you get retarted after getting your degree. Buck up and be realistic!!! *edit. Just managed to hook up via FB with my 20+yrs ago NTC -2 coursemate. Bugger now is now in the funeral industry, earning 5digit pay and drove a nice luxury car. Highest qualification after NTC2 is several professional certs and thats it. Same thing ,he put in long hours at work, with an open mind for new opportunities and that's where he is now. Good for you. Agree if we work hard, even to become a taxi driver, we could easily make 2-3k a month with some hard work. Why taxi-driver? Dun get me wrong. Cos the entry barrier is low, not that the job is "low". No one owes us a living. Not even the govt. We just have to wake up from our slumber. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 this is just his side of story. maybe he should do some self-reflection. i can't imagine applying for lower grade job yet did not even get shortlisted. maybe his interview performance is very poor. paper qualifications no doubt is important,but how you handle interview shows part of yourself. i know some interviewees like to boast until the pig can fly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 "People who could not take criticisms can't go far in life. " You STILL cannot comprehend the difference in commenting/criticising on his (poor) choices/judgement (Go AHEAD, shoot all you in his poor choices in life) from comments/criticism on his (lack of) character. These are two different matters. You are mistaken to think I am making this difference up. i agree with you. some people thinks higher qualification means they can rule the world. nobody is perfect and everyone makes mistakes. if one don't learn and correct himself for improvement,there is no hope. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Very right. dun think that teaching is a dumping ground. Lots of ppl think u can get and teach as the last alternative. If you dun hv a passion for it, u wun last long. Worse is you are creating a negative impact on the lives you are in contact with. Right, same goes for driving taxi.. everyone seems to suggest driving taxi when out of job but not everyone has what it takes to drive... dont be a road hazard if can't handle vehicle let alone drive taxi... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 this is just his side of story. maybe he should do some self-reflection. i can't imagine applying for lower grade job yet did not even get shortlisted. maybe his interview performance is very poor. paper qualifications no doubt is important,but how you handle interview shows part of yourself. i know some interviewees like to boast until the pig can fly. Agree. I've come across CVs that are written like some 3rd rate secondary school assignment or applicants who incl pictures of themselves wearing a worn t-shirt or picture badly taken, cropped from dunno where and blur. And this are for senior positions..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 what this man needs is a change of paradigm..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyklon 5th Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 (edited) this is just his side of story. maybe he should do some self-reflection. i can't imagine applying for lower grade job yet did not even get shortlisted. maybe his interview performance is very poor. paper qualifications no doubt is important,but how you handle interview shows part of yourself. i know some interviewees like to boast until the pig can fly. This is what most people don't understand. Having qualification and experience for an engineer at age 40 IS AN LIABILITY if you are job hunting. Say if a 40year old man with master degree is trying to apply for a diploma holder job at 1.8k/month vs a 25year old with diploma applying for the same job, which will you hire? Chop plus stamp, only the diploma holder will be shortlisted for interview. The MSC holder will not even receive the phone call to go for interview. Reason being the company does not expect the MSC holder to stay on the job for long. Probably he will leave the job for a higher paying one soon. No point wasting resources to hire him only to have to rehire again later on. In fact, some masters/phd holders have to resort to applying for job using just their degree. Edited June 3, 2012 by Zyklon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Trust what we see on the road and shopping centers. That's is the real Singapore, 1-6 millionaire household. Supermarket queues are LOOOOOng. With the trolleys full. BMW,Mercs top car sales. EC n condos per sq feet over $1200psf or more are common. Taxi drivers chose passengers, no urge to maximize profit. GSS lots of luxury goods, MiuMiu and Gucci on Every girls arms. Even the Watches thread in MCF very popular, Rolex, Bells, u-boat,Panarai, etc...like buying Casio watch. This is the truth. The $4/hr grad story is unlikely to be true. Even so, he himself must have given up on life and is in self denial and self reprimanding mood. self deprecating is the right word to use on this guy. Aiya ! Some Singaporeans practically spent as fast as they earn or should I say spend as much as they earn. The girl carrying that branded big may have thrown her whole salary into it becasue it seems in Singapore branded stuff is a must have. Same same for cars and Condo but that comes with an additional pressure tag and that is call loan. Most seems rich but comes to how much savings they have is another story leow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 PM me. I can help him. If successful can have more than $2k basic... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RedEmber 1st Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Its heartwarming to see so many big hearted employers even within this small car fraternity. This really puts down my notion that its quite impossible to be jobless in Spore if one puts in effort and mindset to hunt one down. BTW, there is nothing wrong being a taxi driver or a even a salesman. Both are honourable jobs which rewards comensurates with the efforts put in. In fact I'm too against the policy of minimum wages or state hand outs with the exception of maybe the handicapped or senior citizens to prevent the hand me syndrome that plague many countries that have adopted them. We are a small country with no natural resources to tide us over if economy hardship were to fall on us. But what we do have is a very dynamic ,agile & skilled workforce which could change trades to fulfill he needs of the global economy when the need arises. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Its heartwarming to see so many big hearted employers even within this small car fraternity. This really puts down my notion that its quite impossible to be jobless in Spore if one puts in effort and mindset to hunt one down. BTW, there is nothing wrong being a taxi driver or a even a salesman. Both are honourable jobs which rewards comensurates with the efforts put in. In fact I'm too against the policy of minimum wages or state hand outs with the exception of maybe the handicapped or senior citizens to prevent the hand me syndrome that plague many countries that have adopted them. We are a small country with no natural resources to tide us over if economy hardship were to fall on us. But what we do have is a very dynamic ,agile & skilled workforce which could change trades to fulfill he needs of the global economy when the need arises. Most companies want to employ singaporeans but response is usually bad When i did recruitment for an admin person... I received hundreds of resume from foreigners but the singaporeans that wrote in are either not suitable or too highly paid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 I think lets face it..there are indeed real life cases such as this 39 year old guy..he himself has said he put in effort to look for much lower level jobs but with no success, so let's give him credit for that. While it is easy to chide him for not doing something else..we got to acknowledge that statistics aside, the job market is not that optimistic as PAP paints. Companies are quietly retrenching people and staying below publicity. Things are not as rosy as they look. My current company is retrenching 300 personnel worldwide by the way this weekend. I would also say the problem lies with his degree. Materials Engineering is not as broad based as it looks. For now I suggest he apply for jobs in stat boards..maybe 3K plus..still have lobang. Home Team such as ICA etc need people although I am not sure if the gahmen walks the talk by hiring old PMETs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 (edited) I think lets face it..there are indeed real life cases such as this 39 year old guy..he himself has said he put in effort to look for much lower level jobs but with no success, so let's give him credit for that. While it is easy to chide him for not doing something else..we got to acknowledge that statistics aside, the job market is not that optimistic as PAP paints. Companies are quietly retrenching people and staying below publicity. Things are not as rosy as they look. My current company is retrenching 300 personnel worldwide by the way this weekend. I would also say the problem lies with his degree. Materials Engineering is not as broad based as it looks. For now I suggest he apply for jobs in stat boards..maybe 3K plus..still have lobang. Home Team such as ICA etc need people although I am not sure if the gahmen walks the talk by hiring old PMETs. In short, beggars cant b choosers Edited June 3, 2012 by Felipe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear June 3, 2012 Share June 3, 2012 Coming from similar background and age, i say it is difficult to compete with applicant almost half your age with less wage and benefits, young FTs, even if we're willing to downgrade everything. Not that we don't have the quality or commitment, but many other things just makes it even tougher. Some are lucky enough to survive the productivity age spill over, but some others will face the unfortunate. Perhaps something similar to our fresh grad competing with FT, only double the difficulties? You will probably know the feeling only when you're in the same situation. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...