RadX Moderator July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 On 7/12/2024 at 3:54 PM, 13177 said: Can last for 14 years?! My last Asus laptop think only last less than 3 years and kaput liao. They dun make them like they used to liao asus has never been able to last tho.. my thinkpads all last 10yrs or more ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 (edited) A few years back, Bought an aftershock laptop with 3070 and i9 for son. he used for play games. Easily 4 hour a day. Somemore on a laptop cooler. Haven’t 1.5 year buang. Aftershock repaired because warranty after that I got him to build a pc. Now pc no problem for 2 years Liao. Serious gamer really cannot use laptop If I need a laptop, I will still buy an aftershock but amd no intel bec energy and battery. Edited July 12, 2024 by Mustank 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 On 7/12/2024 at 4:20 PM, RadX said: They dun make them like they used to liao asus has never been able to last tho.. my thinkpads all last 10yrs or more Thought i hearsay asus laptop is good, that's why bought one but this was the shortest laptop that i owned. Would never buy asus liao. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 my acer swift3 5+ years still ok… touch wood unlike my previous 1g lenovo yoga… just after 2 year warranty got lines on screen liao. now my 2 kids also buy acer for themselves 😬 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 On 7/12/2024 at 5:38 PM, Enye said: my acer swift3 5+ years still ok… touch wood unlike my previous 1g lenovo yoga… just after 2 year warranty got lines on screen liao. now my 2 kids also buy acer for themselves 😬 The T series still the most solid one 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 Boss....if your mouse spoil want to change laptop, please PM me hor. I come over to dispose laptop for you. 😁 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 On 7/12/2024 at 6:42 PM, Didu said: Boss....if your mouse spoil want to change laptop, please PM me hor. I come over to dispose laptop for you. 😁 laptop is one thing, i repair, upgrade, repair upgrade hahahha 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildfaye29 Turbocharged July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 On 7/12/2024 at 6:51 PM, RadX said: laptop is one thing, i repair, upgrade, repair upgrade hahahha i tot spoil is replace? like tayar puncture chg car? no? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 On 7/12/2024 at 4:23 PM, Mustank said: A few years back, Bought an aftershock laptop with 3070 and i9 for son. he used for play games. Easily 4 hour a day. Somemore on a laptop cooler. Haven’t 1.5 year buang. Aftershock repaired because warranty after that I got him to build a pc. Now pc no problem for 2 years Liao. Serious gamer really cannot use laptop If I need a laptop, I will still buy an aftershock but amd no intel bec energy and battery. My AS laptop from 2018 with gtx 1050 mobile still alive and kicking. Has dead wifi card I think. But my wife use it for games of ahem origin. My Acer nitro with 4060 has some problems playing certain games at times. All under management of my wife. Lol basically they are all her laptops. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 On 7/12/2024 at 5:38 PM, Enye said: my acer swift3 5+ years still ok… touch wood unlike my previous 1g lenovo yoga… just after 2 year warranty got lines on screen liao. now my 2 kids also buy acer for themselves 😬 Acer not bad, my previous acer laptop think last for around 5 years. Now got another acer, hopefully can last. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 This is the replacement bro.. the thinner one.. shd be gd for another COE lifetime at least 😂 The other side of the desk is the younger bro.. more powerful and 8tbssd.. also refurbished. Bought abt $280 and specced up 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 On 7/12/2024 at 4:20 PM, RadX said: They dun make them like they used to liao asus has never been able to last tho.. my thinkpads all last 10yrs or more My current Thinkpad lasted 4yrs plus.... But last week the fan suddenly turned hyper mode.... Spin loudly.... and higher pitch then stop... So I bought an IdeaPad last week, just in case the Thinkpad breakdown.... not too bad can flip 360 to resemble a tablet.... Now the Thinkpad working fine...😅 Both AMD. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 On 7/12/2024 at 8:25 PM, Atonchia said: My current Thinkpad lasted 4yrs plus.... But last week the fan suddenly turned hyper mode.... Spin loudly.... and higher pitch then stop... So I bought an IdeaPad last week, just in case the Thinkpad breakdown.... not too bad can flip 360 to resemble a tablet.... Now the Thinkpad working fine...😅 Both AMD. For the fan, the tip is use a blower to get the dust off cos the dust tends to block the internal fan. That one change is diy $40😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 There is one thing I don't like of the Thinkpad was the Ctrl and FN key were swopped. Making Ctrl+C always becom FN+C Luckily the IdeaPad bought recently change back to the right position. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 (edited) On 7/12/2024 at 8:48 PM, Atonchia said: There is one thing I don't like of the Thinkpad was the Ctrl and FN key were swopped. Making Ctrl+C always becom FN+C Luckily the IdeaPad bought recently change back to the right position. Yup it's damn annoying cos I use ThinkPad e14 at work. Then everytime need to use my home laptop sure press wrongly. Really irritating. Edited July 12, 2024 by Lala81 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 On 7/12/2024 at 6:51 PM, RadX said: laptop is one thing, i repair, upgrade, repair upgrade hahahha Tuned for reliability than performance i guess If want performance...i tink @Soya is able to recommend some snakeoil magic magnet that can help boost performance...😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic July 12, 2024 Share July 12, 2024 On 7/12/2024 at 4:23 PM, Mustank said: A few years back, Bought an aftershock laptop with 3070 and i9 for son. he used for play games. Easily 4 hour a day. Somemore on a laptop cooler. Haven’t 1.5 year buang. Aftershock repaired because warranty after that I got him to build a pc. Now pc no problem for 2 years Liao. Serious gamer really cannot use laptop If I need a laptop, I will still buy an aftershock but amd no intel bec energy and battery. That's exactly what i told my son when he got his first lappy instead of a desktop for gaming...too slow...then he got another more powerful one...faster but still not fast enuf...yet not reliable...spoiled within a year...now using aftershock...jin happy...told him he could have started feeling happy 2 years ago...but not that kind of happy hor...yet to bring him go gayland jalan jalan open eyesights... 😁 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 6th Gear July 13, 2024 Share July 13, 2024 On 7/12/2024 at 7:16 PM, Wildfaye29 said: i tot spoil is replace? like tayar puncture chg car? no? to him a punctured tayar is jinx enough to warrant change of car, but since laptop got no tayar, so no problem... ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...