Donut Supercharged June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 Agreed, cannot believe buyers would believe that a car which is 5 year old or more, mileage can be less than 100K. why not.... my car is exactly 5 yr old and my milage is 70k km leh. I swear i never tweak. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 why not.... my car is exactly 5 yr old and my milage is 70k km leh. I swear i never tweak. will hear that very often when go shopping for second hand car.... if u sell your car to used car dealer at 70K km now, it will read maximum 40K km if i go buy from them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 my car 3 years old ... odometer only 7k le! (actually, before that stupid drunk driver hit me, already about to hit 28k ... but they had to replace part of the dashboard ... so i had to start from 0 ... so i have to avoid selling to a second hand dealer since tan chong knows my real mileage ...) i dont want them to pass off my car as a low mileage vehicle when its not ... >< (also, my dad's car is 4yrs old .. only 32,000km) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 i notice from sgcarmart that bmws seem to be hvg higher mileage than regular jap cars. any idea if bmw odo not tweak-able? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 will hear that very often when go shopping for second hand car.... if u sell your car to used car dealer at 70K km now, it will read maximum 40K km if i go buy from them... Very true, the actual mileage reflected when the dealer got the car and the "real" mileage relected when they sell the car will be different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeroming Neutral Newbie June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 in all seriousness, if you register a low mileage despite many years of ownership, perhaps you really didn't need the car in the first place? much as i hate the crazy COE prices now, but at least it is making car buyers think twice about their purchase and whether they needed the vehicle to begin with. of course the rich kids who can easy afford their rides don't belong to this category. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 as usual, they're telling us what we know EONS ago !!! Com'on, it's as good as telling us they just discovered unscrupulous retailers at SIM LIM, Lucky Plaza etc . jeeez .... On the issue of low mileage car, my family has a Jan 2010 car that has only 12,000km done so far. Real one, never tamper sompah ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 i notice from sgcarmart that bmws seem to be hvg higher mileage than regular jap cars. any idea if bmw odo not tweak-able? maybe oredi tweaked. b4 that odo might hv been 300,000km for a 5yr old car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 in all seriousness, if you register a low mileage despite many years of ownership, perhaps you really didn't need the car in the first place? much as i hate the crazy COE prices now, but at least it is making car buyers think twice about their purchase and whether they needed the vehicle to begin with. of course the rich kids who can easy afford their rides don't belong to this category. Agreed, if you buy a car to clock low mileage, might as well dont buy. Since car already so expensive here, so we must make full use of the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unidentified 1st Gear June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 this is what a 2nd dealer will check after taking in a 2nd hand car before tweaking the odometer. first check whether owner goes for regular servicing at the authorised dealer like tan chong,borneo,kah motor. if got regular svc at there,they wont tweak the odometer. else if the car is always service at outside workshop,they will most likely to tweak the mileage down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 If your total mileage per day is less than 5km, and seldom use your car on weekends then maybe even when your car is more than 5 year old, mileage could be less than 100K. But dont think there is many such cases la. why not? OPC cars also. Mine car less than 20K its 4 and half years liao. But having said this, i also do not like the 2nd hand car dealers on what they have done to temper the mileage. This is consider cheating. Maybe we can set up a petition to LTA and ask LTA to enforce this. Those dealers who temper with car mileage will have a very severe heavy fine and ban from opening a used car company. Also get the government to step in. if tempering done can seriously lead to jail term. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 This one works Hahaha Car is 200 Change meter n shows 120 Dealer take in When selling Mileage 70 Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 why not? OPC cars also. Mine car less than 20K its 4 and half years liao. But having said this, i also do not like the 2nd hand car dealers on what they have done to temper the mileage. This is consider cheating. Maybe we can set up a petition to LTA and ask LTA to enforce this. Those dealers who temper with car mileage will have a very severe heavy fine and ban from opening a used car company. Also get the government to step in. if tempering done can seriously lead to jail term. U seriously think LTA would bother to lift a finger on this?..... If no $$ for them to sapu, they'll tell you: "Thank you for your feedback. Now dun lislurb me prriest". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 I started a poll on car's mileage. Please support to provide buyers with a better picture of a car's mileage. http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?s=&...t&p=4481555 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 U seriously think LTA would bother to lift a finger on this?..... If no $$ for them to sapu, they'll tell you: "Thank you for your feedback. Now dun lislurb me prriest". well thats why i say petition. otherwise if you think there is better idea maybe u can suggest. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 now those owners with genuinely low mileage will have hard time selling their cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 now those owners with genuinely low mileage will have hard time selling their cars. Nobody would believe genuine low mileage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spaxe Clutched June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 why not.... my car is exactly 5 yr old and my milage is 70k km leh. I swear i never tweak. Same here. My previous car was almost 6 years old and mileage 65K. Sold off at a gd deal. Never tweaked mileage and fully serviced at AD. My work place is just 5km away. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...