Theoldjaffa Hypersonic February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 Just get the one you like best. That in itself would be worth keeping. If you get the one you dont like, whats the point? Not much of value or investment to speak off, these are all mass produced watches easily available. As long as the branding is done right, the value will hold, if branding screws value screws. fully agree. we buy what we like, not what others like. btw, which rolex is the best? preferably one that retains value. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 Wah you the man! That day at Chang bbq at demspey, stepped out for a smoke, saw this big and fat beng talking on the mobile in hokkien v.loudly at the smoking area, on his wrist a rose gold offshore.... i felt disgusted.... Last night at lei garden, after seeing this skinny ah pek wearing polo shirt and jeans act cool wear a black AP and walk around sibeh haolian, it was the last straw already.... broke the camel's back liao.... cannot tahan the profile of AP wearers these days.... now i have decided to follow in throttle2's footsteps... all same one lah.. i also see a skinny uncle with full ang kong on the arm wearing a thick gold necklace and solid gold datejust.. or was it a day-date then another uncle dressed in t-shirt, berms and slippers in best denki wearing a bronze 382.. its the wearer not the watch... like what T says. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 Wah you the man! That day at Chang bbq at demspey, stepped out for a smoke, saw this big and fat beng talking on the mobile in hokkien v.loudly at the smoking area, on his wrist a rose gold offshore.... i felt disgusted.... Last night at lei garden, after seeing this skinny ah pek wearing polo shirt and jeans act cool wear a black AP and walk around sibeh haolian, it was the last straw already.... broke the camel's back liao.... cannot tahan the profile of AP wearers these days.... now i have decided to follow in throttle2's footsteps... Really or not you so AP fan.... Anyway i told you so you didnt believe. I saw all these long ago. Classic old school is best at the end of the day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 Wah you the man! That day at Chang bbq at demspey, stepped out for a smoke, saw this big and fat beng talking on the mobile in hokkien v.loudly at the smoking area, on his wrist a rose gold offshore.... i felt disgusted.... Last night at lei garden, after seeing this skinny ah pek wearing polo shirt and jeans act cool wear a black AP and walk around sibeh haolian, it was the last straw already.... broke the camel's back liao.... cannot tahan the profile of AP wearers these days.... now i have decided to follow in throttle2's footsteps... I wouldnt care abt the profile of the wearers... as long as it looks good on me and complements my style, that's all that matters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 Had a dinner pre-CNY treat from former boss. Seems like Pam very popular nowadays... out of the 10 of us, 4 were wearing a pam. My former boss wore a PP. looked like a white gold bracelet calatrava. Simple and suits him (in his mid 50s). Something abt a PP that you can spot from far away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 I wouldnt care abt the profile of the wearers... as long as it looks good on me and complements my style, that's all that matters. Similarly, i go for what is truly classic and timeless so Rolex is my top pick. But for many people watch is like fashion, must follow trend one, especially AP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 Had a dinner pre-CNY treat from former boss. Seems like Pam very popular nowadays... out of the 10 of us, 4 were wearing a pam. My former boss wore a PP. looked like a white gold bracelet calatrava. Simple and suits him (in his mid 50s). Something abt a PP that you can spot from far away. Panerai also started its climb as a "fashion accessory" thats why. Calatrava signature is strap, not bracelet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tsetse Neutral Newbie February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 met up an old friend for lunch today, took a family shot of my 000 with his 380. chipped in my 249 homage for good fun all with brown straps Nice! I have the 249 Homage too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tsetse Neutral Newbie February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 I mean like End of Days...Bumble Bee...Lava Something like that I wanna get one that is worth keeping lor... Hi, If you are getting something as a keeper, then the resale value is not an issue. But if you feel resale value is impt, then the AP ROO End Of Days is worth considering as it is pretty sought after but I rarely see it for sale or people having it in the market. It might be mostly due to the limited exposure I am being exposed too though. Bumble bee is ok but Lava is also rarely seen but based on feedback from friends in the watch collecting circle, the lava isnt that highly sought after thereby that would usually mean a softer resale value. At the end of the day, it is impt to buy something that would bring a smile to your face when the watch is on your wrist rather than something very popular but you totally do not like it or still thinking of another watch even with that popular piece on your wrist. Its a cliche saying but I have followed that rule after my initial euphoria of buying and selling and I have come to appreciate it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tsetse Neutral Newbie February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 Similarly, i go for what is truly classic and timeless so Rolex is my top pick. But for many people watch is like fashion, must follow trend one, especially AP. Actually after going thru different watch forums both local and overseas, it seems the locals favour getting the latest models as compared to overseas for AP watches. Usually local watch forums you see majority of posts of AP owners having current or latest model Offshores. But in the overseas AP forums, many people search or own plenty of older models of offshores. The early models of offshores also look very nice and I am a fan of those just that it seems very difficult to find people selling those discontinued models here. I love both Rolex and AP and if $$$ is not an issue, I would like to collect a range of models from both brands. Its heavenly when you open your watch box and look at your collection....Horology Nirvana. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tsetse Neutral Newbie February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 Could not decide which one i like better , so got both in the end Very nice watches you have got! How does the new 44mm ROOs compare to the older 42mm ROOs in terms of feel on the wrist? The pushers look way more chunky and heavy duty and I really like the new style pushers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 Very nice watches you have got! How does the new 44mm ROOs compare to the older 42mm ROOs in terms of feel on the wrist? The pushers look way more chunky and heavy duty and I really like the new style pushers. I prefer the old ones with old style pushers, the new ones make the watch look even more like a toy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hubwee Turbocharged February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 Very nice watches you have got! How does the new 44mm ROOs compare to the older 42mm ROOs in terms of feel on the wrist? The pushers look way more chunky and heavy duty and I really like the new style pushers. Thanks . Watch feels bigger but feel wise , it's same as the rubberclad / panda which i use as a daily previously . Only drawback i felt for these 44 is the tang . Have always preferred deployments . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tsetse Neutral Newbie February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 I prefer the old ones with old style pushers, the new ones make the watch look even more like a toy. I guess its a matter of personal preference. But the old style pushers are nice too just that I prefer chunky watches. Just like the DSSD. Damn solid piece of watch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tsetse Neutral Newbie February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 Thanks . Watch feels bigger but feel wise , it's same as the rubberclad / panda which i use as a daily previously . Only drawback i felt for these 44 is the tang . Have always preferred deployments . Oic, then I think feel wise is same and yes I do agree with you on the buckle, for mechanical watches, deployment is preferred and is safer as in while wearing or taking off, if our hands slip, the watch would not drop on the floor and for tang, the chances of dropping the watch is way higher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 Thanks bro for your advice maybe just get a Safari or Rubber will do huh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 Wah you the man! That day at Chang bbq at demspey, stepped out for a smoke, saw this big and fat beng talking on the mobile in hokkien v.loudly at the smoking area, on his wrist a rose gold offshore.... i felt disgusted.... Last night at lei garden, after seeing this skinny ah pek wearing polo shirt and jeans act cool wear a black AP and walk around sibeh haolian, it was the last straw already.... broke the camel's back liao.... cannot tahan the profile of AP wearers these days.... now i have decided to follow in throttle2's footsteps... LOL... AP sibey cheap, every tom dick n harry can buy [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic February 10, 2013 Share February 10, 2013 DayDate hard at work preparing dinner for me! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...