Alg 5th Gear July 16, 2012 Share July 16, 2012 do u think every taxi driver have jump start cable? [laugh] [laugh] what if sway sway dont have? than what will u do? Call AA? tow truck? Do u know quite a few taxi drivers have jumper cable??? And do u understand the word "ask"?? Do you know you can also call for a 24hrs onsite battery replacement by one of the forummer here? Seems like you dont know. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear July 16, 2012 Author Share July 16, 2012 Do u know quite a few taxi drivers have jumper cable??? And do u understand the word "ask"?? Do you know you can also call for a 24hrs onsite battery replacement by one of the forummer here? Seems like you dont know. ok la.. why u so work up? im just saying it not every taxi driver have a jump start cable wat.. and how do u know i dunno there is a forummer providing 24 hrs battery replacement service here? if u are so work up than please dont reply la. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
24hrsbatteryservices 1st Gear May 13, 2015 Share May 13, 2015 a good battery booster cost more den $400 bucks invest in a jumper cable if you know how to handle it alternative anyone that need any car battery service or car battery replacement can call me at 91234455 we are a team of mobile recovery going around singapore to rescue car owners . http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2698808-24-hr-car-battery-service-car-battery-replacement/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 9, 2015 Share June 9, 2015 ok la.. why u so work up? im just saying it not every taxi driver have a jump start cable wat.. and how do u know i dunno there is a forummer providing 24 hrs battery replacement service here? if u are so work up than please dont reply la. depends on luck and location also ... would you believe it if I told you that army camp MT line don't have jumper cables ?? I do carry a set in my boot ... but the best part was when my battery died two weeks ago, the boot cannot even open !! ended up have to call my colleague to come to help me. luck and location. so right now I am thinking of these small jump starters ... but only concern is how long can these thing last. The last tiem I bought a portable jump started and put in my car ... after half year the batteries all leaked already and had to throw away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear June 10, 2015 Author Share June 10, 2015 depends on luck and location also ... would you believe it if I told you that army camp MT line don't have jumper cables ?? I do carry a set in my boot ... but the best part was when my battery died two weeks ago, the boot cannot even open !! ended up have to call my colleague to come to help me. luck and location. so right now I am thinking of these small jump starters ... but only concern is how long can these thing last. The last tiem I bought a portable jump started and put in my car ... after half year the batteries all leaked already and had to throw away. normally this kind of jump starter, they will ask you charge periodically like 2 months once? this is so in order to also prevent the starter battery to be damaged. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 10, 2015 Share June 10, 2015 normally this kind of jump starter, they will ask you charge periodically like 2 months once? this is so in order to also prevent the starter battery to be damaged. these two days Qoo10 got offer ... but after serious consideration, I have decided not to buy it. even at $40, might as well just call the road side assistance and pay them extra $20/battery replacement. say if we buy these things, might not even last before we get a battery change. just take the waiting time with a pinch of salt can already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear June 10, 2015 Author Share June 10, 2015 these two days Qoo10 got offer ... but after serious consideration, I have decided not to buy it. even at $40, might as well just call the road side assistance and pay them extra $20/battery replacement. say if we buy these things, might not even last before we get a battery change. just take the waiting time with a pinch of salt can already. depends on individual i guess. if you are kena stuck in a ulu place than you may think this kind of jump starter kit is really handy. you will never know until you encounter. To each of their own. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged December 31, 2015 Share December 31, 2015 actually, the age of the car and the battery also matters in making the decision to buy one or not. like my previous ride, i was stranded inside the yellow box when my alternator and the battery died on me. and i was like just meters away from the WS, in the middle of the night! called my mechanic, he used one such kit to allow my car to be driven all the way to his WS!i am impressed with the kit. and i got one to keep.it'd be particularly useful if you travel up north regularly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged January 1, 2016 Share January 1, 2016 Why not buy the piece of kit which plugs into the cigar lighter and then connects to the battery and charges the battery for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic January 1, 2016 Share January 1, 2016 Why not buy the piece of kit which plugs into the cigar lighter and then connects to the battery and charges the battery for you. Cigarette lighter socket can only pass typically 10A~15A max. Any more current and you risk blowing fuse or worst burning the wiring. Starting engine, charging battery can go anywhere from 10A up to 200A, depending on the state of the battery and other conditions. So, it's not a good idea, unless you can control the current flowing through that socket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged July 31, 2016 Share July 31, 2016 a good battery booster cost more den $400 bucks invest in a jumper cable if you know how to handle it alternative anyone that need any car battery service or car battery replacement can call me at 91234455 we are a team of mobile recovery going around singapore to rescue car owners . http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2698808-24-hr-car-battery-service-car-battery-replacement/ How much do you charge for jump-start? I called a jump start service recently and he charged me $60! (It was a sunday night) Hail a cab, ask driver got jumper cables, yes, jump start car, pay him $5 to drink kopi, drive to workshop change battery. You keep this startup kit in boot for 1 year + waiting for battery to die meh? Can we jump start from our normal comfort cabs? I always thought their battery for diesel car could be different...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 31, 2016 Share July 31, 2016 (edited) $60, must well top up and change a new batt (unless don't have your size). Now I think AA membership is worth it. Everything is going up except salary in SG. Just noticed my neigbourhood's chicken rice is $3.50 now instead of $3. Mixed uneconomic rice prices increased every quarter. Edited July 31, 2016 by Kangadrool 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic July 31, 2016 Share July 31, 2016 How much do you charge for jump-start? I called a jump start service recently and he charged me $60! (It was a sunday night) Can we jump start from our normal comfort cabs? I always thought their battery for diesel car could be different...... I paid $30 for jump start at expo. His workshop at tampines. Still ex if you ask me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 $30 is ok lah consider time and effort to come down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 After you used Amaron ........... you will never need jump cable again lor .................. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mavwong 2nd Gear August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 Most car with electronics boot release have a wired release somewhere to manually open up the boot or if you are trap in the boot accidentally. Guess most owner don't ever need to use this features unless battery die. My car manual release hook is just behind rear seat middle opening. Just pull down the middle opening, your hand can reach the hook and pull side way, viola, boot opened. depends on luck and location also ... would you believe it if I told you that army camp MT line don't have jumper cables ?? I do carry a set in my boot ... but the best part was when my battery died two weeks ago, the boot cannot even open !! ended up have to call my colleague to come to help me. luck and location. so right now I am thinking of these small jump starters ... but only concern is how long can these thing last. The last tiem I bought a portable jump started and put in my car ... after half year the batteries all leaked already and had to throw away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 Can we jump start from our normal comfort cabs? I always thought their battery for diesel car could be different...... Yes, as long as it's the same 12V battery. Diesel engines usually have bigger batteries due to the difficulty of starting diesel engine. Vice versa, the smaller battery found in a petrol car is unlikely to jump start a lorry. I have tried with those lithium jump starters. It will start petrol car without problem, but fail with diesel lorry. It simply is not powerful enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 I paid $30 for jump start at expo. His workshop at tampines. Still ex if you ask me. Yeah, $60 is blood sucking. And he didn't even check if the alternator or battery is ok after starting up. It's all 3 minutes job for $60 and off he go. Best of all, after i drove out for 1 hour, I came back home and could not start again. Wasted $60 Then I realise my insurance came with emergency breakdown assistance.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...