Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 (edited) Ummm, missing some facts in the lead up as to what led to this. You were overtaking the cyclist and then wanted to turn left in 10m? This is the bit I don't quite understand, and from what I can assume you were creating a dangerous situation that could have been avoided. Can you clarify? In this case I suspect the fault lies with the cyclist. I know bro 20G. In fact we've talked about cycling over kopi (and I even cycled down to this MCF meet-up ). In this case I suspect that it was simply a matter of a cyclist hitting his car and not apologizing for that. Edited November 21, 2012 by Elfenstar ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 In this case I suspect the fault lies with the cyclist. I know bro 20G. In fact we've about cycling over kopi (and I even cycled down to this MCF meet-up ). In this case I suspect that it was simply a matter of a cyclist hitting his car and not apologizing for that. i concur....altho he sibei quailan, he is still an ok fella la [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 ohh.. u oso a cyclist right? i hope u dun become one of the statistics in any of the RTA reports. God Bless You. This morning, white color BMW F10 523 cut into my lane (left lane) at steep angle along Temasek Ave after Raffles Ave causing me to stop abruptly. What would you do? Thanks for your concern. Very likely you will be part of cause of the statistics looking at the way u drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 In the same situation, if it is motorcycle, would you overtake from right & make a left turn? Since you are only 10m from left turn, would you carry enough speed to overtake cyclist safely and make left turn? If i am in the same situation, i would patiently line behind cyclist till my turn to turn left. My car cannot carry enough speed to clear the cyclist and make a left turn. As you have anger management issue, i would advice you against driving juz in case your blood vain broke in the middle expressway. Think about things this way. Does it matter if he did or did not overtake safely? As far as I'm concerned, even if he did overtake in an unsafe manner, the cyclist has no right to hit his car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 u make a good grandfadder....write story sibei drama... u part time TCS ah Haha thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 (edited) Think about things this way. Does it matter if he did or did not overtake safely? As far as I'm concerned, even if he did overtake in an unsafe manner, the cyclist has no right to hit his car. You are right to say that the cyclist has no right to hit his car. In the heat of the moment, does the cyclist think with his ball or brain? Not forgetting that there is a lot of novice cyclist who has no situational awareness on the road. This morning, i use my brain. Otherwise, i would whack that fella boot real hard. Edited November 21, 2012 by Davidtch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 In this case I suspect the fault lies with the cyclist. I know bro 20G. In fact we've talked about cycling over kopi (and I even cycled down to this MCF meet-up ). In this case I suspect that it was simply a matter of a cyclist hitting his car and not apologizing for that. Ok, i'll take your word on it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 Motorcycle carry a higher risk than bicycle le. Of course, that's cannot use bicycle helmet le. Since it is laughable, why do moto GP rider ride with full face helmet rather than open face helmet? as long as u r on the road, u r on the same risk as all motor vehicles. i see bicycle helmet worn to protect ur head when u fall off track on pavement, trail or pcn. if u fall on the road, middle of junction, what makes u think ur bike helmet is more hardy than a motorcyclist helmet? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 i concur....altho he sibei quailan, he is still an ok fella la [laugh] Probably PCCing in the car thats why got a shock and angry when his car was hit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 Probably PCCing in the car thats why got a shock and angry when his car was hit muahahhaha....Blowout valve really blew on the steering [:p] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 You are right to say that the cyclist has no right to hit his car. In the heat of the moment, does the cyclist think with his ball or brain? Not forgetting that there is a lot of novice cyclist who has no situational awareness on the road. This morning, i use my brain. Otherwise, i would whack that fella boot real hard. Ego with neither balls nor brains in this case. If the cyclist had balls, he would have knocked on the window to scold 20G. If it was a situational awareness that caused the cyclist to be shocked, it's his own fault. If it was an accident then he should have at least apologised. In your case LL coz there's nothing you can do if the driver sped continued on. If he or she stopped, I would go knock on their window to confront him/her. I suspect you would too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_young_once Neutral Newbie November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 Reading about coilover don't know how the "related topic" come up my peeve: cyclists on the road I don't come from the 'never pay road tax' POV, but rather this: cyclists cannot possibly go as fast, or stop as fast as motor vehicles, inherently making them unsafe on SGP cyclist-unfriendly designed roads. So they should not use the road, that's all. If cyclist can use the road, why not people run/jog/skateboard/roller-blade on road also, then all of these entitled to 1.5 meter clearance? Someone mentioned that many cyclists are novice road-users with little road awareness. I agree, how many of these bicycles got mirror on them? In RHD singapore, at least need a right-hand mirror? I got no problem with bangla and china workers ride slowly along the road, the biggest problem is those "act pro" types of cycling clubs and what not plaguing the left lane--up to the whole left lane of certain roads Some bicycles even go up to ~50 or 60 km/h, I imagine if a car cuts in front of them and brake--brake until activate ABS type, the cyclist will eat car boot metal or fly. They MAY reach motor vehicle speeds, and maybe just about beat a 125cc motorcycle in acceleration, but they cannot stop as well as motor vehicles, so why on the road? Stay in east coast park, bishan park, pasir ris park, etc, if not enough mileage, go to gym use a stationary exercise bike, cycle hundreds of km in safety! SGP roads are just unfriendly to cyclists, and that is just that. Like how local weather is tropical all year long. Buying and using such high end road bicycles is like buying long-john inner wear and thick fur coat, and blasting air con at home at coldest JUST SO to wear these winter clothing in Singapore----------just not appplicable! Kenny Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 Reading about coilover don't know how the "related topic" come up my peeve: cyclists on the road I don't come from the 'never pay road tax' POV, but rather this: cyclists cannot possibly go as fast, or stop as fast as motor vehicles, inherently making them unsafe on SGP cyclist-unfriendly designed roads. So they should not use the road, that's all. If cyclist can use the road, why not people run/jog/skateboard/roller-blade on road also, then all of these entitled to 1.5 meter clearance? Someone mentioned that many cyclists are novice road-users with little road awareness. I agree, how many of these bicycles got mirror on them? In RHD singapore, at least need a right-hand mirror? I got no problem with bangla and china workers ride slowly along the road, the biggest problem is those "act pro" types of cycling clubs and what not plaguing the left lane--up to the whole left lane of certain roads Some bicycles even go up to ~50 or 60 km/h, I imagine if a car cuts in front of them and brake--brake until activate ABS type, the cyclist will eat car boot metal or fly. They MAY reach motor vehicle speeds, and maybe just about beat a 125cc motorcycle in acceleration, but they cannot stop as well as motor vehicles, so why on the road? Stay in east coast park, bishan park, pasir ris park, etc, if not enough mileage, go to gym use a stationary exercise bike, cycle hundreds of km in safety! SGP roads are just unfriendly to cyclists, and that is just that. Like how local weather is tropical all year long. Buying and using such high end road bicycles is like buying long-john inner wear and thick fur coat, and blasting air con at home at coldest JUST SO to wear these winter clothing in Singapore----------just not appplicable! Kenny Sorry, but why do bikes not stop as well or as fast as motor vehicles? As a simple comparison at 50km/h (or 30miles/h) A cyclist needs 10.4m (source - http://www.exploratorium.edu/cycling/brakes2.html) A car needs 23m for same speed (source - http://www.random-science-tools.com/physic...g-distance.htm) And the myth that Singapore is unfriendly to cyclists? I think the weather is fine for cycling. If you search online there are a lot of people who bike to work or use cycling as basic commuting tool, as well as the cycling groups who arrange group rides. And to note on the group rides, most of these are aimed at off-peak times like 6am starts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 Just to clarify hor, highway code states side clearance as follows: 1. Stationary objects - 0.5m 2. Pedestrians on road but facing you - 1m 3. Moving vehicles and pedestrians facing away from you - 1.5m (this includes cyclists) These are theory test questions and also during practical test it's a demerit point offence to have insufficient side clearance. So it's not just a cyclists get 1.5m thing, but they're the main group who actually cite this little nugget of information. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 With COE prices stratospherically nuts, will we see cycling as a commuting option increasing? No COE, no ERP, no parking costs, no petrol etc etc. Public transport is just jammed all the time. With more rollouts of PCN more people could take up this option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 With COE prices stratospherically nuts, will we see cycling as a commuting option increasing? No COE, no ERP, no parking costs, no petrol etc etc. Public transport is just jammed all the time. With more rollouts of PCN more people could take up this option. During the last major MRT breakdown, i was riding home from Chevron House on my bike around 10:30pm. While riding past Fullerton Hotel, i saw a lot of ppl standing outside Fullerton Hotel trying to call taxi. I am glad that i have my own transport & no need stuck in jam that starts from Esplanade. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 During the last major MRT breakdown, i was riding home from Chevron House on my bike around 10:30pm. While riding past Fullerton Hotel, i saw a lot of ppl standing outside Fullerton Hotel trying to call taxi. I am glad that i have my own transport & no need stuck in jam that starts from Esplanade. Tokyo post-Fukushima has seen cycling increase dramatically. Since the the subways were down post earthquake then commuting by bike became a necessity, but these riders then found that they can get to the office quicker and stay in shape at no extra cost. Boston and New York post Hurricane Sandy saw a lot of people resort to their bikes to commute and a similar Tokyo style trend will result. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 (edited) My reply with regards to "Using the bell" vs "Telling politely to vehicles/cyclists/pedestrians ahead". I do not use the tiny thumb size bells as commonly used by the masses. I use the bigger bells that are usually found on the classic safety bicycles. The sound that the bigger bell makes can be heard very far away. I warn people and riders way way ahead. They usually turn around and glance, and become aware of my presence and not step in the way of the path. I rather they be aware in advance than blame me for not warning them at all. As i would normally converse in english, I know that NOT everyone who shares the road with me understands what i say. .... let alone "instructional intentions". The politely spoken human voice can only be heard clearly at close proximity. If i shout from afar i would only be like one of those arrogant TDF type. or perhaps those heartland knnbccb speaking cyclists. I m neither of them. Besides the Bell topic, I also noticed something greatly lacking among the more seasoned and educated riders. Out of the masses I see on saturday evenings and sunday mornings. Of the 50 plus or so riders that i can count along my journey. Only 2 or at most (rarely) 3 know the use of hand signals. It is already a danger that the great majority of cyclists DO NOT HAVE rear view mirrors. Not indicating ones intention to turn left or right or slow down or stop makes it even more dangerous when they start guessing and assuming that they have the right of way in any direction all the time at anywhere. I m a cyclist myself and I started cycling on heavy traffic laden roads since my school days. I can only conclude that most cyclists nowadays give whole lot of excuses to have things their way instead of practising defensive and safe riding despite the amount of bicycling awareness, information, and technology that is available. Before anyone shoots me and say that it was different then compared to now. To hell it's not!!! It was as dangerous to ride on roads then. Several reasons(excuses) i read here and in other forums are simply a act of refusal to relearn safety and considerate habits. It's more convenient to keep to old habits and justify heaven and hell to serve personal interest. And also, vanity and ego is a huge issue. They don't want to be seen as a coward or sissy or kiasu or unfashionable or uncool or whatever with the several safety implements installed on their beautiful and stylish bikes. Living dangerously and inconsiderately is fashionable and more acceptable to their face seeking peers. Edited November 21, 2012 by Hypermiler ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...