Cyclist Problem

Lsflsf

I am both a driver and a cyclist. If you see cyclist at the left lane, just overtake them safely. Stop complaining and get a life.

Not many motorist have the patience of Mother Teresa. Nobody wants to be stuck behind a 20 km/h cyclist too long because the road is too busy to overtake safely into the next right lane. Instead of them trying to keep to the left as much as possible, they deliberately ride in the centre obstructing the traffic. I am not saying all cyclist are like that but many are....I think their propensity to ride further away from the left kerb is proportional to the cost of their bike.

I usually don't have anything to pick on other types of road users but this thread reminds me of one particular incident between me an a cyclist.

was travelling on the left lane of a 2 lane road. preparing to turn left abt 10 meters ahead when this cyclist whack my side mirror wif a loud thub. farker act blur and cycled ahead like as if nothing has happened. my fumes raised from 0-100 degs in less than 2 secs and i caught up wif him side by side.

m= me

c= cyclist

m: eh s-hole, u act blur after hitting me ah?

c: .........

cyclist raised up his right and and gave me the bird when he was ahead.

m: nbcb u stop by the road side now! (have to shout coz im afraid he can't hear while i caught up wif him again.)

note: sun morning no cars around.

'smart' fark suddenly slowed down. got behind me and went into frenzy wif bird flipping not forgetting to send regards to my ancestors.

this time im at my boiling point liao, but decided to let him tired himself out wif the cursing, swearing and cycling 1st. after one min, i saw fr the rear view mirror his bike was going left right left right and the cursing getting softer i knew my turn liao. so i stopped my car, got out and approached him. when he saw me approaching, he tried to ride away but i caught up wif him wif my hand on his handle bars.

below are the exact words exchanged. i can rem each and every word said bcoz i am a petty sh!t. [:p]

m: u nbcb sibeh song singing away behind me hor.

c: wat u think u a bit big size u wana be a road bully ah? u ccb u think u drive xxx big fark ah!!

m: road ur mother cb bully. now im infront of ur cb face u can start wat u said abt my family again. NOW! ( i rem that farker suddenly machiam kena electrocuted when i shouted 'NOW!!' i almost burst out laughing)

c: lai la lai la.. u got balls u punch me la!

so as per requested, i inched forward some more while staring at him. i am quite sure he got really scared by then and he went... this one is damn funny...

c: HELP ME!! HELP ME!! (was gesturing towards the bangalas across the road) SOMEBODY WANTS TO BEAT ME!!

sensing those bangalas weren't gonna give a turd, he tried to stop a nearby car for help gesturing like as if his balls got burned. so the car stopped. took a look at him, then me. so i ask the driver : u wana help har?. he took another look at the cyclist and zoomed off. i was on the verge of bursting out in laughter at this point of time. [laugh]

so now i turned back wif a smirk face and ask who else he wana ask for help before i proceed he suddenly exclaimed:

c: u cannot hit me!!

m:.....

c: i old man liao u cannot hit me. and guess wat he did? he proceeded to dig out his i/c and showed me.

m: when i wan somebody, i dun care if he is short, fat, old or ugly. and btw, u fit into wat i juz described. (by then i was more amused than angry liao) so u tell me now. why the fark did u hit my side mirror for? and dun u think ur being stupid trying to ride away acting blur?

c: u r the one who came close to me! (old fart still dun wana admit his mistakes) i nearly went onto the kerb

m: ur brakes spoil ah? i rather u hit the kerb then some some lorry hit u.

c: ......

sensing i hv wasted enough time wif this idiot, i let go of his bike's handle bar and told him to fark off. before he left, he said something like no point fighting coz sg very small we will meet again in the gym.. shopping centre... then it struck me.. GYM!! we used to go to the same gym and i think he recognized me coz we used to say hello but bcoz he got his shades on i couldn't recognized him and found him familiar though. lol

by then i gestured him to get lost and before he got out of sight..

c: God Bless You

m: i dun believe in God. (in my heart, it's HIM God should bless)

a few of my other driving frens oso got into arguments wif cyclist and wat i heard as a protocol they will always ask: DRIVE CAR BIG FARK AH? dun they have more constructive questions to ask??

I usually don't have anything to pick on other types of road users but this thread reminds me of one particular incident between me an a cyclist.

was travelling on the left lane of a 2 lane road. preparing to turn left abt 10 meters ahead when this cyclist whack my side mirror wif a loud thub. farker act blur and cycled ahead like as if nothing has happened. my fumes raised from 0-100 degs in less than 2 secs and i caught up wif him side by side.

m= me

c= cyclist

m: nbcb u stop by the road side now! (have to shout coz im afraid he can't hear while i caught up wif him again.)

'smart' fark suddenly slowed down. got behind me and went into frenzy wif bird flipping not forgetting to send regards to my ancestors.

this time im at my boiling point liao, but decided to let him tired himself out wif the cursing, swearing and cycling 1st. after one min, i saw fr the rear view mirror his bike was going left right left right and the cursing getting softer i knew my turn liao. so i stopped my car, got out and approached him. when he saw me approaching, he tried to ride away but i caught up wif him wif my hand on his handle bars.

below are the exact words exchanged. i can rem each and every word said bcoz i am a petty sh!t. [:p]

c: wat u think u a bit big size u wana be a road bully ah? u ccb u think u drive xxx big fark ah!!

m: road ur mother cb bully. now im infront of ur cb face u can start wat u said abt my family again. NOW! ( i rem that farker suddenly machiam kena electrocuted when i shouted 'NOW!!' i almost burst out laughing)

so as per requested, i inched forward some more while staring at him. i am quite sure he got really scared by then and he went... this one is damn funny...

c: HELP ME!! HELP ME!! (was gesturing towards the bangalas across the road) SOMEBODY WANTS TO BEAT ME!!

sensing those bangalas weren't gonna give a turd, he tried to stop a nearby car for help gesturing like as if his balls got burned. so the car stopped. took a look at him, then me. so i ask the driver : u wana help har?. he took another look at the cyclist and zoomed off. i was on the verge of bursting out in laughter at this point of time. [laugh]

so now i turned back wif a smirk face and ask who else he wana ask for help before i proceed he suddenly exclaimed:

c: i old man liao u cannot hit me. and guess wat he did? he proceeded to dig out his i/c and showed me.

m: when i wan somebody, i dun care if he is short, fat, old or ugly. and btw, u fit into wat i juz described. (by then i was more amused than angry liao) so u tell me now. why the fark did u hit my side mirror for? and dun u think ur being stupid trying to ride away acting blur?

c: u r the one who came close to me! (old fart still dun wana admit his mistakes) i nearly went onto the kerb

sensing i hv wasted enough time wif this idiot, i let go of his bike's handle bar and told him to fark off. before he left, he said something like no point fighting coz sg very small we will meet again in the gym.. shopping centre... then it struck me.. GYM!! we used to go to the same gym and i think he recognized me coz we used to say hello but bcoz he got his shades on i couldn't recognized him and found him familiar though. lol

a few of my other driving frens oso got into arguments wif cyclist and wat i heard as a protocol they will always ask: DRIVE CAR BIG FARK AH? dun they have more constructive questions to ask??

Ummm, missing some facts in the lead up as to what led to this. You were overtaking the cyclist and then wanted to turn left in 10m? This is the bit I don't quite understand, and from what I can assume you were creating a dangerous situation that could have been avoided. Can you clarify?

[/quote

reaching a junction whereby i can either go str or turn left. 10m is juz an estimated distance. lol

My only solution is switch on the brightest mode on my Exposure Maxx-D light juz before the exit. Anybody tries to do this stunt will get a rude shock.

Is your "Exposure Maxx-D light juz" LTA compliant?

reaching a junction whereby i can either go str or turn left. 10m is juz an estimated distance. lol

But your description sounds like you were passing the cyclist with the intent to turn left disregarding whether they were continuing on straight or turning left with you. The guy was probably squeezed into the kerb and hit your mirror to get your attention. This is my interpretation of the events and is quite dangerous for the cyclist.

whether they are continuing to turn left or go straight, i can't decide for them. they can always cycle on the outer lane if they wana go str, as wif alot of other cyclist. it is also up to them to decide wat they wana do after they see my signal of intention to turn left. if they still wana think they hv the right of way by going str even to the extent of getting run over, i wld say serve them right. if they wana become a road kill, i cant stop them but i try my very best to stop myself from doing the kill. btw, incident happened while i was still going str, not during the turn.

the guy was prob squeezed? he has got the space to ride thru smacking my side mirror in the process. if im squeezing him he wld hv juz whacked into my boot or the rear of my car. y doesnt it occured to u that he cycled too far out and misjudged or best, he did it on purpose? some cyclist hates cars as much as drivers hate them.

Edited by 20G

whether they are continuing to turn left or go straight, i can't decide for them. they can always cycle on the outer lane if they wana go str, as wif alot of other cyclist. it is also up to them to decide wat they wana do after they see my signal of intention to turn left. if they still wana think they hv the right of way by going str even to the extent of getting run over, i wld say serve them right. if they wana become a road kill, i cant stop them but i try my very best to stop myself from doing the kill.

the guy was prob squeezed? y doesnt it occured to u that he cycled too far out and misjudged or best, he did it on purpose? some cyclist hates cars as much as drivers hate them.

So you are 10m from a junction, there is a cyclist to the left-hand side of your car and you are providing a <1.5m gap whilst overtaking as they are able to make contact with your mirror. You have intentions to turn left in 10m. There is something very wrong with this whole picture.

m= me

c= cyclist

. You mentioned cyclist said he was push to kerb when you overtake him so he got no space but to hit your side mirror. Your reply is cyclist cannot brake and it?

So perhaps you need to understand that car can brake shorter distance than bicycle does and maybe he thought although it was very close, there is still space to cycle through, he is force to make split second decision and not easy at time. Should you give him more space, such argument will not happen already.

Edited by Yewheng

So you are 10m from a junction, there is a cyclist to the left-hand side of your car and you are providing a <1.5m gap whilst overtaking as they are able to make contact with your mirror. You have intentions to turn left in 10m. There is something very wrong with this whole picture.

wat's wif the 10m distance? told u its my estimation.

note i said he whack into my side mirror. not i whack into his handle bar. which actually means im already ahead of him and in full view within his sight. i hv to slow down during the turn but he is still maintaing his speed lei. so wat is a 1.5m overtaking distance fr him? i no need to go back to my own lane preparing to turn left after the overtaking distance?? or u expecting me to turn left wif half of my car on the outer lane STILL maintaining the 1.5m distance AFTER i overtook that pc of turd? or drivers hv to maintain 1.5m distance whenever there's cyclist ard whether or not ur overtaking them?

wa lao, my english so hard to comprehend meh? lol

. You mentioned cyclist said he was push to kerb when you overtake him so he got no space but to hit your side mirror. Your reply is cyclist cannot brake and it?

So perhaps you need to understand that car can brake shorter distance than bicycle does and maybe he thought although it was very close, there is still space to cycle through, he is force to make split second decision and not easy at time. Should you give him more space, such argument will not happen already.

i meantioned he said, yah correct. he can say anything he like to make it like its my fault. would a thief admit he is one when u ask him? lol

ive already given him enough space during overtaking and i need to go back to my own lane after that to prepare for a left turn.

if i hv not given him enough space during overtaking, i wld hv hit his bike. he hit me when i was ahead. u mean i hv to keep a look out for him even if after i overtook him meh. like dat drivers damn bo eng given so many cyclist are on the road every day. hee hee

wat's wif the 10m distance? told u its my estimation.

note i said he whack into my side mirror. not i whack into his handle bar. which actually means im already ahead of him and in full view within his sight. i hv to slow down during the turn but he is still maintaing his speed lei. so wat is a 1.5m overtaking distance fr him? i no need to go back to my own lane preparing to turn left after the overtaking distance?? or u expecting me to turn left wif half of my car on the outer lane STILL maintaining the 1.5m distance AFTER i overtook that pc of turd? or drivers hv to maintain 1.5m distance whenever there's cyclist ard whether or not ur overtaking them?

wa lao, my english so hard to comprehend meh? lol

No, i can understand what you are explaining. But I don't understand why you insist you are right here and causing a dangerous situation that is preventable.

When passing a cyclist you need to keep a 1.5m distance. If this means you have to change lanes, then so be it.

If you are planning to turn left at a junction 10m ahead (your estimation) and you are passing a cyclist at the same time, then really you aren't in a good situation and have a high likelihood of causing an accident. You should have just slowed for a couple of seconds and let the cyclist continue straight, and then turn left.

A couple of seconds out of your day isn't much, especially considering the amount of time you had available to chase the cyclist down and accost them face-to-face.

No, i can understand what you are explaining. But I don't understand why you insist you are right here and causing a dangerous situation that is preventable.

When passing a cyclist you need to keep a 1.5m distance. If this means you have to change lanes, then so be it.

If you are planning to turn left at a junction 10m ahead (your estimation) and you are passing a cyclist at the same time, then really you aren't in a good situation and have a high likelihood of causing an accident. You should have just slowed for a couple of seconds and let the cyclist continue straight, and then turn left.

A couple of seconds out of your day isn't much, especially considering the amount of time you had available to chase the cyclist down and accost them face-to-face.

like i said, i overtook safely. (if not i wld whack into him) i prepared to turn slowing down. then he came fr behind and whack my side. now becomes my fault? i reiterate again, i am still going str, not turning yet. i hv to anticipate his moves behind? infact after i overtook him he got alot of time to slow down, decide and judge if he can squeeze thru the gap between me and the kerb. but he chose to whack my mirror. so if he is asking for it, he will receive lo.

or are u r suggesting that i shd follow him until he turn or go str then i can cont on my journey?

Maybe another one of those "i cannot and will not slow down for anything, even red lights, because it will bring down the average speed of my ride and then i cannot boast to my friends about how pro a cyclist i am" cyclists?

Sounds like 20G already passed him and was slowing down for the turn, the guy dunno how to back off and wanna Action Jackson.

Maybe another one of those "i cannot and will not slow down for anything, even red lights, because it will bring down the average speed of my ride and then i cannot boast to my friends about how pro a cyclist i am" cyclists?

Sounds like 20G already passed him and was slowing down for the turn, the guy dunno how to back off and wanna Action Jackson.

exactly. was slowing down for the turn after i passed him. he have ample time to react but chose to whack my side mirror instead.

actually wat i posted wasn't seeking concensus of who is in the right.

i juz find it so amusing that someone can actually SCREAMED for help out so loud after he tried to be a macho guy when got approached.

i shall name this sence: One Minute Of Fame. [laugh]

Edited by 20G

If you were driving a car, overtake someone in lane one, then slow down - what is it called?

Of all the cars on the road, why would the cyclist choose to whack the mirror of this one?

[/quote

u make a good grandfadder....write story sibei drama...

u part time TCS ah [laugh]