Cold Air Intake

Ahrex

Hi all, I wanna ask about the cold air intake thing.. issit juz plug and play? i see some selling quite cheap leh like below link.. do i need to get anything else? i have searched thru and kinda understand wat CAI is for.. my car is 2nd hand and there is a hole on the passenger side front bumper so i suspect the previous owner also put CAI.. i see the whole for a few months liao abit sian so feel like putting something there.. haha..

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?autoco...p;product=29774

my question is that is it juz put this one can already? i dun need to change exhaust or anything right.. if that is the case den its quite cheap and i think i will go do it.. haha.. if got any added pickup power or better FC is good.. if dun have also neva mind..

i am driving a vios btw and i hope to hear the expert opinions from bros n sis here.. thanks in advance!!!

Certainly won't help your FC that's for sure.

You can always plug the hole with the CAI funnel without the CAI itself.

Get the look safe the FC.

Hi all, I wanna ask about the cold air intake thing.. issit juz plug and play? i see some selling quite cheap leh like below link.. do i need to get anything else? i have searched thru and kinda understand wat CAI is for.. my car is 2nd hand and there is a hole on the passenger side front bumper so i suspect the previous owner also put CAI.. i see the whole for a few months liao abit sian so feel like putting something there.. haha..

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?autoco...p;product=29774

my question is that is it juz put this one can already? i dun need to change exhaust or anything right.. if that is the case den its quite cheap and i think i will go do it.. haha.. if got any added pickup power or better FC is good.. if dun have also neva mind..

i am driving a vios btw and i hope to hear the expert opinions from bros n sis here.. thanks in advance!!!

Hey bro, u driving FL vios? Btw, whether FL/Belta setting up the CAI need some DIY to connect it up.

Else you can try asking the gurus in VOGS..

seen a video on youtube once which shows a car being hooked up to a machine while the person tested a few CAI inturn on the car......conclusion is that, installing CAI doesnt seems to have much effect on the performance of the engine.

i driving pre fl vios.. install this cai will suck in water? how bout when washing car? really no use? cos that time i got rent a car.. toyota wish.. like got cai also.. the pickup was quite fast.. haha.. feels shiok..

anyway if really is useless, maybe i will juz buy the funnel n put to plug the hole bah..

Cold air intake is good if u can get it straight into the TB. by twisting and turning the pipe to make it fit the hole will only make the engine harder to sux up air and in return make ur car performance worse, And looking at the design of the pipe, the inner surface is not even smooth. Ur vios stock intake is the best design. straight and intake opening facing away from the engine.

U want power? go for the straight open pod design where u leave the pod behind the headlight, and the most impt part is ---> Get a piggy back to tune it,

Just by adding a CAI or changing to open pod will not increase power. If poorly done, might even reduce the power of ur car.

And don't expect too much gain even after u tune it, Max is abt 5hp for setting the right AFR and 5-8 Hp by tuning the ignition timing (Depend tuning for ron 95 or ron 98),

so in all its abt 10-13 Hp gain, Figures differ depending on tuner, Happy Modding,

Cold air intake is good if u can get it straight into the TB. by twisting and turning the pipe to make it fit the hole will only make the engine harder to sux up air and in return make ur car performance worse, And looking at the design of the pipe, the inner surface is not even smooth. Ur vios stock intake is the best design. straight and intake opening facing away from the engine.

U want power? go for the straight open pod design where u leave the pod behind the headlight, and the most impt part is ---> Get a piggy back to tune it,

Just by adding a CAI or changing to open pod will not increase power. If poorly done, might even reduce the power of ur car.

And don't expect too much gain even after u tune it, Max is abt 5hp for setting the right AFR and 5-8 Hp by tuning the ignition timing (Depend tuning for ron 95 or ron 98),

so in all its abt 10-13 Hp gain, Figures differ depending on tuner, Happy Modding,

thanks for the details bro.. so cai is only gd if i get it straight into the throttle body? any workshop can do that? actually if dun have also nvm la.. i only see the hole very sian.. so wanna patch up with a cai funnel.. of course if it helps den good la.. if it doesn;t den i will juz put the funnel bah..

if you want to install CAI, you need experience mechanic to do a good job.

things like the layout and materials are very important.

want to do CAI, do a proper one and price must be secondary.

during hot sunny day, you cannot expect hot air in and turn into cold air to the engine.

CAI will feel significant difference during night or cooling day.

if you ask me, CAI will definitely work but most importantly, it is still your car performance holds the main factor.

if you want to install CAI, you need experience mechanic to do a good job.

things like the layout and materials are very important.

want to do CAI, do a proper one and price must be secondary.

during hot sunny day, you cannot expect hot air in and turn into cold air to the engine.

CAI will feel significant difference during night or cooling day.

if you ask me, CAI will definitely work but most importantly, it is still your car performance holds the main factor.

by your logic, you are very right, my car feels very sluggish during hot days but a different thing all together when the temperature drops.

hot days, power only comes in a high revs from like 3500 to 4000 onwards, else cool days just below 3000 can feel it.

so hot days drive is sibeh sian one, like pushing a chow turtle.

by your logic, you are very right, my car feels very sluggish during hot days but a different thing all together when the temperature drops.

hot days, power only comes in a high revs from like 3500 to 4000 onwards, else cool days just below 3000 can feel it.

so hot days drive is sibeh sian one, like pushing a chow turtle.

If thats the case, then your CAI may not be working well. Many people just put a big open pod filter in the engine bay sucking in 80+C air coming out from the radiator. Thats totally wrong.

A properly done up CAI has to take in cool air from outside the engine bay + all pipes properly insulated from the engine bay heat.

This is why stock configuration works best.