Imamiah Clutched July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 Hi bros, I am facing this scenaio. Anyone come across this before? Is this normal? Scenario - A lorry bang me from behind. I went to workshop. Workshop repair my ride. Ask me to pay access. Then they do 'own claim' followed by claiming against the lorry's insurer. My insurance renewal is coming up. My insurance said that my NCD drop from 50% to 20%. I would have to pay a higher premium 1st. Then after they successfully claim against the other insurer, they will revert my NCD to 50% and pay me back the additional amount that I paid. My questions - Is this the normal way of processing? I had never done a claim in 12 years of driving. If I don't renew and go to a new insurer, I would lugi right? Coz the new insurer can revert my NCD to 50% meh? Can anyone help me out here? Cheers~~ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leijasper 1st Gear July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 Hi bros, I am facing this scenaio. Anyone come across this before? Is this normal? Scenario - A lorry bang me from behind. I went to workshop. Workshop repair my ride. Ask me to pay access. Then they do 'own claim' followed by claiming against the lorry's insurer. My insurance renewal is coming up. My insurance said that my NCD drop from 50% to 20%. I would have to pay a higher premium 1st. Then after they successfully claim against the other insurer, they will revert my NCD to 50% and pay me back the additional amount that I paid. My questions - Is this the normal way of processing? I had never done a claim in 12 years of driving. If I don't renew and go to a new insurer, I would lugi right? Coz the new insurer can revert my NCD to 50% meh? Can anyone help me out here? Cheers~~ I Kenah b4.. But workshop nvr ask me pay any excess thou.. Upon renewal, I call back the insurance co explaining whole story.. Ask me pay 1st den later rebate.. I insist no.. U wan u recalculate den send me a new quote.. If not I'll change insurer nia.. Dat was wit aig couple of years back.. Car Juz reaching 1 yr at dat time.. So they recalculate n send me new quote wit my 10% ncd which I should receive :) perhaps u can do the same way too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 (edited) A couple of years ago, my car was hit behind by a taxi on CTE, in a chain collision. I sent to my insurance authorized workshop. Insurance also came down to assess damage. Workshop do all the repair and paper work and claim taxi insurance 100%. I didn't pay a cent. NCD still 50% upon renewal. Oh..it's the cheap insurance DA. Edited July 30, 2012 by Kb27 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imamiah Clutched July 30, 2012 Author Share July 30, 2012 Thanks man! Think I will try that. Will get other quotes too. Then threaten them. Ha! I Kenah b4.. But workshop nvr ask me pay any excess thou.. Upon renewal, I call back the insurance co explaining whole story.. Ask me pay 1st den later rebate.. I insist no.. U wan u recalculate den send me a new quote.. If not I'll change insurer nia.. Dat was wit aig couple of years back.. Car Juz reaching 1 yr at dat time.. So they recalculate n send me new quote wit my 10% ncd which I should receive :) perhaps u can do the same way too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 u can try, but getting another insurer will need them to release the NCD to the new one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 (edited) This is normal practice for claiming own policy Your workshop should have advice you on the odds. NCD will definately be reduced. I bought additional NCD protection so still not affected if no 2nd claim within policy year. Edited July 30, 2012 by 5936 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky61 1st Gear July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 how does this work out if the policy is 3rd party? say lorry bang u from behind, 100% sure win case, u send to workshop, they can't tell u to self claim first since its third party insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 u can try, but getting another insurer will need them to release the NCD to the new one what is there to release? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imamiah Clutched August 4, 2012 Author Share August 4, 2012 how does this work out if the policy is 3rd party? say lorry bang u from behind, 100% sure win case, u send to workshop, they can't tell u to self claim first since its third party insurance. that's what the workshop did leh. dont really know how things work. any brothers into insurance can advice? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simchuan86 Clutched August 10, 2012 Share August 10, 2012 PM you already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ril3k 1st Gear August 10, 2012 Share August 10, 2012 (edited) In short.. ur workshop CMI. Your workshop should have claimed 3rd party and you should not have to be out of pocket at all for rear end cases where u have almost 100% chance of claiming the other party. Probably your workshop get the $$ back slower via 3rd party claim versus claiming your policy that's why they do it that way. I wont go to that workshop again. What is their name? Since u already claimed your own insurance, you have to keep pestering the insurance company to complete the 3rd party claim so they can refund you the balance..i don’t think threatening them to you will change insurer will help much. Edited August 10, 2012 by Ril3k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pitpot Clutched August 10, 2012 Share August 10, 2012 I was bang twice from behind... Both time send to WS... I come up with $0 & the WS also didnt ask me for any $$... NCD was not affected... Was with MSIG previously... Your WS something wrong i think.... trying to make $$ here & there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear August 10, 2012 Share August 10, 2012 Never never make a claim against your own policy unless its the following. 1) Your fault...ie you bang pple back side. 2) Go back to authorised agent. Once you have made a claim against your policy also known as OD (Own Damage), even if you get your NCB reinstated, you will also get loading later cos you made a claim against your own policy. If pple bang your backside, insist that the workshop make a 3rd party claim. The workshop will usually ask you to sign a idemity form to cover them in case the 3rd party claim is not approved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 10, 2012 Share August 10, 2012 For 3rd party claim, can go to own w/s. State upfront that you don't want to fork out a single cent and do not want to claim against own policy. Can or not? You asked the w/s. If can, then proceed. Else, look somewhere else. As simple as this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear August 10, 2012 Share August 10, 2012 Never never make a claim against your own policy unless its the following. 1) Your fault...ie you bang pple back side. 2) Go back to authorised agent. Once you have made a claim against your policy also known as OD (Own Damage), even if you get your NCB reinstated, you will also get loading later cos you made a claim against your own policy. If pple bang your backside, insist that the workshop make a 3rd party claim. The workshop will usually ask you to sign a idemity form to cover them in case the 3rd party claim is not approved. Ok I was hit by a bike at the rear also claim own insurance and they will claim back my excess n the damages as promise. I believe it is because I got back to agent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 10, 2012 Share August 10, 2012 Hi bros, I am facing this scenaio. Anyone come across this before? Is this normal? Scenario - A lorry bang me from behind. I went to workshop. Workshop repair my ride. Ask me to pay access. Then they do 'own claim' followed by claiming against the lorry's insurer. My insurance renewal is coming up. My insurance said that my NCD drop from 50% to 20%. I would have to pay a higher premium 1st. Then after they successfully claim against the other insurer, they will revert my NCD to 50% and pay me back the additional amount that I paid. My questions - Is this the normal way of processing? I had never done a claim in 12 years of driving. If I don't renew and go to a new insurer, I would lugi right? Coz the new insurer can revert my NCD to 50% meh? Can anyone help me out here? Cheers~~ Sorry, my friend, you were taken for a ride. Your WS should have claimed against the other party's insurance and not touched your own policy. Did you use a proper WS approved by your insurer in the first place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaglim Neutral Newbie August 10, 2012 Share August 10, 2012 This is so strange. Why do they claim on you when you said the lorry hit you from behind? i do know from friends some cases where workshop is not confident of claiming against the other party hence do a self claim first prior to re-instating your payment and NCD. 1. Side collision 2. Other party under influence of alcohol 3. Your insurance not comprehensive 4. Other party has questionable insurance (eg. no valid insurance, deny the accident, etc) I suggestion you do a proper check. If none of the above, then there should be no reason for you to pay a single cent! workshop will handle everything for you, including giving you a replacement car-charge to the lorry insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear August 10, 2012 Share August 10, 2012 Hi bros, I am facing this scenaio. Anyone come across this before? Is this normal? Scenario - A lorry bang me from behind. I went to workshop. Workshop repair my ride. Ask me to pay access. Then they do 'own claim' followed by claiming against the lorry's insurer. My insurance renewal is coming up. My insurance said that my NCD drop from 50% to 20%. I would have to pay a higher premium 1st. Then after they successfully claim against the other insurer, they will revert my NCD to 50% and pay me back the additional amount that I paid. My questions - Is this the normal way of processing? I had never done a claim in 12 years of driving. If I don't renew and go to a new insurer, I would lugi right? Coz the new insurer can revert my NCD to 50% meh? Can anyone help me out here? Cheers~~ workshop is the panel of workshops as listed by the insurer? if yes, then you can tell the insurer of whats happening....if not, then abit problem....think the workshop trying to be funny.... people bang you, you claim them gao gao, and not claim ownself first and then wait for the unknown....all insurer will also boh chap and raise your premium high high....until they song song... there was once a van hit me, i straight away go report and told to wait before doing repairs...actually just light touch on my bumper nia...wait until the claim successful...but the van company called me to settle private, but too late.....just come touch up of black markings, plus one day replacement car, the van's insurer pay 700 plus...NCD and premium not affected at all ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...