MIA or Jump Aeroplane?

Liping24cn

Not sure his nationality. But if it's not reported, them most likely not local.

http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news..._in_France.html

A National University of Singapore (NUS) PhD student, Mr Cui Luchao, has been missing and unreachable in France for two weeks.

The PhD student from the Singapore-MIT Alliance (SMA) programme at the university was on a research attachment at the Institut de Chimie Moleculaire de I'Universite de Bourgogne (ICMUB) in Dijon, France, since May 4.

According to a report from The Straits Times, he had participated in the International Symposium on Homogeneous Catalysis in Toulouse from July 9 to July 13 as part of his attachment.

He was last seen by ICMUB staff at the symposium in Toulouse on July 12.

He was due to return to ICMUB in Dijon on July 14 to continue with his research.

However, he failed to show up and telephone calls made by ICMUB and SMA faculty to Mr Cui's mobile phone had gone unanswered.

Mr Cui was working on his doctorate in Chemical & Pharmaceutical Engineering.

He was then supposed to have returned to Singapore on July 29, but he failed to board his flight.

The newspaper reported that the missing student was caught on CCTV making a call on his mobile phone on July 17 within the Toulouse hostel grounds.

The Straits Times also reported that an NUS spokesman confirmed that a missing persons report had been filed in both France and Singapore.

SMA faculty and administrators are also working with the ICMUB team in Dijon, the French authorities, as well as the Chinese embassies in Singapore and France to locate Mr Cui.

The spokesman added that SMA faculty and administrators are in close contact with Mr Cui's family, and are providing them with the necessary assistance during this trying time.

Anyone with information on the whereabouts of Mr Cui can reach Ms Juliana Chai at the Singapore-MIT Alliance at NUS at (65) 6516 1347 or email [email protected].

Edited by Liping24cn

KNN, we become robert head again?????

I really very pissed now. Pay income tax and no GST ang pao for me. Then my money goes with this so called foreign talent.

never stated he is receiving any scholarship from Sg what... ? :huh:

status is foreign student went for attachment only.

Maybe he found a better French GF and decided to remain there?

Haha! French women like PRC women dun shave their arm pits

so maybe he feels very at home there in the bushes!

never stated he is receiving any scholarship from Sg what... ? :huh:

status is foreign student went for attachment only.

Almost all PhD students are on some kind of scholarship. It is not something you got money you can study. No so in Singapore. You choose the school, the school also choose you. So I believe he is on scholarship. Can any one verify this point?

most probably not jump aeroplane ....this guy is a Phd holder in some hign tech science faculty .... one of the top of his class at NTU....he has a bright future ahead, words will spread around the academic circle if he does anything stupid why risk it? if he is a construction worker then high chance jump aeroplane leow.

So why did he NOT contact his parents?

If his future is bright, then there is no reason to cause commotion by not informing even his parents n friends.

Maybe he just took the ferry to London to watch the Olympics. To support Tian Wei in ping pongs.

So this means he went AWOL. Need to deply our men to go catch him

A person can AWOL for 18months in Singapore already....what makes you think our men can find him easily worldwide?

For those travelling to Europe - best be careful.

With the economy in tatters, there are lots of desperate people out there. The earlier case with that guy in Greece is still unsolved. This case could end up the same way.

Chinese are easy targets for the larger ang mohs, and with our propensity to "flash the cash" - we are also seen as valuable targets.

dun think he run road lah...

he spend yrs in school.. even run road also after he get his cert. I dun think there is restriction for bond-bound individual from traveling oversea. So i dun think he will do that at this point in time.