13177 Hypersonic August 3, 2019 Share August 3, 2019 $254 for 5 years, so about $50 per year for piece of mind quite a good deal la. Their service is good for flat battery and flat tyre which could happen to any new or old car lo. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged August 3, 2019 Share August 3, 2019 I was a member previously. I stopped renewing when they started to charge extra for dolly/flatbed and another surcharge for towing from MSCP. Now it seems there's no surcharge for MSCP tow. dolly surcharge remains: Add-on fees of $64.20 are chargeable for non-standard tow which involves the use of a tow dolly or flatbed 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic August 3, 2019 Share August 3, 2019 Towing service is about 60 dollars. So if AA member, must tow every year at least once to breakeven! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 Good for dry dsg folks 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 AAS membership must be dropping. Now many shops offer battery, tyre change on the spot, you have to think about what many benefits you are likely to use, when you're paying for membership. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 AAS membership must be dropping. Now many shops offer battery, tyre change on the spot, you have to think about what many benefits you are likely to use, when you're paying for membership. U see the AAS Highway magazine, pics of members at AAS events seem to predominantly old unkers. Probably membership based dwindling coz many too old to drive liao AAS needs to modernise itself to be of value to younger car owners. Cheep cheep membership fees are not the sustainable way to go 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 membership confirmed plunging.. unker tow truck working there complain.. the only real benefit is towing service. The rest you got to spend to get benefit.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 AAS membership must be dropping. Now many shops offer battery, tyre change on the spot, you have to think about what many benefits you are likely to use, when you're paying for membership. Some people might just pay for the membership but did not utilise it. Reminds me like safra membership, paid liao but never use it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 Some people might just pay for the membership but did not utilise it. Reminds me like safra membership, paid liao but never use it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 I paid but i do hope that i never need to use should services.. just like Personal Accident Insurance.. you PAID but hope you don use True true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 Their battery service is not cheap. Last week, my friend VW golf battery died and he called AA as he’s a member. They wanted to charged him $255 for the battery. In the end, I help him jumpstart the car with the jumpstart kit and he drove to the shop I recommended. Paid only $160 for Amaron. Those battery for Start-Stop, EFB battery or something. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 membership confirmed plunging.. unker tow truck working there complain.. the only real benefit is towing service. The rest you got to spend to get benefit.. reciprocal service in other countries also useful, if drive often to Malaysia. Unfortunately AAM was reported to be facing financial issues and had difficulties running their daily operations. Not sure if they are in the clear now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 reciprocal service in other countries also useful, if drive often to Malaysia. Unfortunately AAM was reported to be facing financial issues and had difficulties running their daily operations. Not sure if they are in the clear now. Kaputing unfortunately .. and their recovery service a bit shady nowsaday 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 It is cheaper because you did not charge your friend and he drove it to the shop to change.The price of the battery is a lot cheaper liao. Obviously I won’t charge him as a friend ma, he’s staying next block to me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 Do they still have jackpot room after they moved out of RV? Could explain the dropping coffers if dun have. A member since 1997, i admit the usage is rare now. With cars more reliable nowadays, AAS have to transform itself. That said, their Drive Holidays are still hugely popular. Their battery service is not cheap. Last week, my friend VW golf battery died and he called AA as heâs a member. They wanted to charged him $255 for the battery. In the end, I help him jumpstart the car with the jumpstart kit and he drove to the shop I recommended. Paid only $160 for Amaron. Those battery for Start-Stop, EFB battery or something. To be fair, their higher prices come with 24 months on site warranty. Which is pretty attractive to me, cos in my whole driving life, my batteries have never exceeded 2 years Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 Do they still have jackpot room after they moved out of RV? Could explain the dropping coffers if dun have. A member since 1997, i admit the usage is rare now. With cars more reliable nowadays, AAS have to transform itself. That said, their Drive Holidays are still hugely popular. To be fair, their higher prices come with 24 months on site warranty. Which is pretty attractive to me, cos in my whole driving life, my batteries have never exceeded 2 years My friend told me 15 months warranty now only bro. Anyway, got flat tyre or battery msg me anytime. For you..hahaha. Towing bo pian, can’t help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 Their battery service is not cheap. Last week, my friend VW golf battery died and he called AA as he’s a member. They wanted to charged him $255 for the battery. In the end, I help him jumpstart the car with the jumpstart kit and he drove to the shop I recommended. Paid only $160 for Amaron. Those battery for Start-Stop, EFB battery or something. EFB battery (for stop start cars) is expensive. It's typically 50% more expensive than normal battery. Don't think the $160 Amaron is a EFB. You need to ask your friend to check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 4, 2019 Share August 4, 2019 (edited) EFB battery (for stop start cars) is expensive. It's typically 50% more expensive than normal battery. Don't think the $160 Amaron is a EFB. You need to ask your friend to check. It is bro, I was there with him. Battery stated EFB. Maybe special price for me...hahaha. Edited August 4, 2019 by Fcw75 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...