Porsche

Throttle2

Just sent my car for servicing.

Replaced brakes discs and pads and changed fluid and upgraded to steelbraids.

Replaced auto tranny fluid.

Changed engine oil, oil filter, and iridium sparks.

Expecting $3000++ bill shortly.............sigh....

Almost $4k gone as i didnt source my own parts this time due to convenience.

Would save easily $1k if i did....

Oh well...car runs smoothly superb and brakes better than before so i got no complains.

Almost $4k gone as i didnt source my own parts this time due to convenience.

Would save easily $1k if i did....

Oh well...car runs smoothly superb and brakes better than before so i got no complains.

Stuttgart allows u to bring your own parts for servicing?

This probably does not apply to majority of the porsche owners for their porsche. I need to get a infant car seat to fit into my panamera. Any recommendations? Good or not-so-great experiences with any brands? My panamera has ISOFIX so do also share if you have any issue with porsche ISOFIX. Many thanks and have a good day.

Edited by Panomatic

This probably does not apply to majority of the porsche owners for their porsche. I need to get a infant car seat to fit into my panamera. Any recommendations? Good or not-so-great experiences with any brands? My panamera has ISOFIX so do also share if you have any issue with porsche ISOFIX. Many thanks and have a good day.

Many infant car seats will fit.

You dont have to use isofix.

My 911 doesnt have isofix so i have a normal booster attached to seat belt.

For panamera, just get a child seat which will fit into the seat nicely.

Most childseats uses the carseat belt to secure , anyway...so no worries.

Thanks for the reply.

Panamera rear deats are kinda rounded and Stuttgart told me that I can get ISOFIX child seat for them. I do see the ISOFIX logo on the rear seat but I dont see that clips you normally see on ISOFIX seats for other makes (like bimmers). So kind of puzzle how the child seats are fixed into the ISOFIX and which model is better given the roundness of seats.

Thanks for the reply.

Panamera rear deats are kinda rounded and Stuttgart told me that I can get ISOFIX child seat for them. I do see the ISOFIX logo on the rear seat but I dont see that clips you normally see on ISOFIX seats for other makes (like bimmers). So kind of puzzle how the child seats are fixed into the ISOFIX and which model is better given the roundness of seats.

For what it is worth i am using an ISOFIX porsche child seat for my 991. For the 991, the clips are there but you have to remove the bolster at the base of the rear seat backrest to expose them. I suspect the set up may be the same for the panamera.

Ask you all ahh, where is the best place to go for maintenance of an air-cooled Porsche? And how about water-cooled?

Dun get excited, just asking....and thinking....and wondering...

Ask you all ahh, where is the best place to go for maintenance of an air-cooled Porsche? And how about water-cooled?

Dun get excited, just asking....and thinking....and wondering...

Depends on what you mean by "best"

Maintenance for every car is pretty much the same.

Just knowing the car better due to the number of times working on it as well as formally studying the engineering behind it.

If you are knowledgeable with your own car, you can go anywhere as long as the mech skills are sound.

Otherwise, go Stuttgart lor, $$chop$$chop$$

Heh heh

"Best" is subjective I know, but at least the mechs/workshops who are very familiar with the air-cooled models and don't *chopchopchop*, preferably those that don't try to bulls**t their customers.

QUOTE (Remus325 @ Oct 7 2012, 01:16 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Must be your driving style. Let me guess you must have been cruising on the expressway on lane 2 when that happened. To these cars you might look like a good car to bully. I hardly got poked when driving the 997 except one occasion by a crazy C63 on holland road. Then again I am typically at 100-120 on the right lane in expressways.Yes, my faultless impeccable driving style for 20yrs.Heh heh , in one of the instances, it was an expressway on lane 2 and the traffic was just nice for that speed. He wasn't looking to really overtake me , just trying to show me his small turbo prowess...he just had to be 0.5m ahead of me.You know what I mean , right? HeeeeeI think they just have inferiority complex lah. laugh.gif

Or he may b angry cos ur watch was too dazzling..... Hehe...(joking.....I still cannot find my Ecomo on my iPad!)

Well done, bro...no point in racing on singapore road. Only get trouble w t mata-mata or worse still get other cars dangerously involved inadvertently.

Sepang would b the proper place till the new Motor City in JB is ready.

"Best" is subjective I know, but at least the mechs/workshops who are very familiar with the air-cooled models and don't *chopchopchop*, preferably those that don't try to b-------t their customers.

FlatSix is known for servicing many air cooled Porsches 964s 993s.

But the aircooled engine is a "simple" one so i am sure most mechs can do.

Sorry cant help beyond this.

You wanna buy 993 ah?

Hooray!

Still in the thinking and considering stage lah.

Just considering options and researching the ownership experience.

Parts are quite easily sourced and not overly expensive.

But like all old vehicles, do expect some "attitude" from the car.

Generally very sound and reliable otherwise.

My personal classic fave is still the 993 although i have more driving expereince with the 964.

Problem is that being 20yrs old, there's not much life left to keep.

Why not go for a 997?

I may consider selling mine and you can be very sure that its a problem free ride......

Heh heh.

Forgot to mention...

With the older 964 and 993, take note of various conversions as it messes the parts.

Eg. A 993 modified to use a 964 part. Or a 964 modified to use a 993 part....