Amaron Battery

VellfireS

Er ....... no leh, car cam is a low power device lor, probably 1W or so lor.

These day, no many battery got water lor, all paste lor ...... cannot hydrometer loh.

That is the reason why battery don't last long lor, the water in paste go electrolysis'ed lor .....

I am tempting to pour some water into my Amaron when it is about to die.  See if can tahan a bit longer.

There is another way a battery can become "weak".

If you use car cam during parked, when your engine is not running, you're discharging the battery.

If left too long in a discharged state, you're creating sulphation.

Normally, the car alternator reverse the battery discharged state and charge the battery.

But if left too long in a discharged state, the alternator can't reverse the sulphation.

Essentially, the sulphate ions get stuck on the lead plate and does not return to the acid during charging.

So now, you have a weak acid (more watery) and thus a weak electrolyte.

The battery becomes sluggish and may have problem starting the engine.

The way to check the electrolyte is by using a hydrometer.

Amaron really lasting.

Mine lasts 2 years 7 mths before I decide to change.

Need to crank a few times before engine can start.

post-1829-0-97381100-1495085593_thumb.jpg

Amaron really lasting.

Mine lasts 2 years 7 mths before I decide to change.

Need to crank a few times before engine can start.

attachicon.gifIMG_7471.JPG

previously i was using din74  [thumbsup]

My Amaron lasted 3 years. No horse run.

No wonder their slogan is

Last long......really long.

Amaron also depends on "luck".

I had customers that use the battery for 4~5 yrs before it totally trashed. Not many brand can boast of this.

Some I changed at 2 yrs, the CCA is still close to new. It could easily last another year, maybe more.

Again, most other brands at 2 yrs, the CCA is very low, close to being dead.

If not, died on you on the roads.

But some Amarons doesn't do so well. 2 yrs and it's dead.

But min, it's always 2 yrs consistently.

Yep, the Amarons I have used have never last less than 2 years. Good stuff.

This one I changed today the CCA was already 200+. The new one was 600+.

Amaron Pro series are good. One incident that struck me was when my mech told me my battery was only 9v and I didn't noticed any difference when cranking the engine. The "Green" HiLife one can't last beyond 1 year for my case.

Amaron also depends on "luck".

I had customers that use the battery for 4~5 yrs before it totally trashed. Not many brand can boast of this.

Some I changed at 2 yrs, the CCA is still close to new. It could easily last another year, maybe more.

Again, most other brands at 2 yrs, the CCA is very low, close to being dead.

If not, died on you on the roads.

But some Amarons doesn't do so well. 2 yrs and it's dead.

But min, it's always 2 yrs consistently.

Thats right.  My current Amaron is over 2 years and still going strong.

I usually change my batts around the 2.5 year mark.  Prefer Amarons also but my previous mech only carried Philippines made Motolite.  Even this can last at least 2.5 years.

I always change batt together with tyres.  

Thats right.  My current Amaron is over 2 years and still going strong.

I usually change my batts around the 2.5 year mark.  Prefer Amarons also but my previous mech only carried Philippines made Motolite.  Even this can last at least 2.5 years.

I always change batt together with tyres.  

almost same as me, about 2.5 years change tyres and battery. 

-> Fcw75 Wow! Amaron 85D23 only $120 on Oct 2015?

I changed at Autoserv Sengkang Amaron 85D23L for $160 on Dec 2015, huge difference of $40, 33.3% more expensive but not very sure any difference between 85D23 and 85D23L?

The location of the positive post. Left side or right side

I changed 85D23L at Guan Lee on 13/3/17, price still at $120. 

There are 2 types.

85D23L - L = left

85D23R - R = right

The difference is the position of the positive and negative post.

Most cars are using L.

A few use R.

Amaron batteries are made to last..

Mine already 3.5 yrs old n voltage level still ard 13.9...

They are made for the harsh conditions in India

Edited by Freeder
  • Praise 13

Amaron batteries are made to last..

Mine already 3.5 yrs old n voltage level still ard 13.9...

They are made for the harsh conditions in Indiað

Unbelievable.....

13.9? That's probably when the alternator is charging.

Do check the CCA too.