Fuelsaver Supercharged November 23, 2012 Share November 23, 2012 Wouldnt that be great? Great for u, n hopefully me... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged November 23, 2012 Share November 23, 2012 like that will be good. would be perfect if 100% cash for new car. freaking road is too packed. Lidat forever only rich can play, n biz operator will close shop esp those small timer. Jap showroom that supported by low-mid to mid incomers may need to revert to sell used cars. Economy just can't be supported by rich rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 23, 2012 Share November 23, 2012 You say the rich won't benefit, only those with standby cash. I'm telling you - those with standby cash ARE the "rich". The net effect of any policy to make full payment in cash or similar for COE will drive down the price, while at the same time making it harder for the "average" person to get. There will be abundant case studies to prove this if you want to look into economic history. This effect is the opposite of what you are trying to achieve. Also, don't neccessarily believe that OMV will not motivate the "rich" to come dip their toes into B and B cars. They will. wah so easy to be consider RICH meh ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged November 23, 2012 Share November 23, 2012 I'd rather they don't allow people to take loans for cars. Better that way. Since car is not even a necessity in Sg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear November 23, 2012 Share November 23, 2012 Full payment in cash for COE just benefits the wealthy without any other benefits. It is the wealthy who can throw down full cash. So it will reduce the price of the COE at the same time as making it harder for the "average" citizen to buy one. Why would you want to do that? The price reduction is cosmetic only if you need an even higher income to be able to afford a COE. Hey why not? No money don't buy car lor. When you have the money then buy one. I hate retards who go like hey i got this new <insert whatever material item here> but only later do i find out that they bought it on installments. There is a retard in my office who earns only 600 a month but decides to do a $50 downpayment for his bike and has to cough out 300 monthly. It's just like if one can't afford to buy a Alienware computer, one is not gonna go like hey i need to pay by installments cos i don't have enough cash. Rather one will either get a cheaper laptop or give it a miss altogether. You work hard to earn money to buy that item without going through some stupid installment plan through a credit card. There are morons who do. Anyway back to your point, in the first place these people who "need an even higher income to be able to afford a COE" can't even afford one in the first place The fact that a person has to take a loan just to buy a car shows he can't afford it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear November 23, 2012 Share November 23, 2012 I'd rather they don't allow people to take loans for cars. Better that way. Since car is not even a necessity in Sg. Totally agree! Loans give people an artificial increase in spending power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear November 23, 2012 Share November 23, 2012 (edited) double post Edited November 23, 2012 by Fastfive1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 23, 2012 Share November 23, 2012 Wooooohooooo!!!! Great posts there!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jano Clutched November 23, 2012 Share November 23, 2012 suddenly it seem ok to have expensive cars in SG, 90k COE also nevermind if family income v high, 3pax also can get 3 cars. becoz there's no quota like for home??? The quota is indirectly for the vitamin M??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear November 23, 2012 Share November 23, 2012 suddenly it seem ok to have expensive cars in SG, 90k COE also nevermind if family income v high, 3pax also can get 3 cars. becoz there's no quota like for home??? The quota is indirectly for the vitamin M??? This is capitalism. Face it. We're a meritocracy. You want something you jolly well work hard for it. If you have the financial ability to purchase 3 cars, why not? It's your money after all and you are free to do whatever you want with it. There is a quota already in place. It's just a matter of whether you can afford to pay for 1 unit of that quota. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear November 24, 2012 Share November 24, 2012 based on your logic all spore imported stuff should be more ex than other countries since pay is high? simi logic imported car in msia is ex simply because 1. to protect msia made car ... unfair competition 2. you know i know who get the money for the "permit" to import car and this is not to curb congestion hor ... simply cash cow 3. weak myr currency especially for imports please get your facts right. in terms of china, the answer is very obvious isn't it? starts with C ... each level need to drink kopi and how many levels are there ... by the time reach consumer the price is at least multiply few times spore imported goods should be cheaper 1. free trade agreements 2. strong sgd currency 3. no red tapes ... you know ... must pay kopi in order to make things happen i am just talking interms of affordability with respect of how much a typical person makes. tax or no tax etc is another issue altogether and it is not within the control of the man on the street. Imagine if slyphy is selling for 190k here or an E class at 500k, what will the response be? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic November 24, 2012 Share November 24, 2012 (edited) response is simple ... willing seller willing buyer at this price still got people to buy means can buy coe $93k still got people buy car blame dealer or buyer? i am just talking interms of affordability with respect of how much a typical person makes. tax or no tax etc is another issue altogether and it is not within the control of the man on the street. Imagine if slyphy is selling for 190k here or an E class at 500k, what will the response be? Edited November 24, 2012 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Warthog Clutched November 24, 2012 Share November 24, 2012 COE reaching 100K. Traffic still Jam like crazy. Singaporeans love their cars and it is one of the great aspirations in life. That's why despite the high price tag, the rich are buying and the "poor" are stretching their loans to own it too. It is like drugs. You don't care about the price because you want it. (all those who can't afford it, have already dropped out from the new equation). There will be another group that will also drop out when the COE bust 100K. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic November 24, 2012 Share November 24, 2012 (edited) lambo/ferrari/porky/maserati buyers are not affected whether coe is $100k or $200k 5/7 series, e/s class, a6/8 ... bo taichi continue to buy ... minimal impact entry level 3-series/c-clas/a4 downgrade to toyota altis and kia optima japanese/koean buyer downgrade to used car used car buyer downgrade to older car new buyer ... take 10 years loan and service >$1200 per month the aspiration to own a car lives on .... dealer knew it very well and know how to push car out of showroom Edited November 24, 2012 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear November 24, 2012 Share November 24, 2012 (edited) response is simple ... willing seller willing buyer at this price still got people to buy means can buy coe $93k still got people buy car blame dealer or buyer? i agree... dont rely on govt to do anything. cannot afford? just too bad you arent making enough. dont lament, go work harder. i like what jim rohn said : It's not that it's too expensive, it's that you cannot afford it! Edited November 24, 2012 by Chrispie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Warthog Clutched November 24, 2012 Share November 24, 2012 We, the citizens of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one united people, regardless of COE, ERP or OMV, to build a democratic society based on justice and equality so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress for our nation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear November 30, 2012 Share November 30, 2012 (edited) Not happy with it , next round of votes , get more opposition into the the country. Talk here useless one , on average 1.5k of COE are "sold" at 70k per bidding. 105 million generated each time , let's count twice a month , 200 million or 2.4billion per year. Do it for 5 years 10 billion business. On top of that , COE and road tax , plus gst on sales on car. I am pretty sure our road works and "tree" planting doesn't cost us anything more than half of what is being paid. So what is the rest used to pay for? It is used to pay overly paid prices to millionaire ministers which play pencil pushing and takes a long time to take care of something. Nothing has being done to improve our road systems , many has being proposing the "decentralisation" of CBD yet nothing has being done. Just look at how long it took for SMRT to react , strikes are illegal since last time , all the offenders are always punished , nowadays even if strike , nothing happens? Has our garmen gone so weak? Edited November 30, 2012 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinobros 2nd Gear November 30, 2012 Share November 30, 2012 Based on your comments, I believe that you are leading a very comfortable life. However do note that our economy is dependent on spending (both from the rich and poor) and every dollar spend will have a impact due to the multiplier effect. I believe that there will be portion of your income (active or passive) which comes from the less affluent either directly or indirectly. Retards is not a very appropriate word to use. Anyway, if there is no installment or mortgage loan, consumption will drop, people will be homeless. Only the elite in SG can afford cars and if there are only 100k cars on the road instead of 1M cars on the road. Would the tax be able to support the road network? Maybe not. Hey why not? No money don't buy car lor. When you have the money then buy one. I hate retards who go like hey i got this new <insert whatever material item here> but only later do i find out that they bought it on installments. There is a retard in my office who earns only 600 a month but decides to do a $50 downpayment for his bike and has to cough out 300 monthly. It's just like if one can't afford to buy a Alienware computer, one is not gonna go like hey i need to pay by installments cos i don't have enough cash. Rather one will either get a cheaper laptop or give it a miss altogether. You work hard to earn money to buy that item without going through some stupid installment plan through a credit card. There are morons who do. Anyway back to your point, in the first place these people who "need an even higher income to be able to afford a COE" can't even afford one in the first place The fact that a person has to take a loan just to buy a car shows he can't afford it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...