Politicians need a "Code of Conduct"

Ahtong

Thanks to YSL's ballessness and MIW's excessive gloating earlier this year, WP took drastic actions which set the bar very high. Now MIW have to fall on their own sword.

To prevent future circuses and waste of taxpayer monies on BE, I think politicians should have a gentlemen's "Code of Conduct".

By Code of Conduct, I don't mean a set of standards to govern their morals. Rather, I am talking about a list of personal lapse of judgement that will not be politicized.

So for example if the media reports that yet another MP is having an affair, just have the guy explain the situation for transparancy and then carry on with business.

Honestly speaking, adultery is a highly personal and complex issue that in itself is not a sackable offence. Bill Clinton was a tiko and a good President.

If we are going to demand exceptionally high moral standards from office bearers, we are going to have BE every other year, and I think it is a waste of time that only excites internet trolls.

Opinions?

How to expect public office holders to come clean with their secret affairs and then carry on with their business ? Don't think they can hold their head high anymore. Who will vote for a married MP having an affair with another married woman ? People will always demand MPs to set a high moral example of themselves. Confession will only satisfy the gossipers and head hunters.

Code of conduct surely must have, but should be implied and expected.

Edited by Vextan

Besides, if they are so stupid as to get caught publicly, how much can we trust them with state secrets and sensitive information.

Also, if you are having an affair, you are very open to blackmail, which is not a good position for a politician to be in.

Besides, if they are so stupid as to get caught publicly, how much can we trust them with state secrets and sensitive information.

Also, if you are having an affair, you are very open to blackmail, which is not a good position for a politician to be in.

i think Singapore is the only place where people are not forgiving for the politician to have an affair -_-

not to mention clinton, or other PM, Presidents of other countries, even the neighboring countries where politician was caught in hidden video is till active and doing fine :D

What makes you think there isn't one already? During LKY's reign there were also MP/ministers caught in corruption and extra-marrital affairs. Some were even jailed. Extra-marrital affair one I think was a former Malay minister, I can't recall the name. It's nothing new IMO, amongst men there are sure to have some black sheeps. Even the old Chinese got a saying,"Even a hero cannot resist the temptation of a beautiful woman". When it comes to money, who dun like money?

Code of conduct.... When $1B is to be given to transportation... now LTY wants to increase commuters' fare... still wanna squeeze some more. I think this mental conduct of our government has to change first.

Thanks to YSL's ballessness and MIW's excessive gloating earlier this year, WP took drastic actions which set the bar very high. Now MIW have to fall on their own sword.

To prevent future circuses and waste of taxpayer monies on BE, I think politicians should have a gentlemen's "Code of Conduct".

By Code of Conduct, I don't mean a set of standards to govern their morals. Rather, I am talking about a list of personal lapse of judgement that will not be politicized.

So for example if the media reports that yet another MP is having an affair, just have the guy explain the situation for transparancy and then carry on with business.

Honestly speaking, adultery is a highly personal and complex issue that in itself is not a sackable offence. Bill Clinton was a tiko and a good President.

If we are going to demand exceptionally high moral standards from office bearers, we are going to have BE every other year, and I think it is a waste of time that only excites internet trolls.

Opinions?

No la, where got BE every year. If the affected politician is a member of parliament in a GRC, then no BE will be held. Majority of our wards is GRC and not SMC. It just so happens this year the two cases happened exceptionally in SMCs.

affiar also wrong (never declare b4 hand)

postitute also wrong (never check IC)

surf porn also wrong (never delete)

go temple recruit MP easier, i say.

Just for trivia:

Clinton and JFK = Tiko peh

FDR = Kept a lover

Eisenhower = Had affair with chauffer

Churchill = Alcohol + substance abuse

If we have Taliban standards of morality, only Taliban members can enter parliament next time.

go temple recruit MP easier, i say.

Unfortunately, even monks have been known to visit KTV, misuse funds and keep boy lovers. :ph34r:

Opinions?

America is a society which isn't influenced by Confucian values, thus Clinton's adultery doesn't affect him that much.

In Singapore, all this is a no-no. Once you got caught, you lose all credibility immediately. This explains why PAP is so swift with their damage control initiatives.

it's a political game lah

moral issue, code of conduct = credibility

everyone has their own opinion... in YSL and MP saga, i'm sure some (or many) have lost faith in them, thus their respective parties will not want to risk the votes

likewise, how will the people think if a minister or MP goes to casino and gamble tens of thousands in a night? or goes to Geylang call a pro?

or throw a private sex party at home?

all these are their own businesses and it's not against the law

imo, i will not vote for them if they do any of the above... even though I'm not of the highest moral standard myself

It was not that Clinton's transgressions did not affect it but he was impeached for some of his conduct. So one cannot say that it did not affect him at all.

As for PAP, the reason most people are critical of them is because they sell themselves as this moral authority while always judging others from their high horse.

Back to the topic, a code of conduct is a definite but who is to enforce it? An independent party? Everyone will end up "you scratch my back and I'll scratch yours".....

Edited by Nonpareil

America is a society which isn't influenced by Confucian values, thus Clinton's adultery doesn't affect him that much.

In Singapore, all this is a no-no. Once you got caught, you lose all credibility immediately. This explains why PAP is so swift with their damage control initiatives.

you mean asian got confucian value? a lot of similar cases happen in asian countries hor -_-