Forester 2.5XT suspension & noise

Carmour

Hi guys, I just got a 2008 Forester 2.5XT.

Main dislike I have in priority is that :

- gap between tyres & wheels look too wide (current on stock 17" rims & tyres)

- cabin is too noisy, mainly road noise & wind

- too much body roll

Any recommendations on not too expensive ways to resolve the above?

- too much body roll

1)

lowering springs on non-SLS absorbers.

use wrx abosrbers (but rear will sag)

coilovers

2) need to be more specific. But forester's sound insulation is poor.

3) rear anti-roll bar upgrade. works wonders on the forester.

u'll get more details on a subaru or forester forum.

i also just got a 07 forester 2.5T.

you can try 18" rims and lower your suspension the gap is not so obvious.

but be prepared for stiffer ride as the suspension is hard, but less body roll, my corners improved with less rolls.

- too much body roll

bro when u buy a suv u must perpare for that lah. u can change to a sport tune car with low supension and nt much body roll. dun waste money change your supension. iy look funny cause it look like half suv and car.

i also just got a 07 forester 2.5T.

you can try 18" rims and lower your suspension the gap is not so obvious.

but be prepared for stiffer ride as the suspension is hard, but less body roll, my corners improved with less rolls.

I drove a friend's one once.. With 18's too.. stiff suspension.. running on Michelin Pilot Preceda.. Well.. despite suspension soft.. the ride.. POWER.. :wub::wub:

Well, it is a SUV, the noise and body roll can be mitigated but you can't make it behave like a sedan (heard some high end one drives as good as their sedan equivalent but I have my reservations, dollar for dollar wise). Learn to live with the Forester and if you don't like it after a while, sell it. You already spend so much on a ride, so why drive something you don't like. I made the same mistake buying a new MPV many years ago, everyday sibei moody when I get behind the wheels, I took a loss and sold it, bought a pre owned and I was never happier driving a used car. I now know exactly what I want in my ride.

The car was a little of an impulsive buy, but not to say that I regret it.

The dislikes I have are not really high up the scale.

From the above, I gather that I have to

- change to 18" rims (to decrease the gap)

- lower the suspension (decrease the gap and less body roll)

- get rear anti-roll bar (less body roll)

Bro chickenmob, how and where did you lower your suspension?

Bro JohnSHL, your words quite chim. I don't understand. Can elaborate?

Refering to this :

"lowering springs on non-SLS absorbers.

use wrx abosrbers (but rear will sag)

coilovers"

Carmour, what John meant is this:

1) Stock Forester rear shocks are self levelling. You got to change out the shocks to non self levelling ones and then change to lowering aftermarket springs to close the gap between tyres and arch

2) WRX shock absorbers will lower the overall height but the rear will sag more compared to the front (assuming all 4 shocks are changed to WRX ones)

3) Coilovers. They are height adjustable means you can determine how high or how low you want the car to be. Coilovers are also stiffer so some ride comfort is compromised. The world is your oyster so you can search on what coilovers are available depending on your budget.

Your FXT is a good car so if you want more information, can always join the Facebook forum like what John suggested.

Looking for a cheap fix to lower the ride plus improve handling.

So thinking of doing :

1) Lowering spring

2) Front anti-roll bar

Any comments on this set-up?

Does it give me max improvement for least amount of spending?

My budget is $1K nia.

i am looking at changing back to stock suspensions but mine is the 07 2.5XT currently now on lowered suspension not sure if its the same.

i be in and out of Malaysia ,not used to my ride being too low if you are interested to exchange we can check it out.

Same thing for me bought on impluse after that the ride too low cannot get used to it. you can PM if interested.

Consider changing your tire to a quiet tire. Is it a SUV type size? If yes, your choice is rather limited but I have personally used Kumho KL51 for my SUV and find it much quieter than the stock Bridgestone tires. Furthermore it is inexpensive.

If the tire size of the Forrester is a regular passenger car tire, then your option for a quiet tire increases. Everyone knows that the Yoko Aspec DB is quiet but poor in wet performance.

Bro ChickenMob. 2007 don't have Forester 2.5XT. Likely yours is the Subaru Forester 2.5T.

Does the lower suspension make your ride more bouncy?

i am looking at changing back to stock suspensions but mine is the 07 2.5XT currently now on lowered suspension not sure if its the same.

i be in and out of Malaysia ,not used to my ride being too low if you are interested to exchange we can check it out.

Same thing for me bought on impluse after that the ride too low cannot get used to it. you can PM if interested.