Jtay 1st Gear January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 For those who have kids, they'll tell you that it's not worth it! Me, included. Couple days more of leave does not make up for the burden and sacrifices required to bring up children! Those who are mentally prepared already, the extra benefits are nice, but it does not make the decision for them. For those who have decided not to have children, the benefits are too little to change their minds. Giving more tax relief throughout the growing up years of the child will be welcomed though! Come on, no amt of leave can compensate for the sacrifices req to bring up children. If anyone wants to have kids without sacrificing anything, it's wishful thinking. The benefits that they just announced are certainly useful, and the paternity leave is a step in the right direction in acknowledging that husbands have to share the burden as well ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swifter78 2nd Gear January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 "First-timer married couples with children will be given priority allocation for their HDB flats by setting aside a proportion of flats for them." abit salah leh. thats not how our people does thing right? where got children come out already, then go around looking for HDB. For those staying with parents. Minority of them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 but i may be wrong la. cos i based it on my surrounding people's action only. (btw, i have a new HDB flat already) so this policy will benefit me, for 2nd time purchase of new units ? tats a good 5 yrs later story. yeah lor.. they should reserve some for us who want to upgrade due to bigger family size Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 how is that a policy flaw? zheng hoo is saying dont worry about house, just karh karh hoot first, flat sure will cum later Slogan: Hoot it raw!!! Hoot it right!!! KArh Karh Hoot ah!!! in short.. they are saying.. hoot raw.. cum raw... tio liao.. house come. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 This is just wrong. They think ppl are gian png and start having children by dishing out more incentives. The fundamental reason why couples dun want to have children is the high costs and high standard of living. Why not focus on that? They go follow those developed welfare country and give paternity leave. Ppl already receiving welfare nothing left to give that's why give leave. Give sgp couples leave no use wan lah. Any guys here can just walk away from your work for 6 days? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 This is just wrong. They think ppl are gian png and start having children by dishing out more incentives. The fundamental reason why couples dun want to have children is the high costs and high standard of living. Why not focus on that? They go follow those developed welfare country and give paternity leave. Ppl already receiving welfare nothing left to give that's why give leave. Give sgp couples leave no use wan lah. Any guys here can just walk away from your work for 6 days? how can this be wrong? (am not sure) is the objective of the policy to increase population replacement ratio from 1.2 to 1.8 in 5 yrs time ? or is just to help those already with kids, or keen to have kids but lack the final push? i am quite grateful to this news honestly. for that lat 1% who die die wont' want kids, no amt of $$ can change that la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 This is just wrong. They think ppl are gian png and start having children by dishing out more incentives. The fundamental reason why couples dun want to have children is the high costs and high standard of living. Why not focus on that? They go follow those developed welfare country and give paternity leave. Ppl already receiving welfare nothing left to give that's why give leave. Give sgp couples leave no use wan lah. Any guys here can just walk away from your work for 6 days? Because ppl giving feedback are asking for more leave for father mah. if not you think they want to give meh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 in short.. they are saying.. hoot raw.. cum raw... tio liao.. house come. yeah yeah!!!! hoot ah!!!! woo hoo!!!! i love raw!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaolow 4th Gear January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 Hmmmm.....my kids are 6 & 10 this year. Does that meant 6 childcare days for child age 1-7. Plus 2 childcare days for child age 7-12 ? Total annually is 8 days ? Nope..max is still 6 days and base on the youngest child age.. http://www.ecitizen.gov.sg/Topics/Pages/Ch...w-to-apply.aspx anyway..no need be so happy...it dose not encourage ppl to give birth ..main concern is still standard of living and cost of bring up kids and childcare center fee.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 Full details here including dates which the measures will be effective http://www.heybaby.sg/summaryofmeasures.html For the key part which is baby bonus of 6k for 1st & 2nd child / 8k for third and beyond, the effective date is backdated to 26 Aug 2012. So if your child is born on or after 26 Aug 2012, you will get the additional 2k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 one week of leave is peanuts.... What can a father do in one week for the baby? I always advocate for at least 1 month paid leave. can be staggered or break the one month up into days or weeks. be as flexible as possible. Nowadays, men and women are almost equal economically. Companies are no longer ruled by men alone. Women play a part in running a company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 (edited) one week of leave is peanuts.... if you earn $5K a month, assuming 20 work days in January, thats $1,250 (as if you strike 4D, $5 big starter) What can a father do in one week for the baby? one week paid, he happy can always apply 3 more weeks of AL I always advocate for at least 1 month paid leave. can be staggered or break the one month up into days or weeks. be as flexible as possible. Tell your MP to read it in the next parliament session can? Nowadays, men and women are almost equal economically. Companies are no longer ruled by men alone. Women play a part in running a company. eh? ok... so ? should be the same everywhere right? (already the company is without the lady manager for 4 months, now the male manager is away for a week. never think of how the boss will think?) bro your whole post are filled with complains. Edited January 21, 2013 by Sk65 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 All these initiative come with good intention, but personally, i feel that it takes more than the carrot of monet and leave to entice couples to take the "sacrifice". The absence of work life balance could be something more meaningful to look into. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 both my kids above 18 yrs. can still get PL ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bandotcom Neutral Newbie January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 Paternity Leave & Childcare Leave are banefited to those younger families only. I wished someone can bring up the issue of "Parents Care Leave". Working couples who over 40s already with grown up children in Singapore are facing shortage of Annual Leave due to accompany their sick parents to hospital for medical appointment or medical review. May be can suggest, working couples with parents above 60s are entitle for this 'Parents Care Leave". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 Nope..max is still 6 days and base on the youngest child age.. Yup...it means if child under 7 years old gets 6 days leave. If over 7 but under 12 gets 2 days. Chey...like that where got good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 useless to me.... i'm entitle to 6 day childcare leave, and 21 days annual leave... guess what, last year 21days balance im bringing over to this year not considering 6days voided from 2011.. so, i know this year im not able to clear 21+21+6 for sure .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 21, 2013 Share January 21, 2013 bro your whole post are filled with complains. with such thinkings, we can never be a 1st world class country. it's very sad.......... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...