Sim Lim Square

Forte3737

But then how, if clamp too much then gahmen kena blame to chup too much and become nanny state.

Just clamp down on wp, tiagong their simi grc run like crap like that

Let yang yin and hand phone shop roam free

Like that is bestest

cannot like that say lah, white paper black words signed liao and poster big big on the blacklist if he still walk in.

I guess the law and order still need to be maintained, if the police dun follow order of the law, the implication will spread to various businesses which would be even more difficult to deal with.

unless they set up a separate arbitration office in SLS to resolve and given power to enforce on the spot, i dun think they would escalating to that level for small dispute like this.

Why can't the govt just stop them from operating?

Take away their business license lah

Seems these guys know the loopholes quite well, and have a modus operand that is "well oiled". They entice the victims with an attractive price, then make the victims sign a contract to legally lock their $$$ in with questionable terms and conditions. However, it is likely some of the victim could challenge the contract in court, especially if they signed them unknowingly of the contract drafted in a language they cannot read. Problem is the victim has to go through the whole legal process, whether small claims tribunal or hiring a lawyer, which can takes months and $$$$$. Few tourists will want to go through the entire process.

Regular cash transaction should not require any signing of any contract. There are no credit or follow-up services involved, warranty should be provided by manufacturer, or there is no warranty. 一手交錢一手交貨 - anything different should raise an alarm.

Many SLS shops other than those on the list like to tell you to pay first, while they go and collect the stock from another location. With this shops, always refuse to pay until you see and inspect the goods. No need to rush. These tactics likely work better with people rushing to buy iPhone, iPad.

Since got loophole, the govt should plug it?

Don't just send simi case

Do some real action

Can ban simi seesha smoking, can shut these bad guys down? I don't believe

It's disgraceful or even embarrassing that when polis say they can't do anything when it's obvious that the public is being cheated.

If this happened to us as tourist in some 3rd world country, one might conclude that the polis there is in cahoots wif the scammers.......

But, but this happen in Singapore, what might one conclude then about our police?

cannot like that say lah, white paper black words signed liao and poster big big on the blacklist if he still walk in.

I guess the law and order still need to be maintained, if the police dun follow order of the law, the implication will spread to various businesses which would be even more difficult to deal with.

unless they set up a separate arbitration office in SLS to resolve and given power to enforce on the spot, i dun think they would escalating to that level for small dispute like this.

Y cannot liddat say.... we attract tourists but English might not be a language known to them. So we adopted an Ass-u-ming stand that they know how to read. Seems we put ourselves in this position.

But, but this happen in Singapore, what might one conclude then about our police?

i aint know but this guy's expression say it all

20141104_sls_zaobao.jpg

I guess the impact could be wider ? How do you gauge if the contract signed is not just a regular mutual agreement ? How to prevent people walking away from a contract ?

Personally, I think these consumer contracts should not be allowed in the first place without an option to refund / return within a reasonable time. This should also apply to those contracts that big vendors make you sign without a recourse.

simi contract?

just show this guy down lah

rast time people invent car as a great way to move around

now got one siao kia like to take mx5 flip car kill sales rep

so we should ban cars?

or should we just take way this siao kia licence?

now, what so difficult about taking away this joker's business licence?

acra cant do that?

I don't remember where I read this... or who said it here in SG... it was in the late 80s. It was said that the laws were draconian and was strictly enforced...

That's because only when you enforce the smallest infraction strictly... will the people think twice about violating larger laws.

See the recent sentencing on various cases. Most of them are a light slap in the wrists and fines. Not tough enough if you ask me.

Edited by ins1dious

Y cannot liddat say.... we attract tourists but English might not be a language known to them. So we adopted an Ass-u-ming stand that they know how to read. Seems we put ourselves in this position.

if that is a international language, otherwise you have to translate into 101 language when some people claim victim.

If the whole saga only limited to these few malls, then at least it has narrowed down. Unless the management of the malls come to agreement of all their tenants must provide 3 days cooling period and no-questions asked return/refund policy (which i doubt so), they will then gain the confident of the shoppers again.

as much as i hate the scumbags in SLS, the public must outsmart the con man to win this. The media is taking this opportunity to make the recent cases big to generate more talking point among the public. Now SLS is like a circus when people go there to point finger at the scumbag, hopefully they disappear one day.

It's a simple solution -

Have a law for consumer's right to refund. If for any reason that the customer is unhappy with a purchase, he can ask for a refund for a product up to a period of, say, 7 days, provided that the product is unused and still in its packaging.

I don't remember where I read this... or who said it here in SG... it was in the late 80s. It was said that the laws were draconian and was strictly enforced...

That's because only when you enforce the smallest infraction strictly... will the people think twice about violating larger laws.

See the recent sentencing on various cases. Most of them are a light slap in the wrists and fines. Not tough enough if you ask me.

last time, you long hair only, you can be sure that police will be knocking on your door

if tatoo, boy oh boy, sure lim kopi with cid people

now is can cheat, cheat

i really wish Govt take strong measures

I believe many shops and licenses have been taken away before no ? These scums just open a new shop with a new registered owner, new name, etc.

They were able to make most of the pirated VCD shops close down, they should do the same for these scum shops by making these practices illegal under Consumer Protection Act. Your MP can help push for changes to the act.

open new one? close the new one lor

i get the feeling that last time the polce was more effective

all the pirate vcd kena sweep clean clean

It's a simple solution -

Have a law for consumer's right to refund. If for any reason that the customer is unhappy with a purchase, he can ask for a refund for a product up to a period of, say, 7 days, provided that the product is unused and still in its packaging.

wait refund with 1c coin [sly]

Exactly, this is a simple solution I have proposed too. There must be a way to walk out of a purchase agreement, that is fair to both buyer and seller. Unused, unopened, why cannot refund ?

hey!!! you are right!!! [thumbsup]

this could be the solution!!!! [thumbsup]

you are really got study one [thumbsup]

open new one? close the new one lor

i get the feeling that last time the polce was more effective

all the pirate vcd kena sweep clean clean

not that the pirate vcd got sweep clean clean, cos the pirate are now more high tech, we all are -_--_-

Woah SMRT Ltd dam powerful CSI.

that joker should join cia, kgb [grin]

not that the pirate vcd got sweep clean clean, cos the pirate are now more high tech, we all are -_--_-

dont picha my lobang leh [laugh]

https://www.facebook.com/smrtsg

Send some love to Jover Chew here:
Jover Chew (NRIC: S8213777G)
D.O.B: 19/05/1982
Blk 257 Ang Mo Kio Ave 4 #12-71 Singapore 560257

Mobile Phone: 96550080 / 98500422
Email: [email protected]

Jover's Wife: Winnie Chew (https://www.facebook.com/winnie.koh.52?fref=ts)
Jover's 2nd Shop: J2 Mobile
http://j2mobile.com.sg/
https://www.facebook.com/j2mobile

Edited @ 4th Nov 14:
Pizza Hut, & Mcdonald's Singapore just received an a large order for 50pax to be delivered to Mobile Air Sim Lim Square. Jover Chew could use those coins to pay them. Cash on delivery mah?