Tjkbeluga 5th Gear June 18, 2013 Share June 18, 2013 I think this is one of the best comments in this thread. Without localized product differentiation, we can always argued it is a globalised city and we embraced what is best and morphed accordingly. But deep down and if we think further, it has no soul. A spirit without roots will just sway and try to stay afloat. I think this is hardly what the first generation nation builders envision this to be. I don't think that the locals are incapable of selling unique products. The question is the demand. Got people buy? - Rental is high - Locals are internet savvy - Market is small If you have the money to invest, you have the balls to setup one? Safer bet is still food industry, compare to other types of retail biz, though I know food biz has other set of problems... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oblong 3rd Gear June 18, 2013 Share June 18, 2013 (edited) Not really just about selling, but the whole idea of consumption, building and uprooting. Rem Koolhaas (a very good architect and a respected thinker) had some very piercing comments in his Edited June 18, 2013 by Oblong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear June 20, 2013 Share June 20, 2013 Haha naise. But nowadays the malls oso damn sian alr. havent stepped in there for quite a few years... so bad? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear June 20, 2013 Share June 20, 2013 Not really just about selling, but the whole idea of consumption, building and uprooting. Rem Koolhaas (a very good architect and a respected thinker) had some very piercing comments in his Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oblong 3rd Gear June 20, 2013 Share June 20, 2013 Not directly answering your questions but the following are interesting thoughts on the compromise between market forces and passion, identity, history PS: I do think the current hot topic will be haze issue though :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear June 21, 2013 Share June 21, 2013 Not directly answering your questions but the following are interesting thoughts on the compromise between market forces and passion, identity, history PS: I do think the current hot topic will be haze issue though :) Over-regulation vs free-for-all, both equally bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 5, 2013 Author Share December 5, 2013 Singapore mall Westgate opens in Jurong East Saturday, Nov 30, 2013 With shopping malls like JCube and Jem opening at Jurong East, the addition of Westgate will make this area the Orchard Road of the West. The premier family and lifestyle mall Westgate will be opening its doors to shoppers on Monday, December 2, 2013, offering fashion, lifestyle and food and beverage brands originally exclusive to shopping malls in Orchard Road. Hardcore shoppers who live in the West will be elated to know that fashion labels like Kate Spade Saturday, AIX Armani Exchange, Pandora, Sacoor Brothers and more will be opening at Westgate. For beauty junkies, French cosmetic brands Yves Rocher and L'Occitane will be opening at Westgate as well, so you do not have to travel all the way to town just to get your favourite cosmetics and beauty products. Food will also be a huge part of the new mall opening at Jurong East. For those who love Japanese cuisine, 30 percent of the F&B stores at Westgate are Japanese restaurants, including Osaka Ohsho, Tonkatsu Ma Maison, Ippudo, Robata Robata, and even the Japanese supermarket Isetan. To add to the hype, Borders bookstore will finally be returning to Singapore, opening a 8,000 square feet store on the fourth level of the mall. Pop-up stores showcasing Singapore labels like The Emporium, Awol, Womb and online shop Modajar and more will also be featured for a limited period of time as well, so you do not want to miss shopping at these well-known local brands. With all these stores and eateries set to open at Westgate, you do not need to travel to town just to experience city lifestyle and shopping. A fair, performances and huge discounts will be marking the opening of Westgate, so head down to the mall on December 2, 2013, to catch all the exciting activities. Westgate is located at 2 Gateway Drive, Jurong East and will be opening on Monday, December 2, 2013. if you are worried about JEM, go next door Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 Huat ah... We are going to see more empty mall in the future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 Huat ah... We are going to see more empty mall in the future. dont worry, got 6.9M Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 dont worry, got 6.9M If crisis really come as many predicted. 6.9milion will take a longer period Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 wish yishun has a mall with daiso. And maybe ikea can open another branch haha... After moving in my place recently, the place i only want to go to is daiso. Cos still need to buy a lot of small things around the house. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 If crisis really come as many predicted. 6.9milion will take a longer period lagi dont worry, we got steady hands Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 lagi dont worry, we got steady hands TBF, I like his silk white hair. Look like my fav fast food.🙊 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 The opening date for Cathay at JEM from first half of Nov change to 2nd half, now change to Dec. From got lights on to now, lights all off. No idea when they gam-wan to open. Despite all the malls at that area, there's one thing it distinctly lacks - a pub, not those KTV pubs, but those decently stocked ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 No bowling alley..this wil be a good place for family fun. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...