Bystander50 5th Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 you sure those cleaner got 1.5k each month in the market? Give those people some discounts mah, divide out still got few cents. If take real income, maybe after divide out, the real savings only less than a quarter of a cent per customer. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 the next smart alex will increased all the food price by S$1. When you return the try/bowl/plate, they will refund you the S$1 There are always 101 ways to counter each other. If $1 is added for the tray/bowl/plate, then what's there to stop the customer from taking them away? End up, the hawker runs out of bowls/plates to serve and he himself is at the losing end. No wonder Singa gotta resign or retire for good, our society here has already been such that no campaigns can educate the people to do things willingly. Only money keeps things going. Anyway, the foodcourts or ENV are collecting so much in rental, why can't they dish out a % for the clearing of tables? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 It's not so much the notion of "good" or "bad" jobs that I'm really aiming at. I just find it sad that when we have paid our dues and we are in our twilight years, we STILL have to slog just to stay alive. To me that's just completely out of whack. I'd rather a society where: - Youngsters, fresh out of school, work these 'menial' jobs to toughen up and learn about hard work. This also eases the supply crunch. - Armed with working skills and the mentality of being able to cope with hard and tough work, they should go out and earn a decent proper wage to not just survive but also save up for retirement (this is where Singapore has gone badly wrong, and needs desperate rectifying through improved wage policies) - Therefore, when you hit 65, you can safely retire with your nest egg earned through your hard work through the years. Makes sense, no? Totally agree with the points you have made Sorry i have somewhat misinterpreted your previous post as i was looking at how kids, if without parents' inputs, can have a class-blind way of looking at jobs. A lots of kids today are pampered unnecessarily, 'thanks' to over-caring parents, so much so that they expect life to be a smooth path. Softening of training / discipline by SAF in NS doesnt have also. Starting from the bottom and then progress through the rank and file actually can help youngsters get a true sense of reality. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 There are always 101 ways to counter each other. If $1 is added for the tray/bowl/plate, then what's there to stop the customer from taking them away? End up, the hawker runs out of bowls/plates to serve and he himself is at the losing end. No wonder Singa gotta resign or retire for good, our society here has already been such that no campaigns can educate the people to do things willingly. Only money keeps things going. Anyway, the foodcourts or ENV are collecting so much in rental, why can't they dish out a % for the clearing of tables? Most foodcourts pay rents to building owners/REITs. thats where the money goes to the latters couldnt be bothered with cleanliness.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 Now NS where got wash tray? Return tray only. Even when returning, the aunties will quickly run over and grab your trays over. Now, peng kia sibei good life. Wrong lo, you go oversea training must wash own tray one lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 COIN TRAY? wat a joke. The most I bring the entire tray home and then dig using screw driver and then discard it after retrieving my coin. Ppl can also go round stealing un-return tray and then go behind the scene to dig out the coin. if ppl can push NTUC trolley all the way home, dig the coin and left the trolley aside...this tray is even easier. Haha U bet so! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnssss Neutral Newbie May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...returning-20130 I got this idea that tray return would put old aunties and uncles out of jobs, benefit greedy operators and with no savings will be passed to consumers. Though I always clean up when I know someone is actively waiting for my table. Otherwise I am not for tray return for now. Anyone disagree? I respectfully disagree. The return system will not put them out of jobs. Instead, the system should help to make turnover of customers faster and the extra profits should go towards higher salaries for these elderly cleaners. Also, as a civilised society I think it's time we learn how to clean up after ourselves and teach our kids the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnssss Neutral Newbie May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 Totally agree.. if there were more people like your sister and her husband around, there is still hope for the country. agree with both!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 6th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 I respectfully disagree. The return system will not put them out of jobs. Instead, the system should help to make turnover of customers faster and the extra profits should go towards higher salaries for these elderly cleaners. Also, as a civilised society I think it's time we learn how to clean up after ourselves and teach our kids the same. let me guess.... u r still schooling or just fresh out of school? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear May 23, 2013 Author Share May 23, 2013 I respectfully disagree. The return system will not put them out of jobs. Instead, the system should help to make turnover of customers faster and the extra profits should go towards higher salaries for these elderly cleaners. Also, as a civilised society I think it's time we learn how to clean up after ourselves and teach our kids the same. Wah. Increase cleaner salary! You are either naive or coffee shop owner with that intent or lying. If you are truly an operator with hope of passing savings to staff, then i guarantee now your business will multiply 30-, 60-, 100- fold!!!!!! (I not Kong Hee. But donations are welcome if you feel this message speaks to you. ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 Most foodcourts pay rents to building owners/REITs. thats where the money goes to the latters couldnt be bothered with cleanliness.... If they don't bother, then the turnover suffers. Stallholders don't renew their lease 1 by 1 and potential stallholders are turned off with the state of cleanliness. Check out Kopitiam Square opposite Compass Point, look at the number of empty stalls. This is not due to no one clearing the tables, but Kopitiam charges very high rental. I believe Kopitiam is making huge losses here, but who cares, they deserve it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 If they don't bother, then the turnover suffers. Stallholders don't renew their lease 1 by 1 and potential stallholders are turned off with the state of cleanliness. Check out Kopitiam Square opposite Compass Point, look at the number of empty stalls. This is not due to no one clearing the tables, but Kopitiam charges very high rental. I believe Kopitiam is making huge losses here, but who cares, they deserve it. Kopitiam is concerned mainly with bottomline, if they can get by and make money without employing enough cleaners (with decent pay) to clean the place/tables, they will gladly not employ enough cleaners. You are right, the above shortsighted approach and lack of cleaning staff will make the place filty, and this will lead to lesser customers causing some stalls to close shop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic May 23, 2013 Share May 23, 2013 Kopitiam is concerned mainly with bottomline, if they can get by and make money without employing enough cleaners (with decent pay) to clean the place/tables, they will gladly not employ enough cleaners. You are right, the above shortsighted approach and lack of cleaning staff will make the place filty, and this will lead to lesser customers causing some stalls to close shop They have shareholders to answer to. So must charged high rental and cut cost to maximise profits. That's the way all companies go. Worse if they are public listed and MNC. Industry leaders buy companies then retrenched some, allow those remaining employees to resign, trimmed up the profit margin, restructure, split up then sell, then buy up other companies. Shareholders get the best interests. So most of the IPO companies all shared the same vision. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear May 24, 2013 Share May 24, 2013 They have shareholders to answer to. So must charged high rental and cut cost to maximise profits. That's the way all companies go. Worse if they are public listed and MNC. Industry leaders buy companies then retrenched some, allow those remaining employees to resign, trimmed up the profit margin, restructure, split up then sell, then buy up other companies. Shareholders get the best interests. So most of the IPO companies all shared the same vision. Shareholders are the kings, customers please go to the end of the queue, outside the room please............ in this regard, eat hawkerfood better, coz there's no shareholders expecting the REIT to give big dividents, hawker centres have not attracted REITs to move it yet customers who eat at hawker centres still have a place Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 TS you worried too much Cleaners see no threat to their jobs By Felicia Choo My Paper Thursday, Jun 13, 2013 An online petition against the National Environment Agency's campaign to get diners at foodcourts and hawker centres to return their trays is gaining momentum. Since it was started on Facebook last month, the Say No To Tray Return Singapore webpage has amassed over 700 "likes" and drawn comments from netizens who said the campaign could cost the cleaners at such eateries their jobs. But at least 10 such cleaners My Paper spoke to at four foodcourts islandwide said they are not the least worried about such talk. They said that the campaign - which was piloted at nine hawker centres last year, and extended to 17 major foodcourt and fast-food operators last month - has helped to lighten their workload. Cleaner Chin Sam Moye, 70, who works at an NTUC Foodfare foodcourt in Ang Mo Kio, said: "It's been helpful, especially when it gets busy during lunch hours." Most of the cleaners, aged between 53 and 70, said they now have more time to perform other duties, such as cleaning tables and floors. One foodcourt My Paper went to did not have a tray-return system, but its cleaners still see its benefits. At the Food Republic foodcourt in Wisma Atria mall, cleaner Chen Tiang Huat, 66, said: "Working eight hours daily with four days off a month can get very tiring...so it will definitely help." Mr Chen's colleagues share his view, even though they feel that "if everybody returns their trays, then there's no need for (cleaners)". At the foodcourt, My Paper spotted several patrons returning their trays to the cleaners' trolleys. The cleaners said that office workers and the elderly are the least likely to return their trays. The group that is most likely to return their trays tends to be younger patrons. Some cleaners observed that more women and foreigners returned trays. Patron Lim Kow Moy, 68, said she does not return her tray because of a knee condition, which makes it difficult for her to walk. The retired kindergarten teacher said: "I thank the cleaners when they come over to help me clear my tray." Patrons My Paper spoke to were not concerned about the online petition, as they felt that it is not a big deal. Accounts executive Avril Yean, 28, said: "It's ridiculous... returning your tray is a basic social etiquette. "You should clear your tray in public if you clear your plate at home." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hibeam2 4th Gear June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 Hear only the good stuff 149th MSM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 Hear only the good stuff 149th MSM despite the ranking of msm, you really think the cleaner will be out of job because of the tray return thing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 First, they implemented self-service. Next, tray return. Following next, clean your own table. eventually, cook you own food. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...