Tray Return

Tonyng

despite the ranking of msm, you really think the cleaner will be out of job because of the tray return thing?

Didn't some other articles mentioned that manpower costs are "higher" than rental, in turn causing prices to go up?

If so, I won't be surprised that the cleaners will be asked to go to reduce operational costs and maximise profits. Tell me which private entity here are not doing things to maximise profits.

The article is reported on the 154 media, of course they'll write things for the masses to believe.

Too bad we don't have the backing of alternative MSM, if not we can also write an article saying how the cleaners will worry about their livehood when this is implemented.

despite the ranking of msm, you really think the cleaner will be out of job because of the tray return thing?

tat is wat the cleaner think u kw..

i was at marine parade food court last week.. they have the tray return thing going on..

so aft i was done, i wanted to do the tray return thing..

the ah pek quickly came to my side and ask me to leave it. he will clear it. i told him nvm la.. u wipe table i return lor..like dat he no need walk here walk there ma..

he said "xiao jie, wo bu yao mei you gong zhuo" (miss, i dun wan to lose my job)... [sweatdrop]

TS you worried too much :D

Cleaners see no threat to their jobs

By Felicia Choo My Paper

Thursday, Jun 13, 2013

An online petition against the National Environment Agency's campaign to get diners at foodcourts and hawker centres to return their trays is gaining momentum.

Since it was started on Facebook last month, the Say No To Tray Return Singapore webpage has amassed over 700 "likes" and drawn comments from netizens who said the campaign could cost the cleaners at such eateries their jobs.

But at least 10 such cleaners My Paper spoke to at four foodcourts islandwide said they are not the least worried about such talk.

They said that the campaign - which was piloted at nine hawker centres last year, and extended to 17 major foodcourt and fast-food operators last month - has helped to lighten their workload.

Cleaner Chin Sam Moye, 70, who works at an NTUC Foodfare foodcourt in Ang Mo Kio, said: "It's been helpful, especially when it gets busy during lunch hours."

Most of the cleaners, aged between 53 and 70, said they now have more time to perform other duties, such as cleaning tables and floors.

One foodcourt My Paper went to did not have a tray-return system, but its cleaners still see its benefits.

At the Food Republic foodcourt in Wisma Atria mall, cleaner Chen Tiang Huat, 66, said: "Working eight hours daily with four days off a month can get very tiring...so it will definitely help."

Mr Chen's colleagues share his view, even though they feel that "if everybody returns their trays, then there's no need for (cleaners)".

At the foodcourt, My Paper spotted several patrons returning their trays to the cleaners' trolleys.

The cleaners said that office workers and the elderly are the least likely to return their trays.

The group that is most likely to return their trays tends to be younger patrons. Some cleaners observed that more women and foreigners returned trays.

Patron Lim Kow Moy, 68, said she does not return her tray because of a knee condition, which makes it difficult for her to walk.

The retired kindergarten teacher said: "I thank the cleaners when they come over to help me clear my tray."

Patrons My Paper spoke to were not concerned about the online petition, as they felt that it is not a big deal.

Accounts executive Avril Yean, 28, said: "It's ridiculous... returning your tray is a basic social etiquette.

"You should clear your tray in public if you clear your plate at home."

if i am msm editor, i will also interview the big bosses of kopitiams and hawker centres

only they are in the position to say whether these cleaners' job are affected

if i can get the biggest companies to commit to the job security of these people, then it would be more convincing -_-

Tray-return project hits snags

15/08/2013on mypaperby SAMANTHA BOH

tray-return.jpg

The tray-return programme has provided cleaner and more hygienic dining areas for patrons at hawker centres and food centres. (File photo)

The tray-return programme first launched as a pilot last November has provided cleaner and more hygienic dining areas for patrons at hawker centres and food centres.

But the National Environment Agency's (NEA's) initiative has also brought with it a new set of challenges for cleaners.

Cleaners My Paper spoke to at four eateries islandwide cited issues such as misunderstandings over uncleared trays and sarcastic comments from patrons and even overly-cluttered tray racks.

One cleaner, Madam Tan Siang Keow, 50, has had to tip-toe on numerous occasions to reach for stacks of dishes piled on top of tray-return racks.

Madam Tan, who works at Gourmet Paradise in Toa Payoh Hub, said the rack gets cluttered quickly during busy lunch and dinner hours. She said: "I worry the plates will topple on me one day."

Her colleague, Madam Lin Ah Lye, 70, has had her share of less-than-gracious patrons. She told My Paper that one patron even remarked: "Should I wash the dishes for you too, as I need to return them myself now?"

While she said that such patrons are few, Madam Lin added that she could not help but be angry. However, she chose to remain silent.

Another cleaner at a food court in Junction 8 in Bishan said that patrons there rarely returned their trays and utensils.

Madam Z. P. Teo, 54, said: "People just eat and leave but I will just clear the tables anyway since it's my job."

My Paper understands that the NEA continues to work with the management of food places and will assess feedback from cleaners. The initiative will see all 104 hawker centres here installed with tray-return points and racks over the next two years.

However, most cleaners My Paper spoke to praised the NEA initiative.

Tray-return project hits snags

15/08/2013on mypaperby SAMANTHA BOH

The tray-return programme has provided cleaner and more hygienic dining areas for patrons at hawker centres and food centres. (File photo)

The tray-return programme first launched as a pilot last November has provided cleaner and more hygienic dining areas for patrons at hawker centres and food centres.

But the National Environment Agency's (NEA's) initiative has also brought with it a new set of challenges for cleaners.

Cleaners My Paper spoke to at four eateries islandwide cited issues such as misunderstandings over uncleared trays and sarcastic comments from patrons and even overly-cluttered tray racks.

One cleaner, Madam Tan Siang Keow, 50, has had to tip-toe on numerous occasions to reach for stacks of dishes piled on top of tray-return racks.

Madam Tan, who works at Gourmet Paradise in Toa Payoh Hub, said the rack gets cluttered quickly during busy lunch and dinner hours. She said: "I worry the plates will topple on me one day."

Her colleague, Madam Lin Ah Lye, 70, has had her share of less-than-gracious patrons. She told My Paper that one patron even remarked: "Should I wash the dishes for you too, as I need to return them myself now?"

While she said that such patrons are few, Madam Lin added that she could not help but be angry. However, she chose to remain silent.

Another cleaner at a food court in Junction 8 in Bishan said that patrons there rarely returned their trays and utensils.

Madam Z. P. Teo, 54, said: "People just eat and leave but I will just clear the tables anyway since it's my job."

My Paper understands that the NEA continues to work with the management of food places and will assess feedback from cleaners. The initiative will see all 104 hawker centres here installed with tray-return points and racks over the next two years.

However, most cleaners My Paper spoke to praised the NEA initiative.

:angry:

tat is wat the cleaner think u kw..

i was at marine parade food court last week.. they have the tray return thing going on..

so aft i was done, i wanted to do the tray return thing..

the ah pek quickly came to my side and ask me to leave it. he will clear it. i told him nvm la.. u wipe table i return lor..like dat he no need walk here walk there ma..

he said "xiao jie, wo bu yao mei you gong zhuo" (miss, i dun wan to lose my job)... [sweatdrop]

BINGO!

Really stupid idea to do this tray return thing. Maybe should ask customers to wipe the table after use too LOL

ass**** right? 废人 <_<

欺软怕硬

see people is poor and old thats why go and bully

you put ah beng there with tatoo big big scar big big, you see these people kpkb or not :D

bully-the-weak-and-fear-the-strong.gif

I dont understand what so difficult about returning trays. I do it all the time. Makes the place less messy and just simple courtesy.

my ultimate suggestion. Everybody bring their own bowls and plates and utensils to eat. If today want to eat kway teow soup, bring a bowl. If today wants to eat mee pok tar, bring a plate.

this one? [grin][laugh][laugh]

Cover%20story%20C1P-v2.jpg

I dont understand what so difficult about returning trays. I do it all the time. Makes the place less messy and just simple courtesy.

I have actually been returning since thread started.

My plan is to monitor forums and on first sign of any cleaner firing, unsupport immediately. [laugh]

This picture brings back a lot of memories. The cookhouse setup, the cook attire, the No 4 uniform etc......

Those were the days, more than 20 years ago.........

This one brings back sad memories with those farking chefs!!!! Just few pieces of wiping cloth, expect the whole company wipe liao, the metal plate must be dry n shiny. Siao one.

no discount on food purchase.

why should we clear the plates/bowl?

Dan put the food on your shirt or on your hands. No need to use bowl/plates, no need to return.

Dun be like that lah. WHy must benefit you dan you are willing to return? Very typical of gian peng ppl.

You are using their eating utensils, nothing wrong in returning them. If you are so unhappy about it dan BYO eating plates and utensils. Or eat at restaurants. LoL...

I guess this is the culture here and it is very difficult to change their mindset and behavior

on returning tray automatically. [rolleyes]

I know some people are pissed off the Tray Return Policy. While I was on a Korea holiday, I quite liked the system over there. I repost 2 cases taken from the net from overseas visitors to Korea.

The unique system of the Food Court here (and maybe other food court too) is:

(1) Order food and pay at the cashiers.

(2) You'll be given a receipt with a preforated portion which has a number

(3) Check the electronic dashboard which indicates the Food Section (eg Korean, Japanese) with a calling number ~ like taking a number at the bank !

(4) When the number lights up, pick the food tray and the cutlery (which is in a sterilised glass cabinet located at the pick up point)

(5) You can get water at the Water station which is also located in a glass cabinet (sterilised)

(6) After your meal, return the food tray and its contents to the same Food Section you pick up earlier.

* there was another food court where all diners had to bring their trays to a collection corner after eating. The staff down there will takeover the trays and clean up.

At a fast food restaurant,

Apparently, after finishing the burger, drinks and fries

(1) I had to clean my tray ~ like most people do

(2) The trash bin had three sections ~ a trash bin, a plastic container and a "water" bin

(3) I had to empty the contents of my plastic cup (ice cubes and all) in the "water" bin

(4) Then place the plastic cup at a designated spot (after detaching the plastic cover and straw and placing it at another spot)

(5) Only then I empty the "other items" in the trash bin.