Tray Return

Tonyng

This picture brings back a lot of memories. The cookhouse setup, the cook attire, the No 4 uniform etc......

Those were the days, more than 20 years ago.........

if you ask for fan duo (more rice), the cook will take the scope and scope up one lorlee of rice and KIANG!!!! on your metal plate [laugh]

if you ask for fan sao (less rice), he will give you one sppon of rice [laugh][laugh]

This one brings back sad memories with those farking chefs!!!! Just few pieces of wiping cloth, expect the whole company wipe liao, the metal plate must be dry n shiny. Siao one.

then they give the soap is theose very long yellow colour bar one [laugh][laugh] something like that one

2012-09-13-04-06-08.jpg

The culture in korea is everyone return their tray, but i have noticed there are some tray left on the table while i was in korea, wondering it is people from sg?! [rolleyes]

then they give the soap is theose very long yellow colour bar one [laugh][laugh] something like that one

No use this soap lah. There is a few sink filled with soapy water. U just dip ur tray in and use the scrub to scrub off the leftovers. Then rinse off with tap water. The washing part not difficult lah. Its the drying part. The drying cloth so wet, how to wipe dry the metal tray. The cook must inspect before we return the tray. Cook see any streaks of water, have to back back n wipe dry.

no discount on food purchase.

why should we clear the plates/bowl?

Even fast food restaurant also you are supposed to empty and return the tray. It is more about civic responsibility and basic manners cleaning up after yourself.

Might as well say you pang sai at home dun flush toilet cos PUB no discount on water.

learn how to use toilet properly first before implementing this tray return ting

free place to pee also cannot learn liao,still wan learn things tat nid pay for

next time must wash the toilet bowl after use [laugh] [laugh]

The culture in korea is everyone return their tray, but i have noticed there are some tray left on the table while i was in korea, wondering it is people from sg?! [rolleyes]

They have made it a norm. It is all done very neatly, not like the photo in post #170 and the problems mentioned there such as "over-cluttered tray racks".

The govt should try harder to correct this untidy aspect of sg behaviour. Why don't they send ppl over to learn how it is done.

personally, i would hope the tray return scheme a big success and redeploy the spare workforce (younger ones) to some other jobs

Those trembling hands should spend time in cc , ngo or some other activities they enjoyed for their own social networking.

If they enjoyed returning trays, by all means, but there should be more in life than just a job.

We never know, some may be creative or craftsman but there is little chance to offer the alternative avenue.

The hawker centre or food court should also streamline/automate the tray return/ dish washing/ return procedures to the stall holders.

They have made it a norm. It is all done very neatly, not like the photo in post #170 and the problems mentioned there such as "over-cluttered tray racks".

The govt should try harder to correct this untidy aspect of sg behaviour. Why don't they send ppl over to learn how it is done.

Not easy to change something that have been practicing for the past decades. Could be the people here cannot adapt to changes, they would continue to do something that they have been doing. So i think this tray return campaign may not take off here successfully. Unless govt pass some law tray return is compulsory, if not will get fine. Same like the implementing of non-smoking area recently.

if you ask for fan duo (more rice), the cook will take the scope and scope up one lorlee of rice and KIANG!!!! on your metal plate [laugh]

if you ask for fan sao (less rice), he will give you one sppon of rice [laugh][laugh]

yah lor, experienced that before. It was like KNN..... don't let me see you on a real battle ground with live rounds :D :D :D

Some more must finish the whole lorlee of rice. Cannot digest finish and vomit whatever remaining during SOC in the afternoon. Every SOC session sure got people run until vomit... No one puke, the running can go on and on. Those where the days.... Don't know now got such training or not.

Edited by Neost

Not easy to change something that have been practicing for the past decades. Could be the people here cannot adapt to changes, they would continue to do something that they have been doing. So i think this tray return campaign may not take off here successfully. Unless govt pass some law tray return is compulsory, if not will get fine. Same like the implementing of non-smoking area recently.

neber mind lah, slowly improve also can......

Most may think lowly of our toilets, but the founder of World Toilet Organization is none other than Singaporean Jack Sim.

And he has high hopes

Some makan places use plates with a piece of semi water resistant paper on top and put the food on the paper. The plate remains clean even after the customer finishes eating the food. The waste food or leftover goes into the trash bin together with the piece of paper.

Maybe a similar concept can be used for the tray. This will eliminate the need to wash the tray. [:)]

Tray-return drive's a hit at this eatery
My PaperMonday, Feb 02, 2015
02022015_tray_return_lianhe_wanbao.jpg?i
DOING THIS... This woman was seen returning plates and bowls of other customers to a tray-return point at the hawker centre. She said that since she helped return plates and bowls of others twice, she should get two coupons.
SINGAPORE - Getting Singaporeans to return their trays at hawker centres has always been a challenge. But at a hawker centre in Toa Payoh West, the tray-return initiative yields rewards that are enticing enough for a group of middle-aged women to return trays for others as well.
The initiative was introduced by the National Environment Agency in 2012, but this hawker centre at Block 127, Toa Payoh West, joined the initiative only three weeks ago.
Patrons who return trays between 10am and noon on weekends will get 50-cent coupons from volunteers. These coupons can be used at the hawker centre or at the wet market one floor below.
Since the start of the initiative, a volunteer has spotted a group of about five to six women who would turn up punctually every weekend at the hawker centre to return trays belonging to other patrons, evening daily Lianhe Wanbao reported yesterday.
When interviewed, stall owners said they have also noticed this.
Wanbao reported that one of the women even said in Mandarin: "I've been going to and fro, helping others to return trays. I've gone back and forth twice, so I should get two coupons!"
While others may not go to the extreme of forming groups just to get the coupons, there are families who send members to return the trays and retrieve coupons one at a time, in order to redeem as many coupons as they can.
One family even split up to return their trays at four tray-return locations.
Volunteers at the hawker centre said that each person is entitled to only one coupon, but this has not deterred patrons from returning two or three times.
In order to avoid altercations, the volunteers issue these patrons another coupon, while reminding them that they are only entitled to one.
With this initiative, about 50 to 60 per cent of patrons at the hawker centre now return their trays, compared with only 10 to 20 per cent in the past.

i guess people are always looking to game the system ... as long as it involves $ ... people will definitely try to find a loophole or squeeze blood from stone.

if they are able to distribute the coupon fairly and help lighten the cleaner workload, then still a good program. It depends on who is sponsoring the coupon.