WTF 4th Gear May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 Ever since my area's hawker centre implemented this scheme, some cleaners were removed leaving only about half the strength behind. I just hope that they were re-deployed to other jobs and not retrenched....... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 it's invented by some students from Temasek Polytechnic Then I will buy packed food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 Then I will buy packed food. and then sit at the tables there to makan it??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 and then sit at the tables there to makan it??? Of course, if packed food kept more than 15 mins quality will change. Better eat it there. Then another smart alec will create a retractactable seat under the table, that will extend out after putting in a $2dollar note. Retract back automatically after 30 mins. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 (edited) ok, I just watched the tray dispenser video. Crapped, if I want to share food with family then need to be seated with that kind of crapped contraption that made sharing impossible because of uneven surface. They assumed all diners dine alone? Only have one plate and a saucer? Thought now we are promoting family cohesiveness? Edited May 21, 2013 by Atonchia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 (edited) That was what I was about to say, people can just return the tray and leave the plates on the table [laugh] Don't give them any ideas... Version 2 will come with plate/bowl firmly attached to the tray, or maybe it will be segmented tin food tray like those used in hostel / army We are becoming nation of quick and painful fixes. Everything also need to charge $, even to get a bit of graciousness. Nobody ever want to consider the long-term fix, which is to educate the young from the start. Because the effects are slow and take a long time to be seen. Edited May 21, 2013 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 that's why lor.. may be we should encourage tipping... then more uncle aunties willing to do the job... i remember many aunties queuing to work in casino serving drinks... because tips sometimes are huge.. lol This may work But the employers may cut the cleaners' pay with the excuse that since the latter will be earning tips, their nett income will not be affected by the pay cut!! Regarding disposal and cleaning of used food / plates etc, why not follow old-school SAF method (in field camps) ie put/wrap plastic bag over the plate / mass-tin etc so that they stay clean, after makan, wrap the balance food in the same plastic bag and throw it away? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 (edited) so those uncle & aunties go pick cans from rubbish bins??????????? u see them fighting over bins.... zzzzzzz no leh, only use students when the foodcourts cannot employ enough uncles n aunties for the job, ie as a supplement, not a replacement but if the campaign is to do away with uncles and aunties completely, then it is a different thing Not sure how many such uncles n aunties are working in these jobs, if their pay is too low, maybe govt can make employers maintain or up the pay, but gpvt also chip-ins with additional dollars (a kind of wage-supplement) showing the country's respect and care for these old folks who, despite being old, are still willing to work for a living instead of staying home / depending on others. This may sound too socialist, but why not? It needs not be big money, but even as a token, the uncles n aunties will likely appreciate it. Edited May 21, 2013 by Maseratigood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 if everyone return trays !!! those old people how?? jobless !!?!??! all pick cans & card boards ?!?!? or they can shake legs @ hm, gov start giving welfare !!!?!?!?! knn most stupid place to start this is ikea, knn so exp & still wan save on workers ! I feel the uncles n aunties may be under-paid + overworked, thats why the cleaning job is not done quick enough to keep the food places clean, no? With the wage-supplement and students as additional cleaning team members (as per my posts above), the old folk cleaners get a decent overall pay, the places get to be cleaned, the students get a taste of real-life. Only the parents will get up-set coz their darling boys-boys, gals-gals, have to "suffer". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 (edited) They shouldn't be working in the first place. They should be enjoying retirement. You want to clear trays in your old age? This is an issue with the current mindset ie we keep "classifying" cleaners' job as low grade. No doubt it doesnt involve lots of efforts (at least not mental one), but its still an honest job, and an essential service. Parents teach the kids such a concept/idea, and it sticks in the mind even as the kids grow up. My niece waves and says good morning to the garbage collectors every morning!! He's about 5 yrs old. Must say this is very unusual. My sister and her husband dont mind it at all. The change of mindset can take a few generations, but no harm making a start now There are few jobs older folks with lower education can take to earn an honest living. They cant retire (by right they should, as you said) because of circumstances, some of which are beyond their controls. Such is life, sad to say it I agree with some bros here that taking the jobs from the old folks who need them may not be exactly the right thing to do. On the other hand, its a good social practice to self-clear trays and not leave a mess on the table when we eat at food places. Quite basic, but very lacking today Edited May 21, 2013 by Maseratigood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 Doesn't this indicate something fundamentally wrong with our society? No wonder people are so selfish. This country is just cold and heartless from top down to bottom. LOL.......... ok what, nothing worng, as long as spore shows good GDP results every year!! (just kidding) Agree with you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nodtviedt 2nd Gear May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 This is an issue with the current mindset ie we keep "classifying" cleaners' job as low grade. No doubt it doesnt involve lots of efforts (at least not mental one), but its still an honest job, and an essential service. Parents teach the kids such a concept/idea, and it sticks in the mind even as the kids grow up. My niece waves and says good morning to the garbage collectors every morning!! He's about 5 yrs old. Must say this is very unusual. My sister and her husband dont mind it at all. The change of mindset can take a few generations, but no harm making a start now There are few jobs older folks with lower education can take to earn an honest living. They cant retire (by right they should, as you said) because of circumstances, some of which are beyond their controls. Such is life, sad to say it I agree with some bros here that taking the jobs from the old folks who need them may not be exactly the right thing to do. On the other hand, its a good social practice to self-clear trays and not leave a mess on the table when we eat at food places. Quite basic, but very lacking today Totally agree.. if there were more people like your sister and her husband around, there is still hope for the country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear May 21, 2013 Share May 21, 2013 I think clearing the rubbish - tissues, bones, leftovers on table is far more important than clearing the tray. Not necessarily it has to be spanking clean, but what you pui, please put back to tray and leave it there. I think cleaners and most patrons don't mind this method. There's no point for people to clear the tray, but leave debris behind. The next patron suffers. Agree on this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 (edited) Then I buy packed food. I was thinking of this too. But then, most stalls levy 20 cents for takeaways. Some even charge even when you bring your own tupperware :angry: Edited May 22, 2013 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porkerchong Neutral Newbie May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 you sure those cleaner got 1.5k each month in the market? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 you sure those cleaner got 1.5k each month in the market? hmmm....sure or not??? I heard max 1K but have to work till almost drop dead. The big question is will those old folks who need the job can still hold on to it? Like PAP say, no free lunch under the sun, so what will consumer gets in return? Our PAP is simply simpler minded to roll such things out as when and where they like....... paying millions to plan such things? Nice job leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 the next smart alex will increased all the food price by S$1. When you return the try/bowl/plate, they will refund you the S$1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 22, 2013 Share May 22, 2013 This is an issue with the current mindset ie we keep "classifying" cleaners' job as low grade. No doubt it doesnt involve lots of efforts (at least not mental one), but its still an honest job, and an essential service. Parents teach the kids such a concept/idea, and it sticks in the mind even as the kids grow up. My niece waves and says good morning to the garbage collectors every morning!! He's about 5 yrs old. Must say this is very unusual. My sister and her husband dont mind it at all. The change of mindset can take a few generations, but no harm making a start now There are few jobs older folks with lower education can take to earn an honest living. They cant retire (by right they should, as you said) because of circumstances, some of which are beyond their controls. Such is life, sad to say it I agree with some bros here that taking the jobs from the old folks who need them may not be exactly the right thing to do. On the other hand, its a good social practice to self-clear trays and not leave a mess on the table when we eat at food places. Quite basic, but very lacking today It's not so much the notion of "good" or "bad" jobs that I'm really aiming at. I just find it sad that when we have paid our dues and we are in our twilight years, we STILL have to slog just to stay alive. To me that's just completely out of whack. I'd rather a society where: - Youngsters, fresh out of school, work these 'menial' jobs to toughen up and learn about hard work. This also eases the supply crunch. - Armed with working skills and the mentality of being able to cope with hard and tough work, they should go out and earn a decent proper wage to not just survive but also save up for retirement (this is where Singapore has gone badly wrong, and needs desperate rectifying through improved wage policies) - Therefore, when you hit 65, you can safely retire with your nest egg earned through your hard work through the years. Makes sense, no? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...