Kurtselva 2nd Gear June 6, 2013 Share June 6, 2013 Hi guys, I would like to ask anyone who has recently done renovation to their house, how much would it cost to fully renovate a resale 3 Rm HDB flat kitchen.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear June 6, 2013 Share June 6, 2013 You can try renotalk forum...i believe there should be more inputs there.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 6, 2013 Share June 6, 2013 (edited) Hi guys, I would like to ask anyone who has recently done renovation to their house, how much would it cost to fully renovate a resale 3 Rm HDB flat kitchen.. its all depends on ur budget and ur requirement. If u only wanted an affordable solution, things like changing the door of the existing kitchen cabinet, simple laminated table top, cheap sink and taps, cheap kitchen hood, simple tabletop stove & oven. No floor & wall tiles work. 5K should be more than sufficient. But if u want to redo everything, high end designer stuff, mable table top & etc. U can easily spend 30K even for a kitchen for 3 room flat. If u think its a lot, just imagine, a high end kitchen sink can cost u more than 3K and a water tap (or even mixer) can cost u more than 1K.. Edited June 6, 2013 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged June 6, 2013 Share June 6, 2013 its all depends on ur budget and ur requirement. If u only wanted an affordable solution, things like changing the door of the existing kitchen cabinet, simple laminated table top, cheap sink and taps, cheap kitchen hood, simple tabletop stove & oven. No floor & wall tiles work. 5K should be more than sufficient. But if u want to redo everything, high end designer stuff, mable table top & etc. U can easily spend 30K even for a kitchen for 3 room flat. If u think its a lot, just imagine, a high end kitchen sink can cost u more than 3K and a water tap (or even mixer) can cost u more than 1K.. Depends on whether TS is getting gold plated taps or not lor. But ya, what Tigershark1976 say is around there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurtselva 2nd Gear June 6, 2013 Author Share June 6, 2013 its all depends on ur budget and ur requirement. If u only wanted an affordable solution, things like changing the door of the existing kitchen cabinet, simple laminated table top, cheap sink and taps, cheap kitchen hood, simple tabletop stove & oven. No floor & wall tiles work. 5K should be more than sufficient. But if u want to redo everything, high end designer stuff, mable table top & etc. U can easily spend 30K even for a kitchen for 3 room flat. If u think its a lot, just imagine, a high end kitchen sink can cost u more than 3K and a water tap (or even mixer) can cost u more than 1K.. What about redoing everything but not going for those high-end designer stuff, and of course not those damn cheap stuff also.. What would be the normal acceptable range if done by a renovation company (not those designer company)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 6, 2013 Share June 6, 2013 Depends on whether TS is getting gold plated taps or not lor. But ya, what Tigershark1976 say is around there. nah... its not even gold plated, just stainless steel.... i have seen a bathtub mixer cost 3K+... also stainless steel... i was like, siao! this kind of price, who would buy?? but my friend who work in the shop told me that some rich plp can spend over 50K just to reno a toilet [knife] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 6, 2013 Share June 6, 2013 What about redoing everything but not going for those high-end designer stuff, and of course not those damn cheap stuff also.. What would be the normal acceptable range if done by a renovation company (not those designer company)? its hard to say, its depends on how u define cheap/ expensive... for me, range frm 10Kto 15K is sufficient for a moderate reno for kitchen and thats incl full wall + floor tiles, artificial marble table top, reasonable design cabinet, plus built in stove, oven, exhaust hood, sink, tap & etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged June 6, 2013 Share June 6, 2013 nah... its not even gold plated, just stainless steel.... i have seen a bathtub mixer cost 3K+... also stainless steel... i was like, siao! this kind of price, who would buy?? but my friend who work in the shop told me that some rich plp can spend over 50K just to reno a toilet [knife] No la, just a reference to TT Durai (the ex-NKF guy who got either gold plated taps or something like that). Actually, on youtube can find a lot of rich people's homes with expensive renovation. Saw a toilet with Onyx backlit basin and other stuff. Think it's called "Million Dollar Rooms". Not homes, rooms! Rich people.. But I like is those with a huge garage with nice cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Wa didnt know now Reno so ex Liao huh 8 yrs back I did my 4 rm kitchen at carotted price cos wife insist she Luke the country design from park mall 3500 I ll paid for it While I go those sin ming ind area look for carpentry Ws to do up my bil same estate same size kitchen at 2000+ solid top with laminated carpentry I oreadi feel I paid high price Liao Now a simple kitchen need 5 k? I think go direct carpentry Ws nO need ba 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 (edited) Largely depends on design. Cabinets is ard $120 - $180 per sq ft. For full height cabinets is $120 x 3 , top and bottom $120 x 2 , only bottom is $120. Table top is $80 - $100 per sq ft for basic solid top but if you want good granite or the new wood-lookalike top then pepare to pay more. Sink / top ~ $300 if you by set e.g. Franke set. If you are overlaying the kitchen tiles, that shld be another $2-3k, prepare to pay more if you are hacking and re-tiling. Also if you are re-doing the layout and require re-run of the pipes .. that's an other cost. To hack and major redo, i would think $10k more likely. Edited June 7, 2013 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Cabinet price has increased? Competed my reno last year. Almost all companies charging me $110 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yahgo22 1st Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 burner, hob and basin and tap abt 1.5k demolition and new base abt 500 if just bottom selfing ok but if also top shelfing maybe $4k onwards if u want granite or some nice kitchen top Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Largely depends on design. Cabinets is ard $120 - $180 per sq ft. For full height cabinets is $120 x 3 , top and bottom $120 x 2 , only bottom is $120. Table top is $80 - $100 per sq ft for basic solid top but if you want good granite or the new wood-lookalike top then pepare to pay more. Sink / top ~ $300 if you by set e.g. Franke set. If you are overlaying the kitchen tiles, that shld be another $2-3k, prepare to pay more if you are hacking and re-tiling. Also if you are re-doing the layout and require re-run of the pipes .. that's an other cost. To hack and major redo, i would think $10k more likely. thanks for the tip. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio2005A Turbocharged June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 (edited) What about redoing everything but not going for those high-end designer stuff, and of course not those damn cheap stuff also.. What would be the normal acceptable range if done by a renovation company (not those designer company)? Rough guides: Top/bottom cabinets per foot run : $120 (top and bottom measure separately.Cost depend on type of laminates, and interior finishing. Also, if the material for internal shelving - colored type or plain white type - your contractor would know) Kitchen top (for bottom cabinet): if those cheapo postform, than not more than $200, if "corian"-type (those resin types which come in many colours and design), about $80 per foot run (from China), granite or marble top different league liao. You will need to change tap, sink, cooker and hob. Some contractors charge you for installing. Some don't. You will need to pay City Gas technician to turn on the gas. If change wall tiles, you will need electrician to re-run cable and install power points, lighting points. As above, you will need plumber to re-run water pipes. Change wall tiles, and floor tiles in kitchen will set you back by $2-5,000 depending of types of tiles. Also, slabs for fridge, washing machine etc. All in, should be around $10,000 for an average looking kitchen. Edited June 7, 2013 by Latio2005A Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 (edited) Just to add lah .. if you are buying an old resale.. There may be pest nests in the old cabinets.. so it's good to just hack and re-do the kitchen. Edited June 7, 2013 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yahgo22 1st Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 guess if both u and yr wife dosent cook much and just want a new and simple kitchen just do the bottom cabinet will do no cooker hood maybe $5k can liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 What about redoing everything but not going for those high-end designer stuff, and of course not those damn cheap stuff also.. What would be the normal acceptable range if done by a renovation company (not those designer company)? For that sort of style I spoke to these people - http://www.renomango.com/index.php/pages/g...4a7cec83d00007e Found them quite suitable for the more traditional HDB style of simple design * Full disclaimer - I work for RenoMango, but not for Meng Design... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 guess if both u and yr wife dosent cook much and just want a new and simple kitchen just do the bottom cabinet will do no cooker hood maybe $5k can liao Personal Recommendation is to make sure to install a cooker hood - without it the grease can build up in the high spots, a hood should solve this problem. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...