Myxilplix Turbocharged June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 A lot of people tune to run higher RON. Mine is tuned to run 97 since most of my mileage is clocked in Malaysia. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 i see i see ...but must be flexible when on long highway ... cannot die die insist on find the preferred ron until no petrol car cant move ... when that happened si mi performance also zero Its jus not your lvl to understand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 my previous car and current car takes only 97 only.... so far no issues on availablity of petrol on NSH... the only problem where i cannot really find ron 97 is cameron highlands. genting has one at bottom of hill Cameron got RON97, but only Petronas. Shell don't have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnut Clutched June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 Nope, its the other way round, only Shell has RON97 at Brinchang. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 Nope, its the other way round, only Shell has RON97 at Brinchang. Oh is it? Sorry I can't really remember. I only know only one of them have RON97. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 Oh is it? Sorry I can't really remember. I only know only one of them have RON97. maybe cause i was looking out for petronas Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 maybe cause i was looking out for petronas I remember the pump attendant rejected me then I shot back, "You don't have RON97, then why I cannot pump RON95?" Then he point opposite and say, "Go there, have RON97" LL go there and pump. I think should be Shell ba, since you say you were looking for Petronas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audioniche 1st Gear June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 Why cannot pump V Power all the way? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 Got it. Many thanks. Will octane boosters help if I have to take in 95ron ? Any brands to recommend? May like to just standby a bottle to complement a tank of 95 if absolutely required. cheers ! Non Malaysia car can't pump 95... If u can then its a bonus.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 I thought outside of JB can pump 95RON? Eg, Penang, Ipoh can pump 95RON for S'pore cars. Can anyone confirm? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 I thought outside of JB can pump 95RON? Eg, Penang, Ipoh can pump 95RON for S'pore cars. Can anyone confirm? Can if the kiosk only have 95 lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mjklbkldl 1st Gear June 13, 2013 Author Share June 13, 2013 Thanks all for the replies. Good to know Brinchang in Cameron has 97Ron...will keep a lookout for Shell up there. In case you are wondering, my ride is turbo charged and tuned up for 98Ron min, hence, not much of a choice. Not worth it to compromise on the engine, hence these concerns. Probably can drive gently & not boost too much, but may be tricky on the NS Highway when we need to overtake safely. And I am too cheapskate to retune/remap for 97 I have just gotten 2 bottles of Octane Boosters in case the black stuff hits the fan. Believe a lot of Sporeans heading to Cameron this weekend, so see ya all there & safe drive! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perseus76 2nd Gear June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 my ride is on turbo, and tune for 50% more on both Nm and bhp. when ever i go in, I always only pump shell v power racing..... it works okay...but not sure if available in kl or ipoh or not...but i believe should have. i dont think there is such thing called tune for ron 98 only....but more like how much more horse, and u need better grade. just go with v pwer racing in my....u cant be wrong. many tuned up car go sepang to play......if not good enough, then how these tuned up car come back, after the track? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mjklbkldl 1st Gear June 13, 2013 Author Share June 13, 2013 I have a little knowledge of the oil industry. For folks who say PETRONAS is inferior to Caltex or Shell, or vice versa...actually, these folks all buy from each other. There are some specs to be adhered to during the deal, and these specs are tested on an independent basis. Hence, in reality, the Caltex petrol you took into your car may be from the Shell Port Dickson refinery, or the diesel that a lorry takes from PETRONAS station may be from Conoco Philip's refinery in Malacca ! Some of the more premium branded petrols (e.g. V Power) will have some additives added/blended but the underlying molecules are essentially the same. Re Malaysia's 97ron = Spore's 95ron, I suspect that may be folklore or psychological ? It may of course be true, but again from my limited knowledge, these MNCs will not dare to play punk on the specs. At the station level, the franchisees may of course do funny things, but I believe specs are difficult to change at the station end. So a 97ron petrol should be indeed 97ron, unless the fuel goes off spec (e.g. in Vietnam, many years back, acetone was blended into the petrol to enhance the octane lvl, and the company who sold that cargo to the Vietnamese got into some deep s--t) in which case, that will be a separate matter in itself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 My opinion is Msia ron97 petrol grade n quality is about roughly equivalent to Singapore Ron 95 thereabouts. About same Their ron97 petrol grade is quite far off the quality of our Ron 98. Actually msia 97 is much worse than SG 95. U forgot theirs got mix kerosene....lots of dirty sediment n contaminated wh water. Last time i pump msia la sup petrol my whole car stall n need to wash out whole engine n drain out all e la sup petrol. Dun forget e charges fr towing my car back to sg. [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 My opinion is Msia ron97 petrol grade n quality is about roughly equivalent to Singapore Ron 95 thereabouts. About same Their ron97 petrol grade is quite far off the quality of our Ron 98. how you form your opinion? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 Actually msia 97 is much worse than SG 95. U forgot theirs got mix kerosene....lots of dirty sediment n contaminated wh water. Last time i pump msia la sup petrol my whole car stall n need to wash out whole engine n drain out all e la sup petrol. Dun forget e charges fr towing my car back to sg. [bigcry] From 1 breakdown? then Why so many car still functioning well? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 14, 2013 Share June 14, 2013 From 1 breakdown? then Why so many car still functioning well? Dunno leh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...