Fuelsaver Supercharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Ya I know many ws prefer to supply parts cos they make on that too but some small OMO prefer u bring yr own cos he also no time to go out n buy parts n he might not have credit with the parts supplier n must pay cash. I also insist they use only OEM or Original parts so mech sometimes prefer I give him the parts n he can straight away start to install. Last time in Yishun i used an old mech now already abt 60 yrs old so he also going to retire soon. JB ws also I provide parts n they can supply Optra parts but Chevy parts in JB damm ex. An oil filter is RM35 there. In SG its just S$6. I have used bigger ws in SG but I just found their workmanship lousy n also the parts they use like 3rd grade quality. Really CMI. If now SG really dun have a good n cheap ws like what I need, I guess I still wil go JB then. This only proves many SG biz r lousy n expensive. Pricing themselves out of the market. Its only time b4 many have to close cos unless they can keep getting customers who dun know n dun care about their cars. Thats the sad truth about Spore. We r losing our competitive edge or have alreddy lost it. since my current ride, i've been gg to 1st auto semb. boss mr. yap ok to let me bring my own parts. but unsure if the labor is best value (e.g. 250 to install steering rack + side slip after install). but no warranty for byo parts. for a/c stuffs, even ah huat of m--kc--l somewhat concluded my cooling coil needed to be changed previously. now i realized / suspected cooling coil may not even be an issue - probably some other a/c piping / seal, thermostat, txv, dryer, compressor. so really really good / pro workshops seemed to be non-existent, only variable would be their troubleshooting experience. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 skm garage, ah heng, best in the market.. Agreed. Ah Heng specialised in Honda repair & servicing. Just had my FD2's gear box repaired at his workshop. Better call him b4 you go, long waiting time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnnylim 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 riverview is one WS that impose surcharge on those bringing own parts. how come their business still thriving? That means there are still many customers that dun mind to let Ws earn their $$$, But how many % of their customers bring own parts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Divers 2nd Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 I know a workshop still charge labour for $20/-. Original oil filter at $15. so total is $35/-. You bring your own EO. Anyway, sometimes I hesitate to bring my own EO cos I am afraid that WS will just change oil for you and not doing any basic checks (eg: electrical, other oil checks). Come to think of it, if you take WS engine oil, they earn more they will do checks for you. My feel. And I dont go same WS. I go to the WS that have the EO I want to try. I think no need to be loyalty to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Engine oil servicing with filter (oil not famous brands) about $90nett. I recently serviced mine for 7litres abt $110 all in. Your car takes in 7 litres of EO ? What type of car is that huh...?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 My regular workshop allow self-brought parts. Usually I just go and tell them this and that got problem. Then they tell me what to get exactly. no worries. But yes, rental is killing them. His labour charges have also went up. If anyone needs recommendation (East - Kaki Bukit), PM me. Experienced workers (locals or MY) and honest boss. Won't ask you to change if not necessary Come to think of it, if you take WS engine oil, they earn more they will do checks for you. My feel. not really lah. Depends on workshop also. I "supported" my workshop once by using his oil, but $110 for Total 5-40 hard to stomach leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 Your car takes in 7 litres of EO ? What type of car is that huh...?? IS250 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 IS250 Is it same as Toyota Mark X ? Cos I remember my friend drive Mark X and he ever told me his EO is 7 litres one time change it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 close to 90% But how many % of their customers bring own parts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 close to 90% wa...u still so loyal to them? I was their supporter during the Corolla G9 days.....all parts from ws. never question the amount nor ask stockist for prices. after i learnt how to buy parts from stockist, i said bye bye to them. The differences in prices is too high Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 i just went there to ask them fix my oil leak. they dun wanna fix. damn proud people. look down on guys with small cars. the truth is biz is damm good. i really wonder why ? wa...u still so loyal to them? I was their supporter during the Corolla G9 days.....all parts from ws. never question the amount nor ask stockist for prices. after i learnt how to buy parts from stockist, i said bye bye to them. The differences in prices is too high Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 even petrol station rate kinda gone up over recent year more older car = more problem the carrot is there to pick, dont pick...lugi themself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 i just went there to ask them fix my oil leak. they dun wanna fix. damn proud people. look down on guys with small cars. the truth is biz is damm good. i really wonder why ? Go somewhere else lah.... I understand your feeling bro. I was rejected before also....they see my small car, told me go JB to fix. I won't go back that WS anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 Is it same as Toyota Mark X ? Cos I remember my friend drive Mark X and he ever told me his EO is 7 litres one time change it.... Yes dude... Same engine... Its slightly last than 7litres actually Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
liewryan Neutral Newbie July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 Go somewhere else lah.... I understand your feeling bro. I was rejected before also....they see my small car, told me go JB to fix. I won't go back that WS anymore. Got such WS??? then don't bother to go there liao la... my friend just went to service his car at pioneer point. 6th floor. he told me good service and reasonable price. cant't remember the name of the WS. think is technic autocare or something Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 Yes dude... Same engine... Its slightly last than 7litres actually So you always got to buy 2x bottles of 4 litres EO ? Then leftover 1 litre EO what to do leh ? Or you buy 1x bottle of 4 litres + 3x bottles of 1 litre ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sei_fei_loh 1st Gear July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 So you always got to buy 2x bottles of 4 litres EO ? Then leftover 1 litre EO what to do leh ? Or you buy 1x bottle of 4 litres + 3x bottles of 1 litre ? Now i just go workshop and top up for the additional litres needed. Previously when i buy my own oil, i buy 7 x 1quart, so no extra. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 Got such WS??? then don't bother to go there liao la... my friend just went to service his car at pioneer point. 6th floor. he told me good service and reasonable price. cant't remember the name of the WS. think is technic autocare or something Got !! Usually they do this cos they have on-hand some other cars to do.....but if they busy they can tell me so. Don't give what excuse (eg, no tool/part to fix this, never fix this brand before, the 'other shop' is better please go there, etc). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...