Kusje Supersonic July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 (edited) you are referring to shoe box size units and i doubt the new HDB ruling will allow that kind of floor area deem as not suitable for nuclea family size. average is between 900 to 1100, similar to HDB 4 and 5 rm flat size Yes, under the old rules, there was no cap. Right now, the cap on the newly released ones is 1600 sf if you don't have an extended family. Still fairly large no? Edited July 28, 2013 by Kusje ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 I think one of the reason HDB is rolling out land parcel in EC is to ensure that more hdb resale have to get out of the mkt. A person/family earning about 10 to 12K, if they save up properly, they shuld be able to afford a 20% downpayment for a 1.2 million sur-urban condo and they get to keep their HDB flat for rental. The rental is at least able to pay for a substantial portion of the mortgage. Most will go this route if not for the additional &% stamp duty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 I think one of the reason HDB is rolling out land parcel in EC is to ensure that more hdb resale have to get out of the mkt. A person/family earning about 10 to 12K, if they save up properly, they shuld be able to afford a 20% downpayment for a 1.2 million sur-urban condo and they get to keep their HDB flat for rental. The rental is at least able to pay for a substantial portion of the mortgage. Most will go this route if not for the additional &% stamp duty. That's why I suspect hdb releasing ec land so that resale hdb are released into the market Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 (edited) the resale of hdb will only hit the market in 2016/2017 when many of the late 2012/2013 EC TOP ... hence, for the next 3 years, hdb resale will still inch up gradually and sustain the entire property market That's why I suspect hdb releasing ec land so that resale hdb are released into the market Edited July 29, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 Not to 'throw cold water' here ... I had some discussions with my friends who are in properties lines last week and was advised to hold back invest or buy private properties for now and wait till next year. Properties bubbles had been bursting in the West & European countries for the past years and now PRC also facing the same crunchs. Will able to see what coming in SG by year end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 Not to 'throw cold water' here ... I had some discussions with my friends who are in properties lines last week and was advised to hold back invest or buy private properties for now and wait till next year. Properties bubbles had been bursting in the West & European countries for the past years and now PRC also facing the same crunchs. Will able to see what coming in SG by year end. too many people have been singing this song. Of course, it will come true one day, but.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 too many people have been singing this song. Of course, it will come true one day, but.... from any properties agents I believe 'singing this song' but from 30 yrs buddies who happen to be also properties agent, then I will consider ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 too many people have been singing this song. Of course, it will come true one day, but.... http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.p...toryId=88156284 just a word of cautious.. if you have 300k and a fully paid hdb.. you can buy anything.. but make sure you have enough to tong 5 yrs w/o income. ..... Japanese investors believed they had broken free of the usual boom-and-bust cycles. Everyone assumed that prices would continue to climb indefinitely. "Even if some local property markets tanked, (Japanese investors) figured, a nationwide bust was almost unthinkable. They were very wrong," scolds The Economist magazine. ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 the resale of hdb will only hit the market in 2016/2017 when many of the late 2012/2013 EC TOP ... hence, for the next 3 years, hdb resale will still inch up gradually and sustain the entire property market hmm.. why only hit the mkt in 2016/17 ? does they ec owner has to sell their hdb when their EC top in 2012/2013? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jackpot Neutral Newbie July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 yes I know and I will definitely not buy at this current price. Actually hor I'm only looking at those smaller unit about 500sqft(FH somemore) around Geylang for my 2nd ppty. Nevermind if pple call me low class but I think this type of units beat buying studio apt from HDB. That's what I think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 (edited) yes, assuming EC TOP in 2016/2017 and the owner (upgrader) is staying in HDB currently they got 6 months to sell their HDB once they got the key to move into the EC EC and HDB ... both are public housing. both belongs to HDB. cannot hold EC and HDB simultenously. hmm.. why only hit the mkt in 2016/17 ? does they ec owner has to sell their hdb when their EC top in 2012/2013? Edited July 29, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinfang Clutched July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 Buy or Hold ? Too many advise till i Of course having to start paying another loan is tiring .... unless loan period is less than 10 years then maybe still can consider. Too bad I m not cash rich Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 (edited) it's ok as long as you are not staying there plenty of people including FT don't mind to stay near Geylang the problem is loan ... i think for Geylang freehold apartment, max loan is less than 80% even you have fully paid your hdb yes I know and I will definitely not buy at this current price. Actually hor I'm only looking at those smaller unit about 500sqft(FH somemore) around Geylang for my 2nd ppty. Nevermind if pple call me low class but I think this type of units beat buying studio apt from HDB. That's what I think. Edited July 29, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Animian Clutched July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 Buy or Hold ? Too many advise till i Of course having to start paying another loan is tiring .... unless loan period is less than 10 years then maybe still can consider. Too bad I m not cash rich CPF rich also can by private condo wat ... it all boils down to what you really want lor ... given that EC price no diff from Pte Condo what is it that is in EC that you see that private condo cant give you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinfang Clutched July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 If psf prices can drop a bit more ... or at least some discount here and there .... then I do not want to work n pay till retirement ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Animian Clutched July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 If psf prices can drop a bit more ... or at least some discount here and there .... then I do not want to work n pay till retirement ..... u look at the way the developer bid the price ...u think can drop meh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jackpot Neutral Newbie July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 it's ok as long as you are not staying there plenty of people including FT don't mind to stay near Geylang the problem is loan ... i think for Geylang freehold apartment, max loan is less than 80% even you have fully paid your hdb I heard only 60% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 Good info thread.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...