Felipe 3rd Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Buy PC and keep the HDB. die die cannot sell hdb. hdb more value than condo these days. limited supply. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 you sure or not? doubt there will ever be a case like the past. they already drew up the plans to show where future hdb precints will be, unlike the past Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Don't listen to people telling you to buy private when you can buy EC unlesss you have a lot of savings (HDB fully paid with a few 100k lying around). With HH income of less than 12k a month, having both a HDB and private condo via high gearing can kill you in a prolonged downturn without those equity on hand. I don't understand people putting 200% of their "net worth" (150% is borrowed money) into property or any single class of investment asset at this point in time. If bao tan, there will be no poor people in this world. I would certainly buy a EC if I am eligible as the gap between private and EC has widened and EC will provide you with a loss cushion should market turn. It is a no brainer unless you are super bullish on property, it is your call. True.must hv money then buy. But hdb too precious to give up these days Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Once buy an EC, I must let go of HDB. It will be harder to buy back a HDB once you have a private property. Maybe should just keep the HDB! Yup. I made a mistake. I think I was referring to private condo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 If you want sea view, the cheapest alternative is to buy a bunch of sea view paintings and hang them up on your current walls Can even get different ones and rotate every three months to simulate the different seasons. Winter sea paintings, summer sea paintings etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Smaller, can go visit Ecopolitan at punggol, many times I over heard aunty beside at the showflat said this small that small. Ya. Similar to what I heard also. Condo nowadays can be smaller than a standard hdb, only for a self fulfilling atas feeling. Imo should save the money and buy a second property. Use it to generate passive income better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Giordanogavin 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Driving everyday from east to west to work in SGP is really challenging, costly, time consuming and mentally tiring. The distance might be~40Km. The jam during peak our will kills you. This is something you should consider if your work place at west and stay in east. IMO, if budget permits keep your HDB and buy a PC. can rent out one of them. On the other hand if not enough cash on hands then could sell HDB and upgrade to EC if really want to upgrade to condo lifestyle. your choices as every decision u makes come with risk. Weights your risks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 I'm in dilemma too! I've a HDB that's 7 mins away from Pasir Ris MRT, should I upgrade to that EC facing the sea or keep for future rental yield. Always wanted a better lifestyle upgrade for my family. What is better lifestyle? Single income with the ability to spurge for long haul holiday every year, eat well, spend well? Have you ask yourself who wants the lifestyle? Yourself or your family? Do consider carefully cos the decision you make may affects you and your family for the next thirty years. The difference between HDB and EC is "BLK" & "Ego" niah. :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Bros, Need some advice from your guys, I intend to upgrade my current flat to EC. There are also many new EC and not sure which one is better, also I miss some registration when I call up. There is this EC with sea view, but the place is far away in Pasir Ris. With sea view, quite appealing leh. If your work place in the west and currently also staying in the west too, would you buy a EC with sea view far away in the East?? Also I am 2 months away to MOP, the person say can appeal but I thought that HDB is very strict, can appeal har? Thanks in advance. i got a feeling that the elites here like Radx and Trottle2 are laughing their toes off reading this type of thread. in their heart they must be thinking "knn, so many poor farks in this forum wanna buy condo" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 EC or even private condo, especially those sold in the last 2-3 years, mass market type. The bedroom is normally small. The same size condo used to be 3 bedroom previously now has 4 bedroom. Basically, the room size to me is only good for 1 person with a single bed. Put in a queen size bed, you are probably left with walking space and your wardrode. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 keep hdb and buy PC, got to pack extra 7% stamp duty hor. So 1 million (which cannot buy much these days) got to pay 100K in cash. Quite bo hwa I think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Keep hdb, buy commercial property. No 7% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 I think I know where that is. IMHO its a horrible location. IIRC several buyers of private condos ard that area were in the red for the longest time. Its behind DTE right? No convenient transport to MRT and flanked by HDB flats. You will soon find your facilities being swarmed by them - unless your guards are super on. Why would u want to stay at far end of the east while u work in the west? If the cost of transport is a concern then pls dont buy it. The advantage of an EC is the initial 30k which you probably do not enjoy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Erm... MCF alot of elites... Top notch table wiper earn $20k/mth.... anyone can brag. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Bros, Need some advice from your guys, I intend to upgrade my current flat to EC. There are also many new EC and not sure which one is better, also I miss some registration when I call up. There is this EC with sea view, but the place is far away in Pasir Ris. With sea view, quite appealing leh. If your work place in the west and currently also staying in the west too, would you buy a EC with sea view far away in the East?? Also I am 2 months away to MOP, the person say can appeal but I thought that HDB is very strict, can appeal har? Thanks in advance. This plot of land is just next to Watercolour(EC) and Seastrand(Condo) along Pasir Ris Dr 3. Further in, Ripplebay and Sea Esta are situated. You might be disappointed if you want sea view! You might not be able to see the sea at all!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 i got a feeling that the elites here like Radx and Trottle2 are laughing their toes off reading this type of thread. in their heart they must be thinking "knn, so many poor farks in this forum wanna buy condo" that's why they havent posted yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinepro Clutched July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Don't listen to people telling you to buy private when you can buy EC unlesss you have a lot of savings (HDB fully paid with a few 100k lying around). With HH income of less than 12k a month, having both a HDB and private condo via high gearing can kill you in a prolonged downturn without those equity on hand. I don't understand people putting 200% of their "net worth" (150% is borrowed money) into property or any single class of investment asset at this point in time. If bao tan, there will be no poor people in this world. I would certainly buy a EC if I am eligible as the gap between private and EC has widened and EC will provide you with a loss cushion should market turn. It is a no brainer unless you are super bullish on property, it is your call. Can use the money from the Sale of the HDB to pay for the EC loan? Thought of after paying the 20% cash deposit and take up a bank loan of 80%. Can use the CPF money from sale of HDB to pay for part of the 80% bank loan later? That's after selling HDB within 6 months after TOP of EC. Any agent here kind to advise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 after fulfilling EC MOP can buy private condo? after buying private condo a. continue to stay in EC and rent out PC ? b. can stay in PC and rent out EC? c. must sell EC? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...