HDB REsales price

Animian

That's what happened in 1997, triggered by thr local banks to call for equity top up.

However in 2007/2008, it seems the banks have held back asking for equity top up on loans. The only property related loans that I heard that got margin calls are OD pledge using property.

MAS is much prepared in 2008 with the experrience in 1997. That's why not much bloodshed on the property market.

Yes, but

When push comes to shove, you think they care?

Valuations down, overleveraged heads will roll if no cash.

Simple as that.

Banks do what is in their interest, not your interest leh.

i do not see any catapult that will trigger a crash, equity top up or default

1. interest remain low even with 0.5-1% increase gradually (if rates does goes up). usa and europe cannot survive without low interest rate

2. spore low unemployment rate. with further tightening of FT ... jobs should be secured

3. local bank balance sheet is sibei strong

4. the financial market is healthy and growing, at least for the asia market.

5. the best time of asia still intact with usa and europe region in dire strait. protests and strikes still on going from time to time.

6. investments and hot money still remain in asia.

properties will sustain and continue to go up ... just much slower compare to last year. 2011-2012 was crazy ... property price skyrocketed. skyhabitat $2000psf for suburban 99LH condo?

Those roaring vtecs soooo loud n dangerous

Gng to bring down resale prices....!!!!!!

:angry:

good leh...no need change exhaust can hear nice vtec roar...shiok leh it's a diff kind of music [laugh]

However in 2007/2008, it seems the banks have held back asking for equity top up on loans. The only property related loans that I heard that got margin calls are OD pledge using property.

MAS is much prepared in 2008 with the experrience in 1997. That's why not much bloodshed on the property market.

its not so much MAS was prepared, they created a "lifeboat" fund but didnt use it much...its becoz of helicopter ben.

talking 2 my private banker frens, they all knew that if d recession didnt bottom in march 2009, another few mths there wld have been massive margin calls, equity top ups etc for their leveraged clients.

Thats y i say 2008-2009 was like a blip, recovered so fast compared to 2000-2004.

I dont dare to predict anything so i dont know if we will have another asian crisis or not. I just have a balanced portfolio thats all. If the smartest fund mgrs have no idea wat will happen next, who are we to predict wat will happen next. just stay prepared up n downside.

Edited by Duckduck

5. the best time of asia still intact with usa and europe region in dire strait. protests and strikes still on going from time to time.

i agree w your pts except these 2. Pls research on china's credit explosion/implosion/rebalancing now, & japan's abenomics risks.

i do not see any catapult that will trigger a crash, equity top up or default

1. interest remain low even with 0.5-1% increase gradually (if rates does goes up). usa and europe cannot survive without low interest rate

2. spore low unemployment rate. with further tightening of FT ... jobs should be secured

3. local bank balance sheet is sibei strong

6. investments and hot money still remain in asia.

properties will sustain and continue to go up ... just much slower compare to last year. 2011-2012 was crazy ... property price skyrocketed. skyhabitat $2000psf for suburban 99LH condo?

Not saying whether it will happen or not.

But when it was staring at our faces back in 2007, who saw it coming?

No near term upside is my view.

Buy if need to stay. For investment, must wait long long before can sell.

I don't believe u didn't see 2007 coming :p

well actually there was lots of disbelievers until after bear stearns was sold to JPM n lehman defaulted, sometime in aug-oct08? the real dumping then started. Many along d way kept believing things wld rebound along d way. But lehman capitulated d mkts n sent all crashing down until mar 2009.

so really it was not easy to see d big crash or rebound

even for own stay, i would rather not buy now. the current price is at a premium.

will see 2014-2016 when ten of thousands units TOP from the crazy launches in 2011-2013

Not saying whether it will happen or not.

But when it was staring at our faces back in 2007, who saw it coming?

No near term upside is my view.

Buy if need to stay. For investment, must wait long long before can sell.

Sb lian leh you

Not Lian lah .. I know how to appreciate the vtec technology ;)

Really nice when vtec kick in one leh ...

even for own stay, i would rather not buy now. the current price is at a premium.

will see 2014-2016 when ten of thousands units TOP from the crazy launches in 2011-2013

Then u can start to go showflat see see look look and target Liao

When the time come ... Whack .. Dun think cos there are alot like you ... Waiting for that golden moment Lolz

I don't believe u didn't see 2007 coming :p

Paiseh, i meant to say, -> Who or how many truly acts before it hit us like a tidal wave?

I saw it but like most, wasnt quite convinced to act on it.

Yes i did sell my property in 2nd half 2007 which was seen as the peak then.

But for other assets i didnt let go and suffered 6figure losses.

Its not only about seeing it coming, but really gathering all your faith and conviction to act on it.

For own stay means that it is to allow your life to move on to next stage.

It is more than simply dollars and cents.

Thats why we work hard for to begin with.

Imagine you already planned for everything and ready to commit and move into your next stage of life.

But becos of the possibility of saving some money, you delay and step into the uncertain.

I think its not necessary lah. But thats me. Different people got duff formula

Paiseh, i meant to say, -> Who or how many truly acts before it hit us like a tidal wave?

I saw it but like most, wasnt quite convinced to act on it.

Yes i did sell my property in 2nd half 2007 which was seen as the peak then.

But for other assets i didnt let go and suffered 6figure losses.

Its not only about seeing it coming, but really gathering all your faith and conviction to act on it.

fully agree

by the time want to act on it, it is usually too late. so just keep.

but never mind lah just paper losses

by now should have recovered and more.

fully agree

by the time want to act on it, it is usually too late. so just keep.

but never mind lah just paper losses

by now should have recovered and more.

i rem in 07, everday i looked at the SHCOMP keep going up i just stayed aside, instead only bought RFMD & THOM. Both also crashed but more than recovered, thats why cash is king is during d crash u may have lost your job etc n u dont want to b forced to liquidate assets for cash. Also like i said 08-09 was a blip, anymore protracted there wld have been serious blood on d streets.

For own stay means that it is to allow your life to move on to next stage.

It is more than simply dollars and cents.

Thats why we work hard for to begin with.

Imagine you already planned for everything and ready to commit and move into your next stage of life.

But becos of the possibility of saving some money, you delay and step into the uncertain.

I think its not necessary lah. But thats me. Different people got duff formula

agreed if it is for own stay it more than dollars and cents ... the objective is move to next stage and not how much return i get if i sell...so it doesnt matter how others see but as long as one can pay for it why not ... if you dun dare to step in now... what makes you think you dare to step in when the so called downfall period has arrived ...

Here is one of my favorite quotes.

What would happen then? [:/]