TVT Supercharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 These are the people whose mentality is that by parking at the higher levels, there is a lower chance of somebody else parking beside their precious ride and maybe denting/scratching their car when opening their doors. But wasting petrol to drive up so high lah.... Also wasting time. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 18000 can caused type like that? You are DK? I can't believe it It is possible, I kena before last year, just the left front tire. I also shocked. Btw, who is DK? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 Calling out to the tyre experts... I realized this morning that there are white nylon threads showing through my left front tyre near the edge... the strange thing is that this tyre shows a lot more wear on the edge ("shoulder" part of the tyre, see pics attached) than the other 3 tyres... and these tyres only have 18000KM on them... do I need to change the tyre immediately? Or change all 4? if your car front wheel drive , most properly your rear 2 pcs tyre still in quite good condition. go check the date of mafu, if its still not too old, mostly u can dun need change all 4 pcs. just change the front 2 pcs to new tyres, and do a alignment check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 It is possible, I kena before last year, just the left front tire. I also shocked. Btw, who is DK? Bro, drift king la deh U sure 18000 can brand new tyre become botak? Simi tyre bro? Cfm Siam far far Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 your car is new car or secondhand? 2.5yrs is the tyre life right? You tyre brand? Continental wat huh? maybe that particular tyre brand/model the threadwear sucks that's why so fast gone. Car model? Maybe those driveing same car can advise... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzmeup Clutched August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 Wah, bro... U very lucky ask for advice... I totally ignored it n my tyres burst 3 days ago whilst on the highway. Luckily I managed to slowly drive out of t highway. Tyre totally gone. Changed all 4 tyres. I have never experienced this in all my years of driving as I usually change my tyres quite regularly. Please change them quickly. Tyres are the only part of the car tt touches the road. Take care Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kt2u 1st Gear August 5, 2013 Author Share August 5, 2013 Thanks bros changed all 4 tyres this afternoon so I'm no longer a road hazard (at least the tyre aspect ;) But in the interest of sharing, my car is a Swedish sedan, bought new in Feb 2011. This is the first and only set of tyres that have clocked approximately 17.5K km mileage faithfully with the car. It's completely stock, Continental CSC3 from factory YOM is 2010. As some of the bros correctly predicted, I live in a HDB Block with MSCP, which typically runs out of parking spaces by 9.30pm so coming home any later than 9pm means parking in a very high floor (if you are lucky enough to find a lot). Apparently most of my 17.5K was spent navigating the MSCP, which explains the left tyre botak syndrome. And I am not a DK. Maybe just occasionally cornering the MSCP ramps too hard... :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Entity 1st Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 Volvo? Depends on model but I think there is no camber adjustment both front and back. Since you already changed your tyres go to a reliable alignment mech and see what he recommends. Did you go back to SM and did you get another set of CSC3? Thanks bros changed all 4 tyres this afternoon so I'm no longer a road hazard (at least the tyre aspect ;) But in the interest of sharing, my car is a Swedish sedan, bought new in Feb 2011. This is the first and only set of tyres that have clocked approximately 17.5K km mileage faithfully with the car. It's completely stock, Continental CSC3 from factory YOM is 2010. As some of the bros correctly predicted, I live in a HDB Block with MSCP, which typically runs out of parking spaces by 9.30pm so coming home any later than 9pm means parking in a very high floor (if you are lucky enough to find a lot). Apparently most of my 17.5K was spent navigating the MSCP, which explains the left tyre botak syndrome. And I am not a DK. Maybe just occasionally cornering the MSCP ramps too hard... :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kt2u 1st Gear August 5, 2013 Author Share August 5, 2013 Didn't go back to SM as I thought they'll probably say it's wear n tear so I didn't bother. Probably going to change to MPV in the next year or two, so got a set of cheap Goodyears. A new set of CSC3s would have set me back 1200 bucks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 U sure 18000 can brand new tyre become botak? Simi tyre bro? Cfm Siam far far It really about how you drive and maintain to make it botak so fast, and on one side, IMO. That time I didn't do wheel alignment, and didn't do tire rotation. So end up one tire botak and 3 in good condition. I've learned my lesson and now do regular alignment/rotation every 8,000 km. Btw, mine was the basic cheap Good Year tires. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzmeup Clutched August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 Good info being shared around Thanks all... Now I have to rethink where I park. I usually park at t higher floors in my office as t lots ar very small n at t higher floors, all of us don't have to wori about squeezed parking lots. Now I know why my tyres become tt way. Realignment is also critical. I did it after I changed t tyres. I will now realign my tyres after 8000km thereabouts also. Drive safe bros Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roberttan 5th Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 if the pic shown is the left front tyre MHO is is common the have left front tyre wear much faster than others 3 due to our popular Multi storey car park (we are climing up mostly Clockwise ) thus the left front has to work much harder. To me is Normal to botak the left front in 18000 km (some could be much lower) The best way (cost effective ) is rotate your 4 wheel regularly (may be every 10km) by your Tyre seller (actually they should advise this when you buy the tyre from them unless they are those shop only want to sell new tyre but NOT after sale maintenance like rotation, puncture repair etc. Base on your pic if your front Right tyre condition is still quite good , you can save your $ not doing alignment (unless you encounter serious pulling after the new tyres replaced) And if you replaced only 2 tyres best place the rear 2 with balancing into front axle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kt2u 1st Gear August 6, 2013 Author Share August 6, 2013 AD quoted me $120 for wheel alignment and $43 for tyre rotation... Hmm which works out to be $326 for 16K km if I do it once per 8K km... Which is the price for a new PC of CSC3... So new tyre better or tyre services better? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 Thanks bros changed all 4 tyres this afternoon so I'm no longer a road hazard (at least the tyre aspect ;) But in the interest of sharing, my car is a Swedish sedan, bought new in Feb 2011. This is the first and only set of tyres that have clocked approximately 17.5K km mileage faithfully with the car. It's completely stock, Continental CSC3 from factory YOM is 2010. As some of the bros correctly predicted, I live in a HDB Block with MSCP, which typically runs out of parking spaces by 9.30pm so coming home any later than 9pm means parking in a very high floor (if you are lucky enough to find a lot). Apparently most of my 17.5K was spent navigating the MSCP, which explains the left tyre botak syndrome. And I am not a DK. Maybe just occasionally cornering the MSCP ramps too hard... :P Your reply is humorous bro haha Wa 18000 I only need 4-6 mths to hit Imagine I changing tyre every 6 mrhs???? Shiong man Last x I on yoko ad07 very high wear rate oso can hit 9-10 mth Unless u totally nv do tyre rotation etc Better do so can lengthen tyre wear Cheers bro safe drive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 It really about how you drive and maintain to make it botak so fast, and on one side, IMO. That time I didn't do wheel alignment, and didn't do tire rotation. So end up one tire botak and 3 in good condition. I've learned my lesson and now do regular alignment/rotation every 8,000 km. Btw, mine was the basic cheap Good Year tires. I always tot I'm DK skidding my ride but I always rotate every servicing n do my alignment Haha jk jk abt DK bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 AD quoted me $120 for wheel alignment and $43 for tyre rotation... Hmm which works out to be $326 for 16K km if I do it once per 8K km... Which is the price for a new PC of CSC3... So new tyre better or tyre services better? For wheel alignment and tyre rotation, there is no need to go back to AD to have those done. Outside reputable tyre ships are better and prices are more competitive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 You gotta check them personally every now and then ... dont rely on wife to check & report. I always pick up all the tell-tale signs after inspection and asked if she had mounted/brushed curb recently etc Agreed. I checked my tires on a weekly basis and ensure tire pressure and conditions are optimal and acceptable. I cannot over-emphasize on the importance of tyres. They are our only contacts on the roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yhn 4th Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 AD quoted me $120 for wheel alignment and $43 for tyre rotation... Hmm which works out to be $326 for 16K km if I do it once per 8K km... Which is the price for a new PC of CSC3... So new tyre better or tyre services better? With 8000km or 10,000 km tyre rotation , do wheel balancing will do. No need wheel alignment unless you hit curb hard, or done some linkage repairs that affects the camber, castor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...