COE refinements to be finalised in next few weeks

Darthrevan

I second the bmw f30 316d. Think it qualifies for a lower road tax since it is euro v. So what is lta going to do? A separate cat for continental cars?

its a D it wont b lower road tax.

It is easy to get around this silly rule.

Restrict the bhp and keep the torque the same lor. Or can even boost the torque while restricting bhp.

There was one version of the 3.0L BMW N52 engine (for some of the parallel imported F10 523i sold in Singapore) which had 310 Nm torque but only 215 bhp. The car still feels good while accelerating from standstill.

We are going to see more of those manufacturers customise their engines for Singapore market.

The LTA simply don't get it.

the news said "must also have an engine power of 97 kilowatts or less, the equivalent of 130 horsepower." ...

why 98 kw only 120bhp?

Err... just want to check mini cooper countryman is under cat a or cat b afterwards ?

the car is not listed..

Output: 98 kw (120 hp) @ 6,000 rpm

Acceleration (0-100 km/h): 11.6 s

Top speed: 182 km/h

Fuel consumption (combined): 7.6 l/100 km

In all honesty, this power thingy in cat A is not going to help at all. AD will still come up with alternatives and swarm the Cat A again.

From now till feb 2014, there will be a buying frenzy (maybe) thus pushing up the premium, come feb, the AD brings in new models that fit into Cat A. All back to sq one.

Finally who win?

Restrict the bhp and keep the torque the same lor. Or can even boost the torque while restricting bhp.

There was one version of the 3.0L BMW N52 engine (for some of the parallel imported F10 523i sold in Singapore) which had 310 Nm torque but only 215 bhp. The car still feels good while accelerating from standstill.

We are going to see more of those manufacturers customise their engines for Singapore market.

seriously I rather they not do anything and say the study is stil in prooggressssss until next year the coe bumper self untangle the mess.

sigh I dun know this time how long the joke is going to last...

the news said "must also have an engine power of 97 kilowatts or less, the equivalent of 130 horsepower." ...

why 98 kw only 120bhp?

dun know leh.. never really notice the kw.. just the bhp when bought the car. 'S' has a lot more bhp ..but didnt like to look of it.

just wondering if it get move to cat B.. then the resale price will be better when i change car [laugh]

A1 is glorified Polo and A3 is glorified Golf mah. At least Merc and BMW have their own platforms and no association with "lesser brands" unlike the VAG products.

Unlike Europe, our market got hatchback and wagon stigma (how many A/B Class or 1-series on our roads?). Sedans are still the preferred choice. The only model I've seen coming close to breaking this mould is the golf (anyone got numbers of jetta vs golf sales with same engine?)

Pity the new A3 sedan doesn't seem to be offered with the 120hp engine, if not will be the atas sedan of Cat A liao. Looks like Jetta will be conti sedan choice, 7-spd DSG huat ah!

A1 is a lux of polo. A3 is the lux model of golf.

What ever u phrase it, its still a lux model. Just look at what had been throw into the car. This is not just a rebadge.

glorified=lux , lux=glorified, sama sama

For those who insists on having a Cat-A German car, here are your choices:

Mass-market Cat-A Germans

Mini

VW Up! 1.0

Opel Agila 1.0

Supermini

VW Polo 1.2T (105hp)

Opel Corsa 1.0

Opel Meriva 1.4: MPV

Subcompact

VW Golf 1.2T (105hp)

Opel GTC 1.4T (120hp): Sports

VW Eos 1.4T (122hp): Sports

VW Scirocco 1.4T (122hp): Sports

VW Beatle 1.2T (105hp)

Compact

VW Jetta 1.2T (105hp)

Opel Astra Sedan/Tourer 1.4T (120hp)

Opel Cascada 1.4T (120hp)

VW Tiguan 1.4T (122hp): SUV

Opel Mokka 1.4T (120hp): SUV

VW Touran 1.2T (105hp): MPV

Opel Zafira 1.4T (120hp): MPV

Midsize

VW Passat 1.4T (122hp)

Premium Cat-A Germans

Supermini

Audi A1 1.4T (122hp)

Subcompact

Mercedes-Benz A180 (122hp)

BMW 114i (102hp)

Audi A3 1.4T (122hp)

Mercedes-Benz CLA180 (122hp): Sports

Mercedes-Benz B180 (122hp): MPV

Compact

BMW 316d EfficientDynamics Edition (116hp) (2014, TBA)

Ooi beng you! Tiguan only 122hp? Wu Yia Boh?

it's not LTA don't get it ... it's an easy way out

the excuse of not using OMV because of currency fluctuation is a flaw argument

if COE renewal can using moving average, OMV also can use 6 months moving average to determine whether it is CAT A or B

however, using a new formula such as OMV moving average got a lot of preparations and things to do

by using 130bhp ... as long as the car specifications is stated <130bhp ... as simple as the car is label at 1600cc it is automatically CAT A ... no further calculation need to be done

whether people play cheat of bringing detune engine and then retune engine ... that's an offense if stated in law

however, if use moving average OMV ... there is a lot of paperworks and processes

no one likes additional paperworks and processes ...

besides, even the same car got different OMV because different specs ... ie: some got auto cruise control some don't have, dealer bring in different specs at different time based on their promotion, etc

hence, it is also very difficult to determine the moving OMV ... the up/down of OMV is more likely due to dealer specs than currency fluctuation

AD OMV vs PI OMV for the same car ... AD = CAT B and PI = CAT A because of stripdown specs? [laugh]

i understand the difficulty of using OMV to determine CAT A or B

at the end of the day, a simple and easy way is chosen ... based on the engine capacity and power

As a first time car owner, there are positive effects, the exhilaration, how many of you queuing up for senior citizen hood can remember that joy?

1. COE must be affordable to a certain income group, who have arrived through their hard work and ability. They get to buy car, period.

2. The rules and regulations are just actions to accommodate this group.

3. The group already car owners who wish status quo or to upgrade their carriage. What income group they at?

4. Finite space, some fellow in maths phd can tell me how much car population we can sarpork? Car park and on the road et cetera?

Some broad parameters that I think the panel operated by.

Are some powerful companies coming in to redo the commercial

Vehicle landscape?drive up COE then sink transport companies and take over? My friend call father mother and grandparents, his company going submarine act, needed to loan 200 just for COE for new lorries.

I believe this new set up still allow new owners to buy car and regulate borderline people from owning car.

Keep the rich happy that they get good deal so they spend more. ESP FT with foreign capital. Wah ah tiong plunk down 100k cash for altis, want or not? That Indian bought the Lexus with funds from Delhi. Drool.

Now ang mo luck sek.

Personally I think this new ruling is nonsense to new car owner, just can I still afford a car that is million dollar question.

Lor mee with vinegar juay juay.

dun know leh.. never really notice the kw.. just the bhp when bought the car. 'S' has a lot more bhp ..but didnt like to look of it.

just wondering if it get move to cat B.. then the resale price will be better when i change car [laugh]

Actually, it is true that time when I was buying car the Camary, Merc 180, Volvo and BMW 118 all going at the same price and same Bhp. So ppl will go for a CAT A car as the COE, taxes, etc is lower.

Edited by Princey_anne

LTA will not allow customisation (according to their press release). The model has to be something sold elsewhere.

In all honesty, this power thingy in cat A is not going to help at all. AD will still come up with alternatives and swarm the Cat A again.

From now till feb 2014, there will be a buying frenzy (maybe) thus pushing up the premium, come feb, the AD brings in new models that fit into Cat A. All back to sq one.

Finally who win?

Agreed. The point that you brought up above has been widely covered in both newspaper and sgcarforum.

Sigh...Too bad it wasn't THAT obvious to those who made the decision. [bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry]

1.4TSI has 2 version lah.

actually you havent confirm my question.

1.4TSI got few variant 122 BHP, 140BHP and 160BHP.

i remember 122BHP is only turbo charge while 160 BHP is Twin Charge (super and turbo charge)

So 140BHP varian is Twin charge De-tune?? or Turbo charge tune up?? [confused]