WongShiYuen 1st Gear December 29, 2018 Share December 29, 2018 Ringgit or sing$? SGD... :( ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged December 29, 2018 Share December 29, 2018 SGD... :( https://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2677790-nissan-stockist/?fromsearch=1 Call one of the Nissan stockists in the above thread and ask for the price of your alternator. Then you roughly know what is the min price of your repair, which is you buy the part yourself and the ws charge a 100 bucks to change for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WangWang888 5th Gear December 29, 2018 Share December 29, 2018 Hi all, I'm new to this forum. Just paid $1980 (before GST) for a 2015 Nissan Sylphy 1.6L alternator replacement. I believe I have been overcharged. The breakdown of cost as shown: Original New Alternator $1900 Workmanship $80 Opinions please? Which ws? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WongShiYuen 1st Gear December 29, 2018 Share December 29, 2018 Which ws? GSC Auto Service, admiralty https://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2677790-nissan-stockist/?fromsearch=1 Call one of the Nissan stockists in the above thread and ask for the price of your alternator. Then you roughly know what is the min price of your repair, which is you buy the part yourself and the ws charge a 100 bucks to change for you. Thank you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear December 29, 2018 Share December 29, 2018 GSC Auto Service, admiralty Thank you kena big time robert already. 1900 for a alternator? more ex than a conti one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WongShiYuen 1st Gear December 29, 2018 Share December 29, 2018 kena big time robert already. 1900 for a alternator? more ex than a conti one.WS said 1900 is already after a $200 discount Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 Hi all, I'm new to this forum. Just paid $1980 (before GST) for a 2015 Nissan Sylphy 1.6L alternator replacement. I believe I have been overcharged. The breakdown of cost as shown: Original New Alternator $1900 Workmanship $80 Opinions please? For Cat A Jap car, the price range is around $600 to $800 for new alternator since Cat A cars have smaller alternator capacity. $200 to $300 for recon. For Cat B, cars with bigger cc need larger alternator is around $1000 to $1200. Conti cars will be sightly higher. For e.g, I change my Toyota Premio 1500cc alternator 1 year ago at around $750 including installation. (Original and new) My bro in law change his Toyota wish 1800cc alternator at around $850 including installation. (Original and new) This should give you a rough gauge. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2s1 3rd Gear December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 (edited) Hi all, I'm new to this forum. Just paid $1980 (before GST) for a 2015 Nissan Sylphy 1.6L alternator replacement. I believe I have been overcharged. The breakdown of cost as shown: Original New Alternator $1900 Workmanship $80 Opinions please? I paid $800 last year to change alternator at Mazda AD for old Mazda 3.Which workshop please share, blacklist! Edited December 30, 2018 by S2s1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WongShiYuen 1st Gear December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 For Cat A Jap car, the price range is around $600 to $800 for new alternator since Cat A cars have smaller alternator capacity. $200 to $300 for recon. For Cat B, cars with bigger cc need larger alternator is around $1000 to $1200. Conti cars will be sightly higher. For e.g, I change my Toyota Premio 1500cc alternator 1 year ago at around $750 including installation. (Original and new) My bro in law change his Toyota wish 1800cc alternator at around $850 including installation. (Original and new) This should give you a rough gauge. Thanks for the information! I definitely have been ripped off big time. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 WS said 1900 is already after a $200 discount the kind of price you paid can change 2 times at least. lesson learnt, avoid such carrot chop workshop at all cost next time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 (edited) For Cat A Jap car, the price range is around $600 to $800 for new alternator since Cat A cars have smaller alternator capacity. $200 to $300 for recon. For Cat B, cars with bigger cc need larger alternator is around $1000 to $1200. Conti cars will be sightly higher. For e.g, I change my Toyota Premio 1500cc alternator 1 year ago at around $750 including installation. (Original and new) My bro in law change his Toyota wish 1800cc alternator at around $850 including installation. (Original and new) This should give you a rough gauge. My Cat B lao pok car brand new Bosch alternator only $330 then plus another $150 for labor to fit. I still have my old alternator but not sure if it’s worth the trouble to recon the brushes and bearings. Edited December 30, 2018 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 Thanks for the information! I definitely have been ripped off big time. You are welcome and just treat it as a lesson learnt. Don't panic the next time. Can always asked around for good workshop or compare pricing before repair. You should try to get yourself a few good and reliable workshop for your Nissan. For normal servicing, maintenance or repair, you can try Autoaid (specialise in Nissan) 48 Toh Guan Rd East, Singapore 608586 6795 9618 / 9618 9220 For car aircon or compressor issues, L & Kim Air Conditioning 3023A Ubi Rd 1, Singapore 408717 6748 7467 My Cat B lao pok car brand new Bosch alternator only $330 then plus another $150 for labor to fit. I still have my old alternator but not sure if it’s worth the trouble to recon the brushes and bearings. its sometimes depends on the country of origin or sources. There is also fake or OEM alternator from Malaysia / China which is very cheap. Their packaging is the same as the original alternator. You can keep your old alternator as spare lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 GSC Auto Service, admiralty Thank you Not to pour more cold water, Maybe you should check with the local agent tan Chong . Any outside workshop which charges more should be written off. It’s only an alternator, for sure it cannot be more expensive than the agent. With the agent you are 100% assured of genuine parts and it come with a warranty of at least 6mths to 1 year I think. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 Ringgit or sing$? wah lau, this question hurts big time!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 Thanks for the information! I definitely have been ripped off big time. Ok lah, happens to everybody one time or another. Now this becomes your experience, and we all this WS can siam far far away.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 Seems like this workshop also has some bad rep from 5 years ago. Anyway I have learnt to avoid all workshops who advertise heavily. General feedback is no business that’s why need heavy advertisement. Those good workshops cannot even cope with the daily load, why bother to advertise and increase the load further. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 (edited) Hi all, I'm new to this forum. Just paid $1980 (before GST) for a 2015 Nissan Sylphy 1.6L alternator replacement. I believe I have been overcharged. The breakdown of cost as shown: Original New Alternator $1900 Workmanship $80 Opinions please? Hi, if it's me. I will check price with Tan Chong and one of the popular stockist. Then I will go down GSC, speak to a manager or someone with authority and ask "nicely" whether there is an error in billing. I feel it's pointless to argue with them anymore. Just confirm that that $1900 is indeed the discounted price !!! And with that, I will post on all social media available !!!! $1,900 is ta ma de too much man !!!! Edited December 30, 2018 by Othello 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 Hi, if it's me. I will check price with Tan Chong and one of the popular stockist. Then I will go down GSC, speak to a manager or someone with authority and ask "nicely" whether there is an error in billing. I feel it's pointless to argue with them anymore. Just confirm that that $1900 is indeed the discounted price !!! And with that, I will post on all social media available !!!! $1,900 is ta ma de too much man !!!! I paid PML $1k for BMW Battery and alternator. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...