Mason016 Supersonic December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 An old photo of my ship crew. Look at the number of ppl staying onboard this little ship!!! Oh ya, that time my ship is the only MCV with female ship crew. Those were the days...................... RSS Vengeance crew.jpg LOL! Can still say you low profile one... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 (edited) Adrianli, on 23 Dec 2015 - 3:30 PM, said:Adrianli, on 23 Dec 2015 - 3:30 PM, said: An old photo of my ship crew. Look at the number of ppl staying onboard this little ship!!! Oh ya, that time my ship is the only MCV with female ship crew. Those were the days...................... RSS Vengeance crew.jpg wow got charbo on board.... at least life on waters not so dull hor? Edited December 23, 2015 by Sunny 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 My time in BSM was Encik Ishak, quite a nice guy, don't really pick much on our uniform, maybe we were quite on the ball during those days. As for the crossing the Equator, I participated once, when I was first posted to L201. The following few crossing, I was the one tekaning the midshipman and fellow ship crew . During those days we are fortunate to have the best chief cook and cooks for the whole of 191 squadron, we had the best food during underway and along side. I still remember one of the MSTD trip, our chief cook 'cheong' with our CO, our night snack is port bean and starboard bean for alternate night till we along side TNB..... whole shipcrew make hell lots of noise ...... What is ur vocation during ur time in RSN? Crossing the line was on Excellence I think & I took part as a Shellback even though I had never crossed it before. My kakis allowed that based on the virtue I was an instructor but sportingly I took off my Shellback "uniform" and went through the whole nine yards as a pollywog. Swee bo? For non-navy folks, it was an eye-opener to see a Major, a couple of Captains and quite a few LTAs & 2LTs going through the ceremony. Those from the army would never imagine a chow LCP doing stuff on officers & could get away with it haha. You still have the certificate of the line crossing ceremony? Better keep it and show when on board any navy ship else will kena again. My vocation? Can tell you but will have to execute a terminate with extreme prejudice operation on you thereafter LOL! Can still say you low profile one... He panjang fella how to low profile? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endurance201 2nd Gear December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 Crossing the line was on Excellence I think & I took part as a Shellback even though I had never crossed it before. My kakis allowed that based on the virtue I was an instructor but sportingly I took off my Shellback "uniform" and went through the whole nine yards as a pollywog. Swee bo? For non-navy folks, it was an eye-opener to see a Major, a couple of Captains and quite a few LTAs & 2LTs going through the ceremony. Those from the army would never imagine a chow LCP doing stuff on officers & could get away with it haha. You still have the certificate of the line crossing ceremony? Better keep it and show when on board any navy ship else will kena again. My vocation? Can tell you but will have to execute a terminate with extreme prejudice operation on you thereafter He panjang fella how to low profile? Crossing equator cert don't know where I keep them, maybe throw away already. None of your ship crew look similar to me except your skipper..... Our ship took the very first batch of lady mids for the MSTD, u know ships are call "her", when there is lady onboard, very suay one....so many weird incident happened. This first batch of lady mids were supposed to go MSTD onboard 201, however, we had some issues on our main deck, therefore 202 took over the task. After slip off for one day one night, they had an collusion, the A gun have to BER. Came back along side BNB, one OJT got electrocute during transfer of stores. Luckily he was ok..... It took us 24hrs to transfer all stores and ration and we slip of immediately after that. That was the toughest MSTD I had ever been to... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 Crossing equator cert don't know where I keep them, maybe throw away already. None of your ship crew look similar to me except your skipper..... Our ship took the very first batch of lady mids for the MSTD, u know ships are call "her", when there is lady onboard, very suay one....so many weird incident happened. This first batch of lady mids were supposed to go MSTD onboard 201, however, we had some issues on our main deck, therefore 202 took over the task. After slip off for one day one night, they had an collusion, the A gun have to BER. Came back along side BNB, one OJT got electrocute during transfer of stores. Luckily he was ok..... It took us 24hrs to transfer all stores and ration and we slip of immediately after that. That was the toughest MSTD I had ever been to... Wait. The female MIDS were one tall & one stocky girl right? BTW the photo you are referring to belongs to bro Adrian, not mine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 Looks like the Navy is really about the Sun, Sand and Sea. So fun .. For the rest of us in the Army .. it's always the mud, mosquitoes and misery. Tekan, cheong sua, bang bang bang, cheong sua, tekan. After Area D, sneak out to Neo Tiew hawker centre (last time still live people there) to buy tao huay chwee was the only pleasure. Not exactly but close lo for folks from the never always volunteer yourself organisation Army is more regimental with more emphasis on command & control l feel. Orders are expected to be strictly followed and those with a chip on the shoulder tend to often show power that they are boss lo. But makan in general navy beats army hands down any time during my days. They were really into providing decent food to navy servicemen & during my time almost all my food settled at their cookhouse. Canteen only once in a blue moon. Only trouble was must be in no. 3 to go there have your meals whereas in army you can go there in your no. 4. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 Talking about suay. We sail to Taiwan, engine piang. RSN had to fly in spare and two enciks to help do top overhaul of engine. We sail to India, engine piang again. This time already got spare and two enciks. Repairing engine while out at sea and overseas is a nightmare!!! But really tough training and everyone work along side one another. Even encik also get hands dirty. Then just out from drydock, the engine piang. This type tua diao. STM mechanics never tighten the bottom end bearing, engine block one hole. Whole engine has to BER. Somemore, I was chief of watch when the engine piang. KNN, kena write report during BOI. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 Wah... Didn't know our RSN can do their own overhaul of engines.... What about aligning and boring and all that stuff? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 Now it should have improved with private provider. Last time, the army cookhouse food was literally sai. Yes, I said sai, not KNS, but literally sai. People can fall sick eating because there was no hygiene to talk about. I think the Army wasted more money and food in the old cookhouse than they pay to the private providers now, I feel it was one right thing they did after a long time. Had tried SFI food in Seletar Camp before so tend to agree with you. Got chicken thigh plus ice cream some more. WOW! For the 1st 10 months I really pui pui pui army food. BMT my buddy threw a peeled hard-boiled egg on the ground and the damn thing actually bounced a bit without breaking!!! Food really sucks in Tekong & SAFTI. Only saving grave was SAFTI got a good canteen in SAFINCOS so not so bad. Didnt actually go CCO canteen which folks say food not bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 Wah... Didn't know our RSN can do their own overhaul of engines.... What about aligning and boring and all that stuff? Engine makers do conduct courses for us at our training institute. Got practical and theory test to past. No pass, ranking drop, SQN will not allow you to be promoted to next appoinment. In RSN, my time, we replace, no re-use. Out at sea, its one to one swap. One cylinder pichar, we swap new cylinder and head. Not easy when ship is rocking and the bloody engine room so cramp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 (edited) Talking about suay. We sail to Taiwan, engine piang. RSN had to fly in spare and two enciks to help do top overhaul of engine. We sail to India, engine piang again. This time already got spare and two enciks. Repairing engine while out at sea and overseas is a nightmare!!! But really tough training and everyone work along side one another. Even encik also get hands dirty. Then just out from drydock, the engine piang. This type tua diao. STM mechanics never tighten the bottom end bearing, engine block one hole. Whole engine has to BER. Somemore, I was chief of watch when the engine piang. KNN, kena write report during BOI. Ours not so dramatic. (a) Before set sail they fumigated ship.....& we had to endure rotting smell of dead rats for the next 7 weeks; (b) Ship executed a hard turn while underway during one of the nights which nobody explained the reason till this day. Some of us actually fell out of our beds in the cabins. Many conspiracy theories with the most popular being we almost hit another vessel or sub © Outside Darwin sea state was quite bad...& they served hamburgers as night snack. Needless to say many merlioned with meat patties. Gross.... (d) Divers went checking ship underside in the morning while in Darwin & CO cancelled their next dive. Reason? Sharks big and small swimming around. Some other interesting stuff but will save it till another time. On board the ship got yellow box ? You mean for smoke break? Not sure about MGBs or MCVs but LSTs don't have. All smokers went quarterdeck to release smoke. Those days don't have yellow boxes iirc. Edited December 23, 2015 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 Vulcann, I am confused. You are not pti ah? How come you get to go on board the ship? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endurance201 2nd Gear December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 Wait. The female MIDS were one tall & one stocky girl right? BTW the photo you are referring to belongs to bro Adrian, not mine. I remember there is a chubby one and a tall one. When they are onboard we have to be dress properly. Knn can't get used to it.... There was once we had a engine break down during entering one river into Kuching, Sarawak. A small river, we almost block the whole river when one of engine piang. Our MEO (three bar) repairing, our Chief ERA below passing necessary tools to him. Rest of the MEs stand round the engine watching.....We had to flew one turbo charger to replace it. All the technical personnel did not go for shore leave the next day, all standby onboard to change the turbo charger...... Engine makers do conduct courses for us at our training institute. Got practical and theory test to past. No pass, ranking drop, SQN will not allow you to be promoted to next appoinment. In RSN, my time, we replace, no re-use. Out at sea, its one to one swap. One cylinder pichar, we swap new cylinder and head. Not easy when ship is rocking and the bloody engine room so cramp. Adrianli, you were MEs? Which batch are u from? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 I remember there is a chubby one and a tall one. When they are onboard we have to be dress properly. Knn can't get used to it.... There was once we had a engine break down during entering one river into Kuching, Sarawak. A small river, we almost block the whole river when one of engine piang. Our MEO (three bar) repairing, our Chief ERA below passing necessary tools to him. Rest of the MEs stand round the engine watching.....We had to flew one turbo charger to replace it. All the technical personnel did not go for shore leave the next day, all standby onboard to change the turbo charger...... Adrianli, you were MEs? Which batch are u from? Dip02 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 (edited) Road march OK lah, Defence is the killer ... sleep dep ... i weak. Missed the 24klick and POP at BMT, had stomach flu. Lost about 4kg in one week. By the remarch came back, still on MC. First time in my life, had minimal abdominal fat haha I did the 32klick at sispec, that was mother shack man, walking around at 4am in reclaimed land... even the instructors were shack. The 24 at MOCC was also shack. I couldn't raise one of my legs after that. Sprained one of my deep hip flexors somewhere along the way. That time old liao. Really admire the warrants, damade 40+ year old still walk and walk. Edited December 23, 2015 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 Vulcann, I am confused. You are not pti ah? How come you get to go on board the ship? Oh my posting was to rsn after spt lo. Reservist kena dumped to sce.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 Oh my posting was to rsn after spt lo. Reservist kena dumped to sce.... I thought those guys just sat around at the pool all day. You mean you get to board the ship? What did you have to do at sce? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear December 23, 2015 Share December 23, 2015 I remember there is a chubby one and a tall one. When they are onboard we have to be dress properly. Knn can't get used to it.... There was once we had a engine break down during entering one river into Kuching, Sarawak. A small river, we almost block the whole river when one of engine piang. Our MEO (three bar) repairing, our Chief ERA below passing necessary tools to him. Rest of the MEs stand round the engine watching.....We had to flew one turbo charger to replace it. All the technical personnel did not go for shore leave the next day, all standby onboard to change the turbo charger...... Adrianli, you were MEs? Which batch are u from? The truth was there were 4 of them initially: the tall one, the errr...stocky one, the thin one & the short one. The latter two dropped out unfortunately. I was supposed to go for their MSTD but let my junior go instead. You forgot to mention previously woman was not supposed to go into ship's engine rooms but nowadays bo liao. I thought those guys just sat around at the pool all day. You mean you get to board the ship? What did you have to do at sce? You were referring to my batch boy who got posted to SNT. The other went to NDU. These two flunked their IPPT lo then kena suan by the PT & Sports sa tong lo. Damn malu man. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...