Bringing a nice & new luggage bag to China...think again

LoverofCar

10 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Ahemmm....reviving an old thread...

Any idea where to get just this zipper for luggage bag inner compartment? I is boh liu to buy new luggage...😅

IMG_20221120_114406.jpg

IMG_20221120_114414.jpg

Go to those luggage repair shop?

2 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Go to those luggage repair shop?

Thanks but MLMLWML...kena charge half the price of my cheapo luggage is not worth it. Especially it's a simple diy fix...tempted to pry my son's skoolbag to this...😁

1 minute ago, mersaylee said:

Thanks but MLMLWML...kena charge half the price of my cheapo luggage is not worth it. Especially it's a simple diy fix...tempted to pry my son's skoolbag to this...😁

Those store at market that altered shirts,  jeans etc.... maybe have zip..

46 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Those store at market that altered shirts,  jeans etc.... maybe have zip..

Unlikely they can do the job.

50 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Hopefully it is a simple DIY

1 hour ago, Jman888 said:

DIY change the whole zip?

No lah just that broken slider not the entire assembly...i donno how to stitch the "teeth" till that kind of level

24 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

No lah just that broken slider not the entire assembly...i donno how to stitch the "teeth" till that kind of level

Unpick the very end of the zip with the metal clip. Then thread in both sides. 

1 hour ago, mersaylee said:

Yeah crazy prices to repair. For luggage buy a cheapie one, then use and throw when broken. Last time also gong gong send in luggage to repair. No more being dumb liao

12 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Unpick the very end of the zip with the metal clip. Then thread in both sides. 

Slider broken liao...i was too zealous to pry open to fit in the teeth lines...😅

Lazada has plenty to choose from but need it quite urgently...

12 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Yeah crazy prices to repair. For luggage buy a cheapie one, then use and throw when broken. Last time also gong gong send in luggage to repair. No more being dumb liao

The luggage itself is still fully functional except for that inner zipper...albeit aged and been heavily used...thinking of one lust trip with it before it gets retired and use as storage box...

2 hours ago, mersaylee said:

my mother was a seamstress.
She say never bother to replace the slider.
u need to replace the whole zip. It will be quite suboptimal.