Mindef banned nsfs from singing "purple light".

BabyBlade

The original lyric was

Booking out see my girlfriend

Saw her with another man

Very sad, when back to army

With my rifles and my buddies and me.

There is no rape and beating. Like that might as well ban singing all together.

There are no original lyrics to most army songs. Every unit/ batch changes the lyrics due to a multitude of reasons. Somebody decided to sing it that way, too bad and AWARE happen to pick on it.

Didn't know posted Liao.

Dude during my time , the version was

Saw her with

another man

Broken heart

back to army

With my rifle and my buddy and me

I didn't know when it was changed but i am pretty sure nothing is wrong when you are protecting your nation and someone grabs your woman. Do you want others to invade your country and grab your woman and you cannot do anything to get back your woman ? Then what is the point of serving the nation? Protect what? The song is probably meant to motivate the boy to protect whatever is theirs , so what is wrong? Maybe "rape" is too offensive , tell that to Bangladesh or India or even our neighbor , if you got no balls to do it publicly there, don't champion it here.

If really in war , please tell AWARE to take up weapons and fight ok , i hide at home. Protect the nation so that i lose my woman and what i have? Then it goes back to the same reason , why do i serve? But for the hypocrite which have not served , you probably not know what i am talking about. You really think back then Singapore had conscription for fun? They were prepare to fight.

There are no original lyrics to most army songs. Every unit/ batch changes the lyrics due to a multitude of reasons. Somebody decided to sing it that way, too bad and AWARE happen to pick on it.

Time for underwear then we propose to remove women chapter.

wait a minute, where do AWARE get their fundings? Are those 'volunteer' paid in any form? Who appointed them? Are they public or private organization? Can we start another one to champion for male rights? Maybe we should call it UNDERWARE.

HAHAHAHA!!! UNDERWARE!! nice one there!!

AWARE should aware that only song sung during training, 5BX or road match would lift up the spirit of the men in the company/platoon .... [sly]

Imagine road match with everybody keeping quiet would wear out a soldier faster .. [sweatdrop]

And they should also must aware that song sung in bed is a different thing... [lipsrsealed]

Maybe they are scared that all the NSF will get brain-washed singing all these songs. And then we will have more rapists and murderers in 20 years time [sly]

OK, I'm going to stick out like a sore thumb here, but here goes:

The latest lyrics talks about rape and it is rape YOUR OWN girlfriend leh.

Isn't there something fundamentally wrong about it?

And it is in the scenario where she run off with another man, not play acting out some fantasy, so it is done with vengence.

I see some comments in this forum before that a man should never hit a woman, under any circumstance. But now there is such strong support for the lyrics?

I don't get it.

Is it because it is being proposed by AWARE?

Putting aside whether it is AWARE or any other organisation driving this, I think the lyrics needs to be changed.

And I see some comments about AWARE asking for equal rights. Are they asking for equal rights here? I don't see anything like that.

Bashing AWARE is one thing, defending the lyrics is quite another.

And it is in the scenario where she run off with another man, not play acting out some fantasy, so it is done with vengence.

I see some comments in this forum before that a man should never hit a woman, under any circumstance. But now there is such strong support for the lyrics?

I don't get it.

Putting aside whether it is AWARE or any other organisation driving this, I think the lyrics needs to be changed.

And I see some comments about AWARE asking for equal rights. Are they asking for equal rights here? I don't see anything like that.

You are absolutely spot on and most people would agree with you.

The problem here is AWARE has never been the most popular organization in a male dominated forum and they are picking on a subject matter so trivial does not bode well for their reputation. The lyrics are politically/ socially/ morally wrong BUT when has anyone of us who gone through the system became a rapist/ killer because we sang those lyrics during NS?

To make a mountain out of a molehill is understandable given that it is largely a collection of women sitting around with nothing better to do but to infer that we do not have the commons sense to differentiate between banter and reality while entrusting us with the security of our nation is another.

I don't get it.

Just wondering if you have served the army?

Yes the lyrics may have been wrong somewhere there with vengeance or what not. But the fundamental purpose of the entire song was to boost the morale of the soldiers. It is not like as though it is running a campaign to encourage soldiers to go out and rape their gf who has left with another man. Besides, how many soldiers actually really did that?

Also, everyone believe that the soldiers are well trained enough as a man to understand that the purpose of the song is to cheer everyone closer and encourage moving forward.

If AWARE wants to take every tiny wee bit of such things and "make a difference" out of it, then perhaps they can even start complaining that man shouldn't stand and pee..

imo is coz this song has been ard for dam long already nobody n i dun thk anyone takes it seriously in fact i cant rem myself wat were the exact lyrics coz it was just a form of passing time during road march etc.

seems more like aware being kaypo thats y i brought d issue abt womens charter. anyone go ROM got see the women charter but y must they still have such old world law to protect women when nowadays women earn equal or more than men & society isnt as biased towards women as 30-40yrs ago? i guess im just arguing for arguments sake coz long time never post on this forum lol

Actually, I don't think it is about our soldiers becoming rapist or anything, but it is about respect. Respecting the other gender, respecting your own girlfriend. If you have a girlfriend and you sing such lyrics, your mind will go to your own girlfriend right? How to think about her and then sing such lyrics? I don't understand. Your own girlfriend is also someone's daughter, you know? If next time your daughter becomes someone's girlfriend and you hear him sing such lyrics, will laugh it off as nothing but a song meh?

You are absolutely spot on and most people would agree with you.

The problem here is AWARE has never been the most popular organization in a male dominated forum and they are picking on a subject matter so trivial does not bode well for their reputation. The lyrics are politically/ socially/ morally wrong BUT when has anyone of us who gone through the system became a rapist/ killer because we sang those lyrics during NS?

To make a mountain out of a molehill is understandable given that it is largely a collection of women sitting around with nothing better to do but to infer that we do not have the commons sense to differentiate between banter and reality while entrusting us with the security of our nation is another.

Yes, I served.

I don't disagree about the purpose of the song, but the particular lines of the lyrics that have become what it is, does singing those lines boost your morale as a soldier? Personally, it does not do so for me. What boosts my morale is protecting my loved ones and everything I care for, not thinking or singing about raping my girlfriend if she does wrong by me and runs off with another man. Again I say it is not about whether anyone puts it into action, but about decency. I'm no saint, but I certainly don't think I'm the worse for it, morale wise or anything, by not singing about raping my own girlfriend. It does not make or break or build morale.

Just wondering if you have served the army?

Yes the lyrics may have been wrong somewhere there with vengeance or what not. But the fundamental purpose of the entire song was to boost the morale of the soldiers. It is not like as though it is running a campaign to encourage soldiers to go out and rape their gf who has left with another man. Besides, how many soldiers actually really did that?

Also, everyone believe that the soldiers are well trained enough as a man to understand that the purpose of the song is to cheer everyone closer and encourage moving forward.

If AWARE wants to take every tiny wee bit of such things and "make a difference" out of it, then perhaps they can even start complaining that man shouldn't stand and pee..

you see, the issue is not about,supporting rape and beat girlfriend. Its okay if they say ban the lyric of rape and beat girlfriend. Which is not suppose to be the correct lyric anyway. But they ban the whole song or so the website reported. Any song can be alter to rape and beat women. Should we then ban singing completely?

Actually, I don't think it is about our soldiers becoming rapist or anything, but it is about respect. Respecting the other gender, respecting your own girlfriend. If you have a girlfriend and you sing such lyrics, your mind will go to your own girlfriend right? How to think about her and then sing such lyrics? I don't understand. Your own girlfriend is also someone's daughter, you know? If next time your daughter becomes someone's girlfriend and you hear him sing such lyrics, will laugh it off as nothing but a song meh?

Yes, I served.

I don't disagree about the purpose of the song, but the particular lines of the lyrics that have become what it is, does singing those lines boost your morale as a soldier? Personally, it does not do so for me. What boosts my morale is protecting my loved ones and everything I care for, not thinking or singing about raping my girlfriend if she does wrong by me and runs off with another man. Again I say it is not about whether anyone puts it into action, but about decency. I'm no saint, but I certainly don't think I'm the worse for it, morale wise or anything, by not singing about raping my own girlfriend. It does not make or break or build morale.

I personally think the current lyrics aren't very tasteful but as with all things, if there's nothing wrong with the current system, why change it? It's not as if the lyrics have led to a spike of sudden rape cases linked to NS-men and their cheating girlfriends.

Though since this has been brought up by AWARE (probably some NS men went to tell their gfs about it or posted on Facebook, and some self-righteous women blew it out of proportion), MINDEF has to be answerable to the public already. No choice.

I am sure MINDEF knew about this all along but don't see a need to deal with it TILL AWARE came into the picture and for this period they will be warned to clean up the language and lyrics used in Army.

But once this "saga" cools down, life will still go on, cheating cases will still happen (with or without NS), lyrics will still be changed. [:)]