COE issue

Tanahseng

Welcome to Singapore Folks!

More like Sillypore or Stinkapore. [:|]

Do a search for Scrap Yard in sgcarmart and call up them up to get a few quotes.

From what these scrap yards told me, unless it's a high omv conti, most others will be scrapped instead of being exported.

I heard last time many of our BnB Jap cars were exported to S.Africa. Maybe there is still a market there?

Thanks bro. With steel rims, could get 11/litre w gentle foot when car was very new. Did grounding around 17k mileage, didn't seem to help. Maybe coz I installed K & N concurrently.

Looking at rear rack. $50? didn't know it was so affordable. From where? New or 2nd hand?

Car for transport. Bicycles are for the kid's weekend usage. I don't really cycle. But those I saw at Pasi Ris kiosk, the children's bicycles still ok standard lah.

Should u revert to bike, which bike you considering ?

Then try to put back the original air filter n see if yr FC improves. Which points did u ground?

Few years back so many places selling rear bicycle rack brand new. Some for 2 bikes n some for 3. Maybe u can Google n see who is still selling it now. I used to see some bicycle shops selling. Get a good one wil b much safer.

If the bicycles at Pasir Ris r OK, then hire them more practical lah.

Bike something like a Honda 4 400cc or similar. Prob coming to 10 years old or already has a renewed COE. I saw one last week damm good condition. I hear the engine very nice. I asked the owner if he wan to sell. He say he also going to renew COE n ride another 10 years. Hahaha.

It might take some time to find a good 10 year old bike but I am in no hurry.

Then try to put back the original air filter n see if yr FC improves. Which points did u ground?

Few years back so many places selling rear bicycle rack brand new. Some for 2 bikes n some for 3. Maybe u can Google n see who is still selling it now. I used to see some bicycle shops selling. Get a good one wil b much safer.

Bike something like a Honda 4 400cc or similar. Prob coming to 10 years old or already has a renewed COE. I saw one last week damm good condition. I hear the engine very nice. I asked the owner if he wan to sell. He say he also going to renew COE n ride another 10 years. Hahaha.

my neighbour just bought an old Vulcan with leather saddle bags hanging on the sides, COOL!!!

1 9km/L is low for such a car, my son's 22yr old 1.6 hatchback is still doing 12km/L

2 when we go cycling together to check out which park connectors attrack cyclists of all sexes?

3 everyday can be a track day, when TP is not around

4 scrap it and get two good bicycles, one for you, one for me!!

5 yes, its crazy to renew coe at 70k!!! btw, lets say coe drops to 20k, ok to renew?

whatever FC we get its still going to be costly to drive if the tank is filled with sgp petrol

1) Dunno why but many Getz owners I spoke to said FC about there. Seems this car has a high FC.

2) Best sud n Marine Parade/East Coast on weekends.

3) Ya I do 130-140kmh on the eways when TP is having his bfast/lunch/dinner break.

4) I sud get a bicycle built for 2 n give a XMM ride better.

5) COE around $20K still can swallow. Last time my Corona CD renew COE at $36K. Total I paid abt $50K for car to use another 10 years. Depreciation at $5K/year is still OK.

And yes. Thats why I go JB every week. Petrol at half price.

Could be last time those corolla and sunny really built to last. Even today you can still find some of these cars running on the road. The other day i saw one 2000 corolla with a plate QEQ somemore!

I still see a 1990 COE Corona CD at my MSCP. It is used everyday summore. Really a solid workhorse.

my neighbour just bought an old Vulcan with leather saddle bags hanging on the sides, COOL!!!

Ya thats a nice cruising bike. Also is the Shadow. But I looking more for a road bike. Easier to squeeze tru a traffic jam etc.

Last time only my 1st bike was a scrambler. After that all were road bikes.

Ya thats a nice cruising bike. Also is the Shadow. But I looking more for a road bike. Easier to squeeze tru a traffic jam etc.

Last time only my 1st bike was a scrambler. After that all were road bikes.

Get Nighthawk 750. [thumbsup]

Yes temptation is for a bigger bike but I estimate a 400cc is just nice for a daily ride.

Those bigger bikes also cost much more to maintain like spare parts etc.

When I buy stuff, I never let myself get carried away. Hahaha.

Step on the throttle gently and maintain it; release the clutch gradually until fully up, crawl crawl crawl..... no sweat, no jerk.

Everyday, I go up / come down from MSCP 6 decks high using first gear - no clutching and no brake needed unless there's obstructions ahead.

Just need to use (i) correct gear (ii) correct throttle control.

Actually you should use second gear, instead.

Yes, no need clutch in and just use engine brake.

As long as you dont come to complete stop, throttle control is all you need.

truth be told, unsure which grounding point done. was a total noob for cars then. Yes, have changed back to stock air filter. Very slight improvement only. My worst days was with knn filter, act smart change 175/65 to 185/60 plus drag hear & there.....averaging at 8.3/litre. with light foot, 9/litre. Now with stock filter, back to 175/65, 9.2-9.5/litre. Ultra light foot till mentally tiring, best was 10.2/litre. If i do renew coe 2 yrs later, will try 165/65, may just ave 9.5-9.7/litre ? But at least better pick up? Could feel the diff when up/down size between 175 - 185 - 175.

Thanks for the tip on racks. For myself, was thinking/never thought i would consider a maxi scoot. Have doubts now on whether can tahan the wind & rain. Also scoot have big underseat storage for marketing, as i'm likely not to install a box. Maybe the Kymco downtown 300. hehe.

Edited by Baal

truth be told, unsure which grounding point done. was a total noob for cars then. Yes, have changed back to stock air filter. Very slight improvement only. My worst days was with knn filter, act smart change 175/65 to 185/60 plus drag hear & there.....averaging at 8.3/litre. with light foot, 9/litre. Now with stock filter, back to 175/65, 9.2-9.5/litre. Ultra light foot till mentally tiring, best was 10.2/litre. If i do renew coe 2 yrs later, will try 165/65, may just ave 9.5-9.7/litre ? But at least better pick up? Could feel the diff when up/down size between 175 - 185 - 175.

Thanks for the tip on racks. For myself, was thinking/never thought i would consider a maxi scoot. Have doubts now on whether can tahan the wind & rain. Also scoot have big underseat storage for marketing, as i'm likely not to install a box. Maybe the Kymco downtown 300. hehe.

I DIY my grounding abt 7 main points. Very easy to do. A couple of hours in the morning. Cost abt $5 only total. [:p]

I actually got better FC when i changed my 14" steel rims with 185/65/14 tires to original Chevy sports rims with 205/45/16 semi performance tires.

Bike u wil get used to the sun, dust, rain after some time but if u not in a hurry, just take cover when it rains. But always carry a full set raincoat in yr bike.

His calculation already included the scrap value.

35k over 5 years plus 10k scrap ... 45k/5 = 9 k depreciation ....

70k - 5 yrs old car - 70-10k scrap = 60k/5 = 12k depreciation

The 2nd hand car should have a scrap value of it's own....say 12K ...so should be 70K -12K -10K.

35k over 5 years plus 10k scrap ... 45k/5 = 9 k depreciation ....

70k - 5 yrs old car - 70-10k scrap = 60k/5 = 12k depreciation

The 2nd hand car should have a scrap value of it's own....say 12K ...so should be 70K -12K -10K.

You cannot calculate this way cuz you will be deducting the scrap value twice. I think he is assuming both cars scrap value 10k. If you buy a 2nd hand car at 70k, after deducting 10k as the scrap value of the second hand car, you depreciation is 60k over 5 years which is 12k.

You don't deduct this 10k scrap value you get from your old car when calculating the depreciation of the 2nd hand car because that 10k is included in his calculation where the COE is renewed over 5 years. This 10k scrap value of the old car will be gone whether you renew COE or get a 2nd hand car.

Edited by Nzy

I DIY my grounding abt 7 main points. Very easy to do. A couple of hours in the morning. Cost abt $5 only total. [:p]

I actually got better FC when i changed my 14" steel rims with 185/65/14 tires to original Chevy sports rims with 205/45/16 semi performance tires.

Bike u wil get used to the sun, dust, rain after some time but if u not in a hurry, just take cover when it rains. But always carry a full set raincoat in yr bike.

Grounding can make such a difference ah?

My 14/5.5 inch alloys were 2nd hand CAD rims. U driving Aveo with 4AT or 5MT? Able to share ur average FC ?

I still see a 1990 COE Corona CD at my MSCP. It is used everyday summore. Really a solid workhorse.

Agreed, still able to find some 90s corona on the road!

Grounding can make such a difference ah?

My 14/5.5 inch alloys were 2nd hand CAD rims. U driving Aveo with 4AT or 5MT? Able to share ur average FC ?

Mine is Optra Estate Auto. My original Optra 16" rims also 2nd hand. Paid $300 with 4 tires abt 80% left.

Even my previous COE car I found an improvement in engine smoothness, power n FC when I DIY the grounding. Thats why I did it for my Optra also.

Anyway cost is only abt $5 n no need to do any maintenence, just install n leave it, so just do lah.

It does no harm anyway.

BTW now Im getting abt 14km/lit on average.

Agreed, still able to find some 90s corona on the road!

If I had kept my 89 Corona CD, I wud still b driving it today. It was in very good condition when I sold it. [sunny]

Edited by Pisces69

If I had kept my 89 Corona CD, I wud still b driving it today. It was in very good condition when I sold it. [sunny]

If your corona still around, it would be 24 year old le! Confirmed you still be driving?! Cause it seems like many car who got renewed their coe, usually would not survive past 20 years.

Edited by 13177

If your corona still around, it would be 24 year old le! Confirmed you still be driving?! Cause it seems like many car who got renewed their coe, usually would not survive past 20 years.

My Corona was in very good condition. Easily can last 30 years.

Now my Optra also in very good condition. I thinking of renew COE if the price comes down to <$20K in a couple of years. Maybe can even renew COE twice. [grin]