Suicidal to Buy 4-5 Year Old Volkswagen?

Kyrios

I agree sometimes it makes sense to buy a b&b conti for the reasons you mentioned. However, there is a very fine line between ppl who buy a b&b conti because they are have a better resale value and ppl who buy buy b&b conti and think they are driving super car.

Like most VW scirocco/ golf owner. Stickers all over the car, unnecessary loud exhaust, tinted window, and the driver usually has a damm Zuai face when he steps out, as though he is driving super car. Its not. Who buys scirocco or golf for practical reasons? OMV lousy, car small. Almost every VW on the road are these models. Frankly, it's a cheapskate conti, and yes, IT ISN'T FAST unlike what their owners think. Maybe Jetta, I agree is a practicle b&b conti. Passat or phaton, decent comfortable car. The rest of VW models? Common as dirt, mostly driven by posers.

Aside to TS, don't bother buying a VW. Unreliable&common. Jap car like Camry or accord is great. If really wanna buy a conti for the drive, you shouldn't be looking at VW. Rather top up and get at least a used 5series(320i is crap), Alfa GT, Saab Aero, or even an entry jag. Volvo is pretty decent too.

So your hatred against VW is just because it isn't fast? Roc might not be THAT fast, but at least it ain't no slouch. In fact, I kinda like the design too, but didn't get it due to the infamous DSG failures.

Well, I guess you think you're fast, right? What's your ride? We can have a friendly drag [sunny][flowerface][drivingcar]

If there are no GB issues, the road will be flooded with VW .haha

Corrolla - Jetta

Swift sports - ROC

Camry - Passat

Wish- Touran

Vw will conquer Sg roads for sure.. Jap car makers can all close shop liao.

But strange , the GB problem has been so long but still no solution. We are talking about Vw lei, not Chanda,Chery,BYD etc

Corrolla - Jetta

Swift sports - ROC

Camry - Passat

Wish- Touran

But strange , the GB problem has been so long but still no solution. We are talking about Vw lei, not Chanda,Chery,BYD etc

Let's put it this way, if you get a fever, paracetamol would help but if one is born with genetic defect, no amount of paracetamol could help....

Corrolla - Jetta

Swift sports - ROC

Camry - Passat

Wish- Touran

Sorry ROC means?

But mo is that dct tech in general not so ideal for city driving. Understand its kinda lurchy at slow speeds which is inherently like that. Then theres also clutch plate wear & tear. 7dsg aside, i believe automated manual systems will have higher maintenance cost & wear & tear. Under european driving conditions, less of an issue. But under constant stop/start conditions, cant be helped.

Just wish they could adopt those 6ATs equiped on the Golf Fsi 1.6/2.0 on their up to 160hp fleet......for Asian market. At most feel 3-5% less powerful & poorer fc? But imo, the trade off is worth it.

BMW in the 70's and 80's was just another Conti like Fiat or Seat. Brands didn't really matter much then. But now they are a desired product especially in China, no matter if they have many issues or whether it's rated as one of the most unreliable cars in a recent survey, it's a BMW (or BAU MAH as they call it in China).

Totally disagree with your comment on BMW. In the 70s, BMW has the legendary M1, 2002, E21. In the 80s, BMW has E30 ///M3 & E31 850CSI. These car are pursue and preserved by fanboy round the world.

Sorry ROC means?

But mo is that dct tech in general not so ideal for city driving. Understand its kinda lurchy at slow speeds which is inherently like that. Then theres also clutch plate wear & tear. 7dsg aside, i believe automated manual systems will have higher maintenance cost & wear & tear. Under european driving conditions, less of an issue. But under constant stop/start conditions, cant be helped.

Just wish they could adopt those 6ATs equiped on the Golf Fsi 1.6/2.0 on their up to 160hp fleet......for Asian market. At most feel 3-5% less powerful & poorer fc? But imo, the trade off is worth it.

If DCT is not so ideal for city driving, how about all those PDK box in Porky or S-tronic box in Audi?

It boils down to VW ECU setup.

The problem with 7 speed DSG is that it is not submerged in hydraulic fluid resulted in premature wear on the box.

Totally disagree with your comment on BMW. In the 70s, BMW has the legendary M1, 2002, E21. In the 80s, BMW has E30 ///M3 & E31 850CSI. These car are pursue and preserved by fanboy round the world.

If DCT is not so ideal for city driving, how about all those PDK box in Porky or S-tronic box in Audi?

It boils down to VW ECU setup.

The problem with 7 speed DSG is that it is not submerged in hydraulic fluid resulted in premature wear on the box.

But the cost involved in that cat of cars is upper already. Assuming those are smooth in city conditions, the cost of those GBs easily 20K.

as for 7dsg, time will tell if their adhoc dino oil solution will solve the issue ( & OCI?). If it really does, hope they will add a drain/flush plug to allow maintenance.

Just a word of caution if really thinking to buy any out-of-warranty VW with 7-sp dry clutch. No doubt VW cars (esp. twin-charged) seems to be the best buy (because relatively powerful, small road tax, good fuel consumption etc), it seems that this technology is not so suitable for local traffic & climate conditions.

The GB mechantronic unit of the 7sp dry sure to give way, some kena at <30,000km, some more lucky ones kena around 78,000km. And the clutch will wear anyway, sooner or later. I reckon repair cost outside warranty maybe around $7K?

Also, especially for the twin-charged 160bhp models, some cases of injectors spoiled prematurely, engine ECU kaput... is not uncommon. These problems are not cheap repairs once car out of warranty....unless VW extend it.

Otherwise, VW cars are really well-known for their quality interior & relatively able ride as well. Too bad all good things don't come together. As for the SE telling potential customers that new 7sp no problem....this I heard since few years back already.......

6sp wet clutch GB should be ok, although its clutches will need to be replaced someday due to wear & tear, & ECU may kaput early also. I guess same apply to Audi with S-tronic GBs (actually should be same GB design, only use different name).

Bottom-line is to buy with a clear mind. Don't be in self-denial, if want buy, just be prepared to shell out enough sum for repair costs & downtime. Also, be prepared that it may "die-off" at an inconvenient time or place. If all these OK with you, go ahead & you will surely enjoy the ride & quality, when compare with b&b Japanese makes.

Bottom Line … You have to pay for quality … [nod] … This is only fair … Wear & Tear is Inevitable …

Ang Moh Version: "The Bitterness of POOR Quality Remains, Long After the Sweetness of CHEAP Prices Have Been Forgotten … "

Ah Beng Version: "Ai Pee, Ai Chee, Ai Tua Liap Nee, Ai Koon Hai Pee … Le Man Man Tan … "

I know of people who buy a 5-7year old E200 and 320.. but quite ngiao in servicing.. air con not working or got loud sound still don't service.. I sit inside the car feel very hot and uncomfortable leh

aircon not working in our climate, don't repair is really ngiao sai [lipsrsealed]

I also think the new 3 series looks quite nice.. seriously what engine here and there sounds quite alien. It's like saying the old day made in Japan electronic are damn good and modern electronic are lousy in quality, without factoring in the modern forms and features.

i think the new 3 series looks good at first glance, but bu nai kan. Somehow the older generation looks nicer to me now, even though i didn't think much of it when it first launched. More masculine [sweatdrop]

Later the owners of new 3 series from bmw-sg come over and junk you. lol [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

the F10 5 series looks good. The 3 series somehow just doesn't grow on me.

Ok la. I'm just a humble jippon car owner. Junk junk lor. They song can liao [drivingcar]

same thot too. for me, the E46 series is the nicest bmw 3 series so far.

But the cost involved in that cat of cars is upper already. Assuming those are smooth in city conditions, the cost of those GBs easily 20K.

as for 7dsg, time will tell if their adhoc dino oil solution will solve the issue ( & OCI?). If it really does, hope they will add a drain/flush plug to allow maintenance.

The way those DSG shifts is dependant on the ECU & not quality of the box.

Quality issue with 7spd DSG only exist in Asia Pac. Not much problem in Europe le.

Anyway, i would only consider the wet sump only.

same thot too. for me, the E46 series is the nicest bmw 3 series so far.

Actually, i like E36 more than E46 especially ///M3. The look more fierce.

aircon not working in our climate, don't repair is really ngiao sai [lipsrsealed]

confirm... The thoughts that flashed across my mind then.... I miss my Laupok car air con!