Vulcann 6th Gear February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 Just to share. I have had the same problems and the seepage is very extensive. This is probably due to the age of the flat (30 over years). It started around the ceiling in my toilet. Over the years the seepage extended to the kitchen and my mum's bedroom which is just beside the toilet. I tried to patch the ceiling with waterproof plaster. But the seepage will travel along whatever crevices within the wall. Patch the toilet ceiling, the seepage propagate to kitchen ceiling. Patch kitchen ceiling, it move along to the bedroom. For now, the seepage seems to travel along to a vertical wall and down to somewhere. I have this nasty looking water mark on the wall but that can be solve by paint. At least no water dripping from the ceiling. Conclusion, either fixed it by relaying the waterproofing material in the ceiling or be prepare to chase after the seepage from one location to another. Water is a natural enemy to buildings. Other than the potable one via piping for drinking and sanitary purposes, all other types are no good. For unwelcome water ingress the only way is to try to locate the source in order to plug it. If not there is no way to address it like you have mentioned, you repair it at your end but it just find another route one way or another to infiltrate and irritate, thanks to gravity. But then it is not easy to locate the source especially if the floor area is quite extensive. For HDB units the wet areas are the toilets so quite straightforward if your toilet ceiling leaks but imagine you stay at the top floor and directly above your unit is the roof so locating it can be nightmarish for the HDB or rather their TCs. very common for old flats/apartments one la. Just keep pestering HDB lor. what else to do... Yep. If kena stonewalled, write to [email protected] where you are supposed to get a reply within 3 working days. My mum's place bathroom also leaking, we are on the top level unit. Its a private apartment. Who will be paying for the repair, us or MCST? Wow bro quite jialat.. If not addressed very soon stuff within the room will get mouldy thanks to the vapour... Not sure about private apartments but did your mum contact the MC? Likely chance is that the roof waterproofing habis liao so like that. How old were the units there? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 Wow bro quite jialat.. If not addressed very soon stuff within the room will get mouldy thanks to the vapour... Not sure about private apartments but did your mum contact the MC? Likely chance is that the roof waterproofing habis liao so like that. How old were the units there? It started to leak in Nov 2013. Asking my painter to come have a look but he very not free. Have not contact the MC yet cos tot of waiting for painter advise first. The flat was built in early 1970's. They did major reno n waterproofing in early 2000s, cant remember. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 tap on this topic, can we place new tiles over the one provided by HDB for new flats? so as to not damage the waterproof thing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 It started to leak in Nov 2013. Asking my painter to come have a look but he very not free. Have not contact the MC yet cos tot of waiting for painter advise first. The flat was built in early 1970's. They did major reno n waterproofing in early 2000s, cant remember. Previously in my parents' HDB top-floor unit, can you imagine that one find day my father found the mattress in his room a bit wet, then on checking, there was water leaking from the ceiling, near to the light!!! It was after a very heavy downpour. I can't remember what happened after we called town council or HDB, but it was only one-off that it happened... But i suspect that HDB then realised that something needs to be done and a (or a few) year later, arranged to i think re-waterproof all the roof top of the blocks nearby. I think it is re-waterproof, as before that, can see the rooftops were all white, then after the work, all the rooftops became black in colour. Hence if you ask me, i think it should be MC's cost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 It started to leak in Nov 2013. Asking my painter to come have a look but he very not free. Have not contact the MC yet cos tot of waiting for painter advise first. The flat was built in early 1970's. They did major reno n waterproofing in early 2000s, cant remember. Bro painting will not solve the problem. After a while the damp marks will re-appear. If like some bros mentioned if it is common property then I guess the MC has to take care of it. If it is what I suspected is the roof leaking then the repair cost can be quite hefty for them i.e. the residents ultimately. Which was why you see when folks starting to get their old developments en-bloc, they stop maintaining the estate liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 similar case with me now too. sigh... this new neighbor upstairs... ever since they moved in, they create nothing but problems for me and my family~! ha ha... tough luck lor... in my case, i had: - constant dripping of wet laundry, even when ours is already dry - constant noise of kids running and playing ball in the living room, as first the kids (and later, nephew) was growing up there - water leakage to both our toilets, and dragging their feet when HDB first wrote to them to repair, and only finally doing it when given a deadline - giving us the cold shoulder even when we greeted them, after the above... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 Thks for the advise. Looks like I will contact the MC to have a look then. Cos I think the rain is coming and there would be further damage esp water is seeping on the wall where the electric heater n mirror lights are. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 tap on this topic, can we place new tiles over the one provided by HDB for new flats? so as to not damage the waterproof thing? If plus another layer, it will be another minimum 50mm added for both cement mortar and new tiles to the existing floor level. Not very wise if the drop from your kitchen or master bedroom level to the toilet is only 50mm which makes the two areas levelled. I guess if you die die want to you can do that but not sure it is legal. And if you are selling and HDB comes inspecting your unit they may want you to remove the 2nd layer of tiles then siao liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 Previously in my parents' HDB top-floor unit, can you imagine that one find day my father found the mattress in his room a bit wet, then on checking, there was water leaking from the ceiling, near to the light!!! It was after a very heavy downpour. I can't remember what happened after we called town council or HDB, but it was only one-off that it happened... But i suspect that HDB then realised that something needs to be done and a (or a few) year later, arranged to i think re-waterproof all the roof top of the blocks nearby. I think it is re-waterproof, as before that, can see the rooftops were all white, then after the work, all the rooftops became black in colour. Hence if you ask me, i think it should be MC's cost. There is a fall on every roof for the rainwater to be quickly discharged. Layman terms is that the roof is sloped so water will flow to the lower end. But if the rain is heavy or/and sustained for a period then instead of water flowing away the entire roof is ponded machiam a mini-swimming pool and then the below unit may experience "rain drops keep falling on my head" kinda feeling especially if it is a old building. Another common problem is choked vertical rain water down pipes which are supposed to drain away the rain water. This is usually due to lack of maintenance by not clearing dead leaves or twigs and this can create mozzie breeding spots at some covered areas on top of ponding problem at the roof. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theobserver 2nd Gear February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 The law now is that the upper floor unit must pay 100 %. Now more 50-50. The upper floor has to replace the water proofing, which is the permanent solution. Need to do it early otherwise, you will get spalling concrete, which is dangerous as the bits of concrete will drop and hit somebody's head. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 HDB will arrange for repair and suprisingly I paid only 25% of total bill. Neighbour 25% and HDB 50%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 (edited) The law now is that the upper floor unit must pay 100 %. Now more 50-50. The upper floor has to replace the water proofing, which is the permanent solution. Need to do it early otherwise, you will get spalling concrete, which is dangerous as the bits of concrete will drop and hit somebody's head. 100% liao? Wow the guilty owner lagi do not want to foot the cost and will resist even more I guess. Normally they are the ones understandably wanting to drag their feet since they are in no way inconvenienced. Agree on the danger of spalling concrete. A decent chunk dropping on someone's head will spoil his or her day anytime... Too bad HDB withdrew the Goodwill Repair Scheme i.e. HDB pays 50% of cost while the two unit owners spilt 50-50 on the remaining 50% HDB will arrange for repair and suprisingly I paid only 25% of total bill. Neighbour 25% and HDB 50%. Yep this is the so-called Goodwill Repair Scheme but they no longer doing it.... Edited February 6, 2014 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear February 6, 2014 Author Share February 6, 2014 (edited) My mum's place bathroom also leaking, we are on the top level unit. Its a private apartment. Who will be paying for the repair, us or MCST? Deleted... didn't noticed "top unit" :p Edited February 6, 2014 by Bluepica Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 The law now is that the upper floor unit must pay 100 %. Now more 50-50. The upper floor has to replace the water proofing, which is the permanent solution. Need to do it early otherwise, you will get spalling concrete, which is dangerous as the bits of concrete will drop and hit somebody's head. whoa!!!!!!!!!!!!! now is100% ?!?!?!??!?!? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 When you have a problem, you cannot solve the problem by patching here and there Because the root cause has not been solved and the problem will still show up somewhere else As mentioned, the cost of reworking the waterproofing will have to be shared between the lower/upper unit. The upper unit lives ah ma and his unmarried son who isn't working. I doubt they will be willing or be able to pay the 50%. So best way out to patch and patch and patch lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 As mentioned, the cost of reworking the waterproofing will have to be shared between the lower/upper unit. The upper unit lives ah ma and his unmarried son who isn't working. I doubt they will be willing or be able to pay the 50%. So best way out to patch and patch and patch lor.. Alternatively, you can offer to pay 100% as a form of charity for the works done. If plus another layer, it will be another minimum 50mm added for both cement mortar and new tiles to the existing floor level. Not very wise if the drop from your kitchen or master bedroom level to the toilet is only 50mm which makes the two areas levelled. I guess if you die die want to you can do that but not sure it is legal. And if you are selling and HDB comes inspecting your unit they may want you to remove the 2nd layer of tiles then siao liao. the tiling takes up 5cm? wow i didn't know that.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 Alternatively, you can offer to pay 100% as a form of charity for the works done. the tiling takes up 5cm? wow i didn't know that.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 6, 2014 Share February 6, 2014 Alternatively, you can offer to pay 100% as a form of charity for the works done. the tiling takes up 5cm? wow i didn't know that.. don't anyhow set precedence. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...